We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Crested Butte, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Apparently at Tabacon you are expected to be awake at 6am, so if you like to sleep in on your vacation, this is not the place for you. After being rudely awoken the first morning by the help as they stomped along by our room door, I was really amazed the second morning when at 6:30am a man who worked for the hotel proceeded to stand outside our room and have a VERY loud conservation on his radio. I went to the door in my robe, stuck my head out and informed him we were trying to sleep, he didn't even apologize, he gave ME a dirty look, and 5 minutes after I shut the door he did it again! For a Leading Hotel of the World, they really fall down in this area. The tiles and lack of sound proofing mean you hear everyone walking by your room and your neighbors in their rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the single floor wings, avoid the Orosi wing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Laura A

Thank you for your sincere words. Everything is being taken into consideration. We apologize for troubling you at some point. Hope next time you visit us we would surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,105
    752
    260
    100
    65
See reviews for
769
1,611
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I went here for 3 days on the first stop of our honeymoon!

Tabacon Resort and Spa was by far the most sensational place I have ever stayed in my life. With your key, you have unlimited access to the World Famous Tabacon Hot Springs, which is a place of incomparable beauty. We found ourselves in a luscious rainforest on a scale that reminded you of Jurassic Park, and it just went on and on. We didn't want to leave.

But when we did, we found an immensely helpful staff, a restaurant that we just were thrilled by with every meal (it is expensive), a big and comfy room with all the sounds of the rainforest from your balcony and a deep jacuzzi (that could seat 3 easily) besides all the comforts of home you could imagine. Besides that there were many memorable experiences. The private bungalow dinner was so romantic and fun. The staff were great. Room service was prompt and a blast (we've never had it before). We were helped with choosing the zipline tour which was awesome and again the place is kept perfectly.

On a side note they will take you anywhere in a golf cart and the place is not so big like some resorts. It is very cozy and beautiful. This is a must stay for couples who can spend the extra dollar. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us.

Room Tip: We loved our second story suite. The jacuzzi, oversized shower, wrap around floor plan, comfy king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Ken B we are honored to be the most sensational place you have ever stayed at. We do provide all the warm comfort of home and try to go far beyond all expectations. Our Private Romantic Dinner is really a top notch service and all customers love it. Hope to welcome you back on your future anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

It's a wonderland here - impossibly beautiful, delightful flora & fauna - and in the middle of this incredible setting beneath an active (smoking!) volcano - streams, pools and waterfalls of warm geothermally heated water. Any one element here is excellent - together, it's a world-class experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear KenAZ,
thanks a lot for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. We have been blessed with this extraordinary paradise located on the feet of the majestic Arenal Volcano. All surroundings colored up with our flora and fauna form picturesque sceneries of the tropical rain forest, creating the best ambiance to attract all visitors. Our natural hot spring water and nature itself are part of the Tabacon´s enchantment. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is the nicest in the area and with your room key you get access to the phenomenal hot springs. The property is beautiful and the staff was really helpful organizing outings.
The rooms are nice, but the high ceilings and tiled floors (and I assume low/no soundproofing) meant that all noise from outside and next door reverberated into our room. I wish I'd had earplugs.
Even if you don't stay at the Tabacon hotel, do pay up for a day pass at the springs which are expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ubergirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Ubergirl17
thanks for your assessments, comments like yours help us to improve and get better every day. All our hotel guests get unlimited access to the hot springs during their stay, and even when they check out they can use the resort facilities until 10:00pm. I hope next time you visit us we can exceed all expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

6 nights at this wonderful property. 4 would have been enough.
Thermal spa and gardens and amenities surrounding are outstanding and unique.
Friendly, helpful staff and excellent facilities. Don't miss the sky-tram/zip-lining tour

Room Tip: Our room was new and huge with a large whirlpool tub....but no view. Most are older and have volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Rllbol
we are glad to be advised about your experience. Thanks for your appreciation of our efforts for always providing the best quality of service and facilities to all our visitors. Volcano views from rooms are never guarantied due to natural weather conditions and the always growing trees around the property that might disturbed the views sometimes. In fact, we are renovating suites in order to improve and offer an even more luxurious and unique experience. Hope to see you next time you visit La Fortuna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

What can I say about this resort, the rooms are gorgeous. We had the deluxe room with a birds eye view of the rain forest. A sunken tub about 26" deep roomy enough for 4 adults and one toddler to almost swim in comfortably. Lovely robes and slippers, a shower, fresh fruit every morning and greeting drinks for one and all.
The resort is not far from the 'town' where you can get great typical Costa Rican food. The restaurants often start with 'tipico' in the name.

The waters are so warm and the swim up bar is tops. They even made a special drink for my 3 year old who was on the trip. The seclusion of some pools and the rivers surrounding the resort pools make for lovely little secret get a ways.

The ladies who babysit are kind, sweet (sometimes communication was not smooth based on language difficulties) while keeping the kid entertained.

The food was fine and quite american/european for my tastes.

Room Tip: The deluxe room section is the best to the right of the main casa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkseestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Newyorkseestheworld
your comments are much appreciated. This is a placed to be visited by everyone from big families, to romance or even oneself get aways; we have it all to pamper you and to please all likes and preferences. In our Restaurants we do offer some costarrican options and even buffet nights. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was a fun family vacation. The hotel was very accommodating - although I booked too late to get two rooms or a suite, they found us a large room with a pull-out couch and it worked fine with the two kids in our room.

The restaurant on the property was lovely and the service was excellent. Wine list was a bit iffy, but maybe I need to learn more about the region’s wines.

The best part was the hot springs and spa. We spent an afternoon there and the kids had great fun. They climbed through all the pools, explored little paths connected with bridges, went down the water slide what seemed like hundreds of times, and parents enjoyed cooling out in the shade of the pool bar. A great family spot. Definitely worth a couple of days on your trip through Costa Rica.

Room Tip: I don't think there's usually much trouble getting good rooms. I was able to book in Novembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bermudian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Bermudian4,
it is very nice to read your detailed comment about your experience. We always give the best possible service and address our entire labor to please all customers´ requirements. Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort is also a family oriented destination, where you can share, enjoy and relax all together.
We are honored for being part of your trip and hope you can come back shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing