We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springs are a stunner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Springs are a stunner”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived late at the hotel, and were offered an upgraded room for a fee- as I didn't feel like doing math, we kept with our room- and were thrilled. Despite what the desk clerk said, we had a pretty view of La Arenal out our sliding glass doors, and the room was giant and beautiful. Food at the hotel is good, not great- but you go for the springs... our routine was to do activities in the a.m. (hiking, zip lining), and then a long soak in the afternoon. The springs are different temperatures, and there are places to relax outside as well if you want to de-prune. The grounds at the springs are especially pretty in the evening. The staff is friendly and helpful, and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandymoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear SandymoDC

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time at Tabacon, we love to hear you took some time to explore the beautiful surroundings, Arenal is a beautiful area with a lot of attractions that you are able to visit during your stay with us and our concierge is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours. We are glad you relax at our completely natural resort and we would love to receive you at the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,216
    773
    269
    101
    65
See reviews for
812
1,672
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the entire week traveling through CR and want a clean, quiet place to relax and Tabacon definitely gave us that. This place gives you luxury without going over the top. We're not really resort-type people, but we felt very taken care of here.

Rooms were comfortable and immaculate (stayed two nights in the Superior King).
The staff is friendly, nonintrusive, and security personnel makes you feel safe at all hours.

The prices are what you would expect for a resort so no surprises there ($50 for our lunch, $21 for two weak cocktails) just make sure you search the web for better dining options during your stay. The free resort wi-fi was a treat, since wi-fi around CR tends to be spotty.

The hot springs are the best in CR. It can get a bit noisy with the amount of kids running around, but the Shangri-La (Adult Only) area was like a dream. The whole park is very romantic at night. You can always find a secluded place.

Definitely recommend staying here to be pampered after an adventurous stay in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are spacious and all you'll probably need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear christina_ca

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad that you have the opportunity to travel to Costa Rica and stayed with us. We improve and renew our services to offer new experiences to our valued guests, from a tropical welcome cocktail, a comfortable room or just being there in case you need anything are the best way to let our guest relax during their vacation! We feel happy that you enjoyed Shangri-La Gardens, our adults-only hideaway for total relaxation and that you discovered the magic of our natural hot springs taking advantage of the complimentary access to the thermal experience that you receive if you are a hotel guest… We would love to receive you at Tabacon in the near future!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My friends and I visited Tabacon for the hot springs and dinner as part of a day-long tour around the Arenal area. We did not stay at the hotel. We were very impressed with the amount and quality of the hot springs this resort has and felt like we were in paradise. This hotel definitely seems like one of the fancier resorts in the area. Dinner at the hotel was included and there was a ton of options from sushi to salads to fish, and it was all delicious. I can't comment on the quality of the rooms but can only assume this would be a great resort to stay at if you have the money to spend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Samantha J

We are glad you have visited Tabacon! Our hotel guest receive complimentary access to the hot springs but we also offer Day Pass options where our guest can add one or two meals and some of the packages include spa treatments as well. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the resort, our property is unique since the hot springs emerge naturally from the Arenal Volcano forming cascades and natural pools and ponds with a high mineral content. We really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The most natural water fall in the area so it worth the high price.

Stunning views, great service...it is again, like a dream place.

Here you will spend one perfect day in life....i am definitely going back again and again.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivagalapagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Aeghobashy

We really appreciate your preference. We were blessed with a completely natural setting in the heart of Costa Rican rainforest, with a hot spring river with more than 20 different pools and cascades for total relaxation! We definitely will be waiting for your next visit!

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We are seasoned travelers and have stayed a kit if places. This place ranks 4.8 out of 5 in our opinion. Everything was truly perfect except for a couple of things.
The service is the best in the business. No waiting, no line ups etc. The food on the a la carte menu is the best we have ever had. The tenderloin steak with blue cheese was cooked to perfection.
Our only complaint was the dinner buffet was about a 7 out of 10 and the price of things is comparable to North American standards. We didn't come here expecting a resort of this caliber to be cheap and we advise the same.
The excursions are top shelf and the hot rock massage is well worth the $$$.
We are here on our honeymoon and would return again for sure. It is a special place and should be visited for a very special occasion. We think 3 nights here is plenty and then move on and explore other magnificent parts of the beautiful country.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ForesterAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear ForesterAndy

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you decided to stay with us during your honeymoon and that you enjoyed the mystical and romantic experience at the thermal springs, the different adventure activities in the area and also your unforgettable massage at our Spa. The Grand Spa is one of the top eco-spas in the world because we bring nature into the spa experience and all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows. In regards to cuisine, every day at Ave del Paraíso Restaurant we have theme buffets and we also offer a special a la carte menu at Los Tucanes Restaurant where our guests can enjoy both international and national dishes. We look forward to your next visit and we wish you both a long and happy life together.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

There isn't much to say that hasn't been said 100 times about this place so I'll focus on a few points. We are a gay couple and had no problems at all. We walked in and were stunned by our room. The service was great and the people were very nice. The best thing about this place is free entrance to the hot springs. The resort is expensive but when you take the hot springs into account it is truly worth it. It's $15 each way into the town and they'll arrange a car from San Jose for $184.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Trav123419

We appreciate your review, we loved the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of the complimentary access to the hot springs that is include in all our room rates. Our country is full of surprises we are glad you get to see Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort during your stay in Costa Rica! We look forward to receive you again at the resort in the near future!

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Pura Vida - Pure Life - enjoying simple pleasures as water. We drove 3 hours from west of Liberia with boyfriend to come to Arenal's Tabacon Grand Spa and spent all day here enjoying the various waterfalls. Yes, the stones could be a little hard on the feet so water shoes would be nice, but not necessary. Had a drink at swim up bar ($11 and they wanted to be paid then although I wasn't sure how that was done so easily when you are wearing bathing suits and cash and cards left in locker room), and checked out the area with various waterfalls and temperatures getting progressively warmer toward the volcano. After a few hours we had lunch - included in our $85. After lunch we strolled back to the Meditation Garden where we look a little nap with the flute sounds and running streams inside an enclosed cabana. We wanted to see the area at night and enjoy the top and hottest waterfall again. (Boyfriend usually doesn't like it so hot, but it wasn't too hot and you could sit behind the waterfall as if own private steam room or relax in invisible pool). The trek back to resort was long at night and would stay overnight if we are fortunate to return some day. BTW kids allowed but not suggested. Saw a few children but don't think it's worth the money for the short amount of time they'd enjoy this experience which is to be savored.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Barbara W

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our aim is always to provide a high quality service and we are really glad to know that you had the perfect day at Tabacon with your boyfriend. Our thermal springs are in a completely natural setting that's why wearing water shoes is strongly recommended. We are glad you enjoyed our adults only hideaway Shangri-La Gardens where you can live the most relaxing and romantic experience.
Our hotel guest´s receive complimentary access to the thermal resort during their stay, and as you mention the thermal bath goes from a secluded pool surrounded by nature, a hot spring massage or a natural steam room behind our main waterfall. We look forward to receive you again as our guest in the near future… Pura Vida!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,252 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,401 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing