We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful destination, but with a torture bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful destination, but with a torture bed”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Everything is outstanding at this resort except the bed. So uncomfortable even the the hot springs couldn't relive the pain in my back. And those pillows.....I put three pillows under my head and it quickly sank right thru. But everything else was outstanding. The restaurants were excellent at accommodating food allergies. (unlike our next stop at the Four Seasons). The staff are very very nice.

Room Tip: The Rainforest Suite was very nice with a large view of the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Louis151

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad you spend a marvelous time in the resort and also that you enjoyed our dining options. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with your bed. We would really appreciate if you contact us back to customerservice@tabacon.com, and let us know your room number, in order to follow up your personal concern.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,247
    776
    269
    101
    65
See reviews for
827
1,686
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

For hotsprings... I highly recommend bringing water shoes. most of the springs are very rocky and wouldn't want to hurt yourself. Overall the experience was relaxing. Went early August and stayed two nights. We went to the hotsprings about three times all at different times of the day to experience the day and evening atmosphere. Going during the day allowed us to find our favorite pools and exploring the grounds; and in the evening we were able to relax in our fav pools.(best part was when it started to pour rain and the vibe was just so perfect in the evening) I really didn't care for the rooms at the tabacon. Wish the beds were updated it was abit uneven and the middle seemed to be caving in a bit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urchicagogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear urchicagogrl

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to know about the pleasant experience you had during your stay with us. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the thermal experience. Our hot springs are in a completely natural setting that's why wearing water shoes is strongly recommended. You can enjoy the hot springs at day and discover the majestic rainforest or relax in the evening or night when the steam makes the property really unique. We would love to receive you as our guest in the near future!

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Easily the nicest resort my wife and I ever stayed at with the bonus of having the most beautiful grounds with hot springs!! It does not get better than this!! The hot springs are just down the road from the resort, but they have shuttles to take you back and forth as often as you want. Put on your robe waiting for you in your closet and be prepared for the most pampered experience of your life!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedward76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was there in March and now I spent three nights with a group of clients. This time around the experience was better than the first time since it did not rain every day as it did in March. The staff, the service, the Spa were all great. Very convenient to some of the activities available in the area like the Zip Line and the Hanging Bridges.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We came to Tabacon for the first half of our honeymoon, splurging on a Rainforest Suite. So worth it. At least in November, the hot springs weren't overcrowded and we were always able to find a secluded little spot. With the sounds of the waterfalls, we felt like we had our own private paradise!

The food is nice (the honeymoon package included a private dinner for two, which was incredibly tasty & memorable), the service is both high-quality and earnest, and the hot springs are unbelievable. Only downside is the price point, which is fair enough for such a nice resort.

I hope we'll be back for an anniversary sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganguimarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Most relaxing vacation ever. Trip Advisor comments were spot on; regarding volcano, rooms and spa. Tabacon made us feel special and treated us with kindness the entire time. The thermal pools and spa were unbelievable; I can't speak highly enough about them. We are coming back next year and staying at Tabacon - it was AMAZING. Why would anyone stay anywhere else when you get the entry to the thermal pools as part of the hotel package ($60 per person/per day value).

Room Tip: if possible, select a room with a view of the volcano. If not, I would stay in any room at Tabacon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The property itself is nice. Standard rooms are comfortable. Breakfast buffett is excellent and the charge is $25 pp. If you are not a big Breakfast person, save the $$ for dinner. The selection on the room service menu actually offered a nice variety at prices that were more reasonable than the restaurant had to offer. The staff was friendly and polite. The pool on the hotel property was under maintenance and it may not open again, however, there is a pool at the hot springs across the street. Included in the room price is your entrance fee to the hot springs which is about $60pp and is open from 10am-10pm. The gardens and individual hot spring pools are amazing! There is also an excellent spa at the springs. I've stayed at Tabacon twice and I would recommend staying for at least 2 nights to really enjoy the springs and area.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite would be a nice romantic accommodation for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,274 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,884 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing