We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Haslett
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Three Day Weekend”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel, spa, and the entire hotel staff are great. Just came back from a 3 day stay in La Fortuna after several days of work in San Jose. We decided to drive the 3 hours and it did not disappoint. Beautiful scenic drive with plenty of roadside shops to get a soda or a coffee. I would recommend a GPS as it could be tricky through some of the towns.
The Tabacon’s landscape is beautiful with lush vegetation all around. The lunch restaurant at the spa was great. Food and drinks were very tasty. The same can be said about the breakfast buffet at the main restaurant in the hotel. Now to dinner: we were somewhat disappointed with the execution of the meal. The duck tasted like rubber and the steak was completely overcooked. I know better not to eat duck if it is not considered local food, but I just could not resist after seeing it on the menu. Again, I would like to state that wait staff, hostess, and the presentation of the food was excellent. So, we ended up eating in La Fortuna.
We will go back to the resort, but avoid the dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Pierre B

Thank you for your review, we are extremely happy that you spent some time at La Fortuna and decided to visit Tabacon, it was an honor to receive you as our guest. Being at the thermal springs is one of the most relaxing experience. We are glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast as well as your lunch where lots of choices including traditional Costa Rican dishes are included. Our menus are prepared with local and international ingredients with world-class culinary techniques in all our preparations. Please accept a deepest apologies if you had any inconvenience with your duck and steak during dinner, your comments are really important to us and I already informed our food and beverage director about your appreciation. I would like to know if you had the opportunity to addressed your dinner complaint while staying at the property since all our staff is always happy to better serve you and take any necessary action to satisfy our guests, please feel free to contact me directly at customerservice@tabacon.com if you would like to tell us more about your dinner experience. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,247
    776
    269
    101
    65
See reviews for
827
1,686
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked a day pass to enjoy their thermal pools, a three course lunch and a spa treatment at their Grand Spa. It was wonderful from start to finish. I would definitely recommend taking the opportunity to do this if you are staying in the area. I would have loved to stay at the resort; however my budget didn't allow for it; so the day pass option was a great alternative. I must compliment the staff at Tabacon, particularly those running the spa, as it was out of this world AMAZING and the fruit smoothies were to die for. I booked their born again facial which was excellent. Being immersed in a combination of luxury and nature, I can still hear the running waters in the background. A massive 'thank you' to the staff at Tabacon, I had a wonderful day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Antonia242,

We appreciate your comments. Thank you for your preference. We are glad that you took advantage of our Special Day Spa Package, this is an incredible deal where as you mention you can enjoy our thermal springs, the rainforest, a delicious lunch or dinner and a relaxing spa experience in a private open air bungalow. Please notice that we also offer special hotel packages including spa coupons and some meals as well as outdoor activities. We look forward for your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA,USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Tabacon for 3 days out of 6 on our trip to Costa Rica in June. It was a 2 1/2 hr- 3 hour car drive from San Jose Airport

Pros: beautiful property. Amazing and lush tropical surroundings. The springs and warm pool was great to hang out and relax. Great swim up bar at the pool.

Cons: food and drinks so expensive. I read reviews and prepared for prices but not as high as $60 buffet breakfast for 2 people and & $6-$8 imperial local beer. We had a car do we drove $10 min to town to eat local food. For $15 you can eat local food for two people. Don't be afraid to explore. Another con was resort was quiet in June. Being in our early 30's we wanted to socialize. Not party at the club but have people to chat with. It was very sleepy by 9pm.

Other comments: great helpful staff, pretty property, springs is either a 1 min shuttle ride or 5 min safe walk if you like to explore. At springs you get a towel and locker. If plan to do excursions the planner on site can help

I recommend visiting this beautiful place

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonikaFabianska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear MonicaFabianska

We deeply appreciate your review, it was an honor that you choose Tabacon as your thermal resort during your Costa Rican vacation. We loved the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and that relaxed in our natural hot springs that emerge directly from Arenal Volcano forming in river pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperature and high mineral content. We are happy to know you loved the property and the service provided by our staff. Your comments are really important to us and we have forwarded your opinion about our food and drinks options to our F&B staff. We look forward to receive you again at the resort in the near future!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Its an incredible place with lots of pools with "Termal" or hot water. I really recomended to travel with a girl (your boyfriend, girlfriend or a friend of the opposite sex). The reason it can be very romantic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Roberto T,

We appreciate your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed every single part of your vacation including our thermal resort for the most romantic escape. We are glad to know we met your expectations. We would love to have you soon!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was excellent and the place was beautiful! We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was so worth the upgrade charge. It is pricey, but it was worth every penny. We went on our honeymoon and it was a great experience. The thermal waters felt so good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Selia W,

We appreciate your comments! We loved the fact that you enjoyed our facilities during your honeymoon, our staff is always working to offer high quality service in order to provide memorable experiences to our valuable guests.We wish you a wonderful life together and hope you can visit Tabacon in the near future maybe to celebrate your first anniversary!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the unlimited access to the hot springs. After researching the various hot spring options in the Arenal area, it sounds like Tabacon offers the very few, if not only, natural hot springs. So half we didn't go with the party town at Baldi.
When you stay at the hotel, you are able to enjoy the hot spring on the day you checked in and the day you checked out (up until 10pm). And we used it to the fullest. They do have showers there too in case if you need to freshen up after you checked out from your room.

We came in early June so it was already the off season time. Most of the time, we were able to enjoy the springs almost privately. Do try and go during daylight and nighttime for completely different experience.

The hotel rooms are clean and spacious. We didn't have much of a view but we barely stayed in. During the day we were out and about with our hiking and zip lining activities and went straight for the hot springs right after. They only allow valet parking which can be a bit of a hassle in my opinion. Definitely bring a lot of singles with you. All the workers will expect tips for everything they do for you. Also don't leave your swim suits or sneakers to dry outside. Maybe there are animals etc but the workers will also put them away and you have to ask the front desk to get them back.

Overall a great value for both of us considering how much a two day admission to the springs would cost us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Agustinkwo

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we really appreciate it. As you mentioned all the hotel guest receive complimentary access to our thermal area during their stay so you are able to enjoy different pools, ponds and waterfalls surrounded by lush tropical gardens that makes the experience so unique. To extend your vacation experience, we allow hotel guests to stay longer at the thermal area the check-out day. Our concierge and front desk are able to storage your luggage for you to continue enjoying the thermal resort area until 10 p.m. Let me express my sincerest apologies if you felt that staff was always expecting a tip, we shared this comment with our operational team, our aim is to offer unforgettable experiences to our guest during their vacation and we do it with passion without expecting anything in exchange rather than our guest´s happiness. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is my first time writing a review on tripadvisor. My husband and I just returned from a week honeymoon in Costa Rica and I couldn't wait to write this review because we absolutely loved the Tabacon!! We stayed in the honeymoon suite for 3 nights last week and it was hands down the best part of our trip. Everything from the staff, the cleanliness of the room, the food and the hot springs were top notch. We originally had a regular room but when we arrived they showed us the honeymoon suite as a possible upgrade and we thought it was worth every penny! We had privacy and a gorgeous view of the volcano to wake up to in the morning. The thermal hot springs were clean, well-maintained and HOT!! Can't recommend this hotel enough. Also, on our second night we had a private honeymoon dinner in a romantic bungalow with candles and rose petals....and our own personal chef. Our waiter for the evening was a really nice guy named Alejandro who was very attentive and fun to talk to. Every dinner we had for the rest of the week we compared to this one and nothing compared!! I was very apprehensive about spending 3 nights in the rainforest for our honeymoon but it was PERFECT!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the honeymoon suite! It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Laurchick

Thank you so much for your appraisal, congratulations on your wedding it was an honor to be part of your honeymoon in Costa Rica, we appreciate your preference. We are glad you decided to upgrade your room to one of our honeymoon suites that in fact are designed with a special touch of romance. We are glad to know we exceed your expectations. Our special Gala Dinner invites you to enjoy a very unique culinary event among the beauty of our lush gardens in the heart of the rainforest. In a private bungalow, your own server and chef create an evening of culinary magic with a menu pre-selected by you, as you mentioned rose petals or tropical flowers on and around your table creates an aura of romance with a candlelight setting like no other. We wish love and happiness for the years to come and really look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,277 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing