We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$152
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$157
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$128
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$341
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,780)
Filter reviews
3,780 results
Traveller rating
2,494
826
283
107
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,494
826
283
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardensorchid roomhotel guestsunlimited accesshoneymoon suitecosta ricarainforest suiteopen to the publicday passswim up barprivate areabuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,759 - 1,764 of 3,780 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I just got done spending two nights here and had a great time. I'm typically not a fan of resorts or overly touristy destinations, but Tabacon was a lot of fun. The service was great, everyone you meet at the resort or pass by walking is willing to help. The rooms were very nice - pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, AC, and free wifi. The meals there are fairly expensive, $30-$35 for buffets, but they were all generally pretty good. The dinner buffet one night was Mediterranean, then Costa Rican, and the day we left it was Mexican themed.

The real draw to staying here is of course their world famous thermal hot springs, and they are everything they are hyped to be. I've been to the hot springs before years ago, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much more there was that I hadn't seen. Seemingly endless pools and spots to jump into the river. I'd recommend you go early in the day or late at night (after 7:30 PM) to avoid the huge buses of outside tourists.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 400 block are closest to the restaurant, and many of those have views of the volcano.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Chris A

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we are glad you enjoyed our thermal resort which in fact has been recognized as one of the best worldwide, thanks to its exuberant gardens and the natural hot springs river that emerge directly from Arenal Volcano. The experience itself is memorable and all our hotel guest can experience the resort facilities during their stay as an add value. Our aim is always to improve and provide our guests a high quality service. In regards to cuisine we offer different options: buffet, a la carte, and special menus for snacks so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our special packages if staying multiple nights. We really appreciate your preference and look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked a regular room and upgraded when we got there to the rain forest suite. So many people told us we wouldn't be in our room much which was true but...if you enjoy coffee in the am before going out or cocktails before dinner I'd recommend upgrading. The balcony was so nice overlooking the rain forest. Huge rooms and comfortable beds. Stop at a market prior to arriving and use their mini fridge. We ate at the restaurants quite a bit. They are fairly expensive but the food was outstanding so it was worth it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CherylGlendaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear CherylGlendaleAZ

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you enjoyed Tabacon´s experience, having the opportunity to relax in our natural thermal mineral springs, enjoy a Costa Rican coffee in the balcony of the Rainforest Suite or delight your senses with World Class Cuisine in our Restaurants. Our open-air facilities are surrounded by manicured gardens and tropical rainforest so nature is always present during your vacation. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had an awesome time here. I was really looking forward to hot springs and I loved that they had the area for adults to just relax. My husband and I napped in one of the day beds there. It was really pretty and I had wonderful time at the spa too

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hafsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Hafsa A

We appreciate your comments! We are glad to know you enjoyed our thermal experience and took some time to rest in Shangri-La Gardens our secluded area only for adults in the upper part of the property where you can live the most relaxing experience, take a nap in our day bed, explore the thermal pools or enjoy cocktail or a snack. We appreciate your preference and we hope to serve you again in the near future!

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, very affordable hostels in the area. The hot springs were awesome. We went after 6pm and explored the low lit grounds which was alot of fun. Tons of secluded areas to explore the hot water.

Room Tip: Hotter water is near the main river, the further to the sides the colder the water.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Rone_AK

We really appreciate your comments. Tabacon’s main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests and we are glad to know we met your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our resort a unique place for serenity and relaxation. In the resort as you experienced there are more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. We do have several options, our hotel guest have in their room rate the access to the hot springs included but we also offer Day Passes where our guest can add one or two meals or you can select our Day Spa Package to add an spa treatment in an open air bungalow during your visit. We really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindestRegards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I visited Tabcon with my boyfriend in March 2013 and would definitely go back! It's tucked into the rain forest and is really stunning. Service was incredible - they even delivered me Tylenol when I had a headache :) The rooms are large and extremely comfortable. It's unlike anything else, you just put on your bathing suit and robe and walk down to the Hot Springs to chill out. The Hot Springs are magical! Go explore all the pools with your loved one and relax in nature. The food is also top notch in the restaurant, really incredible. The concierge also helped us organize all of our excursions at no extra cost. Definitely visit Tabacon!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Randi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Randi A

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we really appreciate it. Tabacon´s main objective is to offer a world class service and attention to details makes the difference, so we constantly customize our guest´s experience. Our hotel guests has unlimited access to the hot springs resort during their stay so you are able to enjoy different natural pools, ponds and waterfalls surrounded by lush tropical gardens that makes the experience so unique. We offer 2 different restaurants Los Tucanes Restaurant that is our fine dining option located at the hotel premises and Ave del Paraiso Restaurant located at the hot springs area where you can enjoy snacks, a la carte menu and buffet dinner. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed a wonderful time with your boyfriend and we really hope to receive you again at the resort in the near future.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews