We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Gift Wrap, No Gift!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Cabanitas Resort
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful, as are the facades of the cabins that you stay in. Unfortunately, the accommodations inside have seen better days. They are older and in need of renovations and better upkeep. I was traveling with a group, and one of our rooms had so many bugs in it that they had to come in and spray, after which the room smelled so badly,and had a "layer of stickiness", that the occupants chose to double up in their friends' room rather than sleep in there. In addition, regardless of the extermination, the bugs just returned. I realize that we are in the rain forest, but this was not the usual, occasional insect - this room was infested. If you do stay here, make sure to lock everything up in the safe, for we had two rooms broken into (through the bathroom window) and had electronics and cash taken. The owners need to secure the windows better, for although they have "bars" across them, a child could push the windows and bars in and out of the walls. This was my 2nd time in Costa Rica, staying in 10 different hotels, and this was the only incident like this that we experienced. The internet service is spotty, and available only in the main dining/lounge area. As in most places I've stayed in Costa Rica, the staff is hard working and caring, but are not given the resources to improve anything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a tour group while touring Costa Rica. The concept of the hotel is cute, and the staff is very friendly, but there is many things wrong with this property. First, let's start with the pool. It is really nice, but the deck needs to be resurfaced, as it is easy to cut yourself or stub your toe. This hotel has amazing views of the Arenal volcano and the surrounding region. So if that is all you care about, this place is for you. The rooms are very basic-- they have coffee makers but no coffee to go with it, and The doors on the rooms do not have chain locks. There is only one lock and that is for the front door. This is very dangerous, especially in a place like this. I did not feel safe at all. The key lock on the door was extremely ineffective, as multiple times I walked in and pushed the door open easily without a key, when the door was "locked". In the room, there were bugs and spiderwebs everywhere. Even in the shower. There was also huge mold growth on the ceiling. The shower head is old and squirts everywhere and gets all over the floor. There is mold and dirt and rust all over the bathtub and shower area. Also, in our room, we found that they hung a framed picture over a hole in our wall. Speaking of holes in the wall, there were multiple cracks in our cabin so we could see who is out on the sidewalk from our bed and bugs could get in. On the bright side, the restaurant is really neat. The landscaping and location is also really good. The staff is helpful and friendly. I came to this hotel knowing this was not going to be "5 star", but the staff and management can at least do a better job keep it clean and updated, and pest free. What bugs me most about this hotel is that it has amazing potential, and it is a great property but the staff is not making it the best that it can be.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is clean by doing a room inspection after check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

They had many wooden houses used as the rooms for guests. There were a lot of space inside the house that we could place our stuff. However, Don't forget to close every door before you come in the bedroom because you might encounter with mosquitoes at night. You can see Arenal Volcano distinctly from the hotel. Most of hotels in Central America didn't provide breakfast. Therefore, you need to pay additional cost for it. You can walk to the nearest supermarket in 15-20min.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent facility enjoyed the entire time we were there. Cabins are perfect size with air conditioning in the cabins. The pool was nice for the cool down after a long day out on excursions. Breakfasts in the morning at the hotel were great bonus to the stay. Service was great and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cabanitas. The landscaped grounds were just beautiful. Our cabin was nicely done...we saw some that were much nicer. My only complaint is that we didn't have windows or screens in our cabin (just wood shudders). The room didn't feel very secure and, although not as buggy as many places in Costa Rica, we still had quite a bit of insects in our room. We also loved the town of La Fortuna...it was our favorite town on the entire trip. Safe, lots to do, very friend people, and about a 10 minute walk from the Cabanitas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. On the outside it is absolutely beautiful--very green and scenic with local wildlife.

Our room was basic, except we had a coffee maker without coffee, we had no hot water (we had to go to our friends' rooms!!), and the internet and TV didn't work (not that we particularly cared, but for those who do).

Breakfast the next morning was somewhat pathetic: a few pieces of fruit and two slices of limp bread.

I'm giving this hotel two stars because it is in a convenient location to the Desafio Office, it is visually appealing, and the man who works in the reception/breakfast is very friendly.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different. Some have hot water, others not. Some have coffee, others not. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here with G Adventures so hotel was pre-booked. The little cabins were cute & spacious. The staff were very attentive & grounds were nice. Our shower was so strong it felt like our skin was peeling off, but after being in 2 hotels where we had zero water pressure it was a welcome relief. The hotels are not well-insulated so some partiers in the pool area kept us up one night. Also, our roof wasn't the greatest. You could see light through it, and when it rained we ended up with little puddles on the floor. We came home to iguana poop on the beds & an iguana in our roof rafters. Staff promptly removed the iguana & replaced the bedding. Ideal situation? no,,, but it was dealt with & we came home with a good story!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#39 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas Resort

Address: North Zone, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £60 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanitas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Las Cabanitas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas Hotel
Las Cabanitas Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing