We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pura vida mae”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“pura vida mae”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Awesome resort, super friendly staff. El Arenal area is amazing... they make the best out of the rainforests. Great for the family. Volcano, natural hot water pools, rafting, canyoning, canopy, etc.
BTW You should not miss the canopy tours... they are worth every penny.

Gran hotel, súper amigables. Atracciones para toda la familia. Tirolesas de hasta 750 metros con velocidades de 80km/hr, súper seguro y en paisajes hermosos con vista al volcan y al lago.

100% recomendable!

Room Tip: get a first floor room... no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagarciaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hola jagarciaq

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time at Tabacon, we are glad to know you enjoyed to explore the beautiful surroundings, Arenal is a beautiful area with lots of attractions that you are able to visit during your stay with us. We appreciate your preference. It will be an honor to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,107
    752
    260
    101
    65
See reviews for
771
1,612
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Service is fantastic, and the amenities are incredible. Love this place!
The hot springs are incredible. A seemingly unending series of pools in a beautiful setting with a variety of water temperatures. The room was lovely, as was the view. The service and tours through the tour desk (Jacamar) were incredible as well. The spa services were heavenly as well!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello Kara L

We really appreciate your review. Tabacon’s main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests and we are glad to know we met your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our resort a unique place to relax. At the thermal area there are more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. Additionally, for adventurous people La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge as well as the tour desk is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours. The Grand Spa is the perfect complement for a relaxing vacation, consider one of the top eco-spas all over the world the treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private Jacuzzi. We are thankful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our party of 12 stayed at Tabacon and were greeted warmly and with refreshments! Front desk was very friendly and, even with a mixup in our room setup, made things right quickly with apologies for the inconvenience. The rooms are spacious, clean, bedding very comfortable and while the windows do open, we were happy to have the AC as we were there during rainy season...lots of humidity. The buffet breakfast, while pricey, was delicious and had something to offer for everyone in our party...ages 10 to 70! Entrance to the spa was included in our room fee and transportation...while just a short distance but hilly...was provided by the hotel...very convenient again. The grounds are beautiful and the pool refreshing and close by. Would highly recommend for everyone from honeymooners to family.

Room Tip: Concierge recommended rafting trip was EXCELLENT!! Very knowledgeable guides who were fun but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsaj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear mrsaj15

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we are glad that you and your party of 12 had the opportunity to travel to Costa Rica, it was an honor to receive you as our guest. We constantly renew our services to offer new and memorable experience to our valued guests, from a tropical welcome cocktail, a comfortable room or just being there in case you need anything are the best way to let our guest relax during their vacation! We feel happy that you discovered the magic of our hot springs taking advantage of the complimentary access to the thermal experience that you receive as a hotel guest. We are glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast where lots of choices including traditional Costa Rican dishes are included. We would love to receive you at Tabacon in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level Contributor
241 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am going to start this review by stating that I am a member of the paid for Leader's Club of Leading Hotels of the World. If staying in 5 star properties is your bag, as it is mine, this paid for membership is an excellent value and having this greatly enhanced my stay.
Our room was upgraded to a honeymoon suite with an excellent view of the volcano. The room was pure luxury. The only negative is I would prefer a normal shower vs. the rain style coming out of the ceiling type one. Others however, may find this fabulous. I would absolutely spring for one of these rooms if you can. Huge and luxurious. Absolute perfection. Service is wonderful.
Entrance to that amazing hot springs is included with all hotel stays and makes it worth staying here. The hot springs are just the bomb. The absolute best of them all in the area. Don't miss it.
The restaurant, Los Tucanes, is pretty good. I had some great meals here and some not so great. It is expensive, that is for sure. There are many other choices in La Fortuna for a lot less money, but you will need a car or a taxi to get to them, so it may be a wash for a taxi ride.
The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous and beautifully maintained. A solid home run in every way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear shendrix

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. As a member of The Leading Hotels and The Leading Spas of the World it was an honor to receive you as our guest. Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered, that is why we focus our efforts to exceed all customer expectations. As you mentioned all our hotel guests receive complimentary access to our thermal mineral spring resort. In regards to cuisine we do offer 2 restaurants at the resort facilities, Ave del Paraíso that is our casual Restaurant and Los Tucanes Restaurant our fine dining option located at the hotel facilities. Our open-air facilities are surrounded by manicured gardens and primary forest so nature is always present during your vacation in a perfect mix with luxurious accommodations. We are happy to know you enjoyed the upgrade to one of our honeymoon suites. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future and we really appreciate your preference.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff at Tabacon is amazing. They should be giving classes in how to model customer service. They were pleasant, polite, and very knowledgeable about their hotel, the hot springs, and things to do in the area. It is about a 3 hour drive from San Jose. As other reviewers have said, the food is expensive, but it is also delicious. If you can take in to account the fact that all of the food you will eat will travel just as far as you did (if not farther) to get in to the middle of the Rainforest and be served at Tabacon then it will help your head justify the amount on paper. There are several dining options that can take the sting out of the food bill, including paying for a package up front that includes a buffet breakfast every morning, room service, or tapas at the bar. The hot springs themselves are absolutely amazing. They don't smell (because they are not sulfur), the temperature is gratifying, and the scenery will leave you feeling so grateful just for the experience. The spa truly is world class. You get a $75 spa credit per person with the romance package on the tabacon website. I received the Tabacon signature massage and it is truly a once in a lifetime experience. Excursions from the resort are easy to set up, but honestly every time we left the resort we couldn't wait to get back. I was worried about the hot springs being overcrowded, but in June there were very little visitors. A majority of our time in the hot springs we were the only people in sight. I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear BeckieF7

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we really appreciated your preference and your detail review. Tabacon offers more than 20 different natural pools, waterfalls and ponds with different ambiences, so our guests are able to decide if they stay in a tranquil pool or enjoy a natural massage in our main waterfall, as you mentioned what makes Tabacon unique is the perfect combination of volume, temperature and mineral content (low sulfur content to prevent strong odors) that is present in our thermal spring river. We are happy that you enjoyed every single detail of your vacation, it was an honor to have you as our guest. We are glad you took advantage of our packages that include different services for the most romantic escape. The treatments at the Grand Spa are rendered in open air bungalows with private Jacuzzi surrounded by nature. We will love to receive you as our guests in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I recommend to anyone of any age. The hotel breakfast delish. Beautiful pool and easy to just jump in after breakfast. Views amaZing. Loved the sky trek zip line and the hot springs both day and night. It was a great cool escape from Houston's summer heat

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonkeelwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Shannonkeelwr

Thank you for your review, we are extremely happy that you spend your vacation in Costa Rica and decided to visit Tabacon. We are glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast where lots of choices including traditional Costa Rican dishes are included. The room rate include free entrance to the award winning thermal area during your stay and we are happy you explored the hot springs at day and also with the mystical ambience it offers at night. We are glad to know you had the opportunity to explore the beautiful region, where the adventure is always present in the local attractions. We really appreciate your preference and look forward to receive you again at Tabacon.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a beautiful place. We were upgraded to a suite without even asking and the room was fit for a king. The hot springs are amazing. Greivin at the front desk made certain that every detail of our stay was exceptional. While my wife and daughters were getting pampered at the spa, my son and I went waterfall rappelling with Pure Trek. I'm not sure who had the better day. Tabacon is truly a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear NormanCohen

Thank you for your review and for choosing Tabacon as your thermal resort for your family vacation. We are glad you enjoyed the room upgrade, we do our best to offer a pleasant experience to our guests and exceed your expectations. We are really happy that your wife and daughters had the opportunity to enjoy our Spa Experience that in fact is really unique and relaxing since treatments are rendered in private open air bungalow in the heart of the rainforest. La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions for adventurous people, we are happy that you enjoyed the Pure Trek . We look forward to welcome you back in the near future, thank you for your preference.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing