We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TABACON IS THE WORSE HOTEL EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 January 2012

For our 25th wedding anniversary, we took our family to Costa Rica. Love the whole trip EXCEPT Tabacon Grand Spa Resort. The front desk service was just awful. They do not seem to understand that people should be serviced according to when they arrive. They took whoever they wanted without any regards as to who came first. When we complained they blamed us for not speaking up sooner. We spoke to the manager and he said he would make this up to us by making a reservation for us at the restaurant. We go the restaurant and no reservations. The service continued to be non-existence. At the bar, we had to get our own menu and go up to the bar to give our order to the bartender. Then we had to go up to the bar to get our bill. This hotel doesn't deserve 3 stars let alone 5. We have traveled the world and have never had a worse hotel experience. Out hotel room had mold in the bathroom. Save your money and go somewhere else. Tabacon does not know

JLOW

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Judy L Thank you for your feedback. It really surprised us to be advised about this inconvenience. We appreciate your comments! For us, all feedbacks are always important and will be taken into account. These type of inconvenience are properly recorded and studied and we will work together in order to prevent them to ever happen again. Hope next time you visit us we would be able to change any misconception or incident regarding our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,079 of 3,530 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Tabacon from January 6th to the 10th of 2012. It isn't cheap but you aren't going to get this kind of experience in the U.S. The hotel is beautiful and lush because it is in the rain forest. Our room was beautiful with a view of the volcano...very quiet and private hotel. The food was expensive. You can go into town and eat if you would prefer. We didn't have a car so we ate at the hotel. The Thermal Springs are on the hotel property but you have to take a "very short" shuttle ride which is no big deal. It costs $60.00 per person to get into the Thermal Springs but that cost is included if you stay at the Tabacon. The Thermal Springs were not crowded in the daytime but it did get crowded in the evening. You can't beat this experience. I drank the water right out of the tap which comes from the volcano. It was wonderful...and we didn't pay extra for it as one other writer has suggested. I recommend this hotel very highly, especially if you like hot spring water and you also enjoy lush surroundings, quiet and privacy. The staff was excellent....Please don't leave food outside your room as this is a rainforest. Someone in a nearby room left food in an ashtray/garbage can and a racoon came along to help himself. No problem though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelqueen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear Travelqueen51
all your information are very much appreciated. This is definitely a unique Tropical Rain Forest experience, all surroundings with incomparable nature and majestic hot springs make out of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort a one of a kind paradise. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I went to the Tabacon with no real understanding of what it was or had to offer. Had I even had the highest expectations they would have been blown away. The resort is great, clean with amazing surroundings. The hot springs are to die for. I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear Georgie L
thank you for your reviews. We are glad to be aware about the amazing experience you have had at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Look forward to receive in our premises any time you wish to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed here with my wife for a few days on our honeymoon. The facilities are very nice, the staff was helpful, and the food was pretty good. The reason you are here though is for access to the hot springs area. They are natural, running rivers with pools through a rain forest setting and are simply amazing.

Now the reality is that you pay for this in a big way. This is an expensive hotel and once you are there everything is VERY EXPENSIVE. Don't expect a couple to eat anything for under $100 US at dinner and probably $75 at lunch which is at least triple what you'd pay eating out downtown for the same things. The rooms are nice, but are not special.

The one truly stand out item beyond the hot springs is the Gala Dinner. This is a private dinning experience in a candle lit bungalow decorated for your occasion with a private chef. We did this and it was the highlight of our stay here. I highly recommend this if your looking for a romantic dinner.

In conclusion: I will be back to Arenal as the area is simply beautiful, but I will stay somewhere else and likely just pay the $45 day pass fee to visit the hot springs at Tabacon for a few hours one of the days I'm there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear Chuck F
we are very glad to be told about your visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. In addition, you did have a good choice with the Private Gala Dinner, this is an ideal activity for any occasion that you would like to make it special, the beauty found in the setting and the gorgeous food are delightful. This dinner takes place in a private bungalow in the middle of the Tropical Rain Forest, which is nicely decorated with flowers, candles and some background music; it includes a personal chef and server, set-up preparation of the bungalow, aperitif, appetizer, sorbet, main course, dessert, coffee and petit fours, water and a bottle of wine. This is a very special activity that is part of our several gourmet options for dinning. Hope you will enjoy much more on your next visit to Tabacon Grand spa Thermal Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Tabacon is a beautiful resort and is all about the thermal springs - naturally heated mineral water from the Arenal volcano. The grounds are lush and the rooms are large and comfortable. They have nice locker room facilities to change and shower so you can spend the whole day at the springs easy enough. There is a nice swim up bar in the main pool area, and a couple restaurants on the grounds. But the service at the front desk leaves much to be desired. They refused to even give me the room keys until 4pm, which is check-in time. We got there at 1:30pm after a long drive and checked back at 3:30pm to see if the room was ready. They said it wasn't ready, when in reality it was clean as waited infront of the room from 3:30pm-4pm and no maid was cleaning. A maid did enter the room right at 4pm and took in robes. But they did insist on charging my credit card in full at 1:30pm. I also watched the woman at the front deak hassle another guest about the clarity of their signature as it did not look like the signature on their passport, which they had just taken to make a copy of. Tabacon markets themselves as a 5 star member of the Leading Hotels of the World chain, but that is not how a 5 star hotel treats their guests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EasyGoingMidwestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear EasyGoingMidwestGuy
we apologize for any misunderstanding presented during your stay. We are always looking for improvements and trying to go far beyond all expectations; however there are certain situations that vary regarding the occupancy, operation, standards and even unpredictable situations. Regarding the check in time it is established at 4:00pm and no rooms are giving before 4:00pm if it is not completely set up. However I agree there should be exceptions, I apologize that you did not get your keys earlier, and will follow up with the Housekeeping team.
I am looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Tabacon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Apparently at Tabacon you are expected to be awake at 6am, so if you like to sleep in on your vacation, this is not the place for you. After being rudely awoken the first morning by the help as they stomped along by our room door, I was really amazed the second morning when at 6:30am a man who worked for the hotel proceeded to stand outside our room and have a VERY loud conservation on his radio. I went to the door in my robe, stuck my head out and informed him we were trying to sleep, he didn't even apologize, he gave ME a dirty look, and 5 minutes after I shut the door he did it again! For a Leading Hotel of the World, they really fall down in this area. The tiles and lack of sound proofing mean you hear everyone walking by your room and your neighbors in their rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the single floor wings, avoid the Orosi wing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Laura A

Thank you for your sincere words. Everything is being taken into consideration. We apologize for troubling you at some point. Hope next time you visit us we would surpass your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I went here for 3 days on the first stop of our honeymoon!

Tabacon Resort and Spa was by far the most sensational place I have ever stayed in my life. With your key, you have unlimited access to the World Famous Tabacon Hot Springs, which is a place of incomparable beauty. We found ourselves in a luscious rainforest on a scale that reminded you of Jurassic Park, and it just went on and on. We didn't want to leave.

But when we did, we found an immensely helpful staff, a restaurant that we just were thrilled by with every meal (it is expensive), a big and comfy room with all the sounds of the rainforest from your balcony and a deep jacuzzi (that could seat 3 easily) besides all the comforts of home you could imagine. Besides that there were many memorable experiences. The private bungalow dinner was so romantic and fun. The staff were great. Room service was prompt and a blast (we've never had it before). We were helped with choosing the zipline tour which was awesome and again the place is kept perfectly.

On a side note they will take you anywhere in a golf cart and the place is not so big like some resorts. It is very cozy and beautiful. This is a must stay for couples who can spend the extra dollar. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us.

Room Tip: We loved our second story suite. The jacuzzi, oversized shower, wrap around floor plan, comfy king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Ken B we are honored to be the most sensational place you have ever stayed at. We do provide all the warm comfort of home and try to go far beyond all expectations. Our Private Romantic Dinner is really a top notch service and all customers love it. Hope to welcome you back on your future anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,337 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,966 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £214 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing