We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

As a travel agent I am always looking for the best hotels and locations for my clients and myself. Tobacon was the perfect place to stay during our visit to the rain forest. We ventured out in the daytime for zip lining, river rafting, etc and came home to Tobacon to relax in the springs and chill.
This was my second stay at Tobacon and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room. Look for a view of the rain forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossom-Hill-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,058
    746
    259
    100
    65
See reviews for
749
1,589
55
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This spa is an amazing resort for families. I suggest spending as much time at the spa as possible to get your money's worth! They make the natural spring look so well maintained. The service here is great, very attentive staff (unlike what I read from other reviews).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njoyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear njoyourlife

Your comments are really important to us, thank you for sharing it. Our aim is always to improve and provide a high quality service. We are glad you enjoyed the hot springs and that you took advantage of unlimited access to the thermal area in the heart of the rainforest that was included in your room rate. We are grateful for your visit and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

It was the perfect place to experience truly wonderful hot springs! Very relaxing and therapeutic in between the intense outdoor activities of Arenal Volcano. Our teen daughters enjoyed it as much as we did! We will def stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguP20148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear JaguP20148

Thank you for taking the time and share with us your experience, we really appreciate it. Costa Rica is full of surprises, we are glad you chose Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort as your thermal destination. Our completely natural hot springs that emerge from Arenal Volcano create a relaxing and magical ambience, we are glad your daughters loved it. We would be happy to prepare also a customized package for a future visit with your family. It was an honor to have you as our guests and we look forward to your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 1st stop in a 10 day period. We hired a driver who drove us directly when we got off the plane. I was excited about staying at the Tabacon as it has excellent ratings and family/friends had said it was a great resort.
Needless to say service at the Tabacon is excellent but I was disappointed by our room. It was a king size bed (very comfy) with a bathroom overlooking the forest area. The room itself was beautiful however it's general upkeep- light switches, fan switches, room phones, air conditioning and bathroom lighting, bathroom caulking etc were in need of upgrades. The ac worked but only turned the humid air cold so it was cold and damp vs cold and dry. Because of this everything took 2 days to dry and while in the room I was cold. Turning up the ac only led to a warm humid room. The phones worked on/off as did the switches etc. I guess since the Tabacon is considered a renown resort I expected better upkeep and better maintenance of its rooms.

The food was good but the menus were consistently the same but for the buffet (which we did not try) and after the 3rd day we felt it was a little monotonous. Portions are huge and two meals seemed plentiful. Pricing was a little steep but we figured service was part of the price as well as taxes.

The hot springs are nice. Very relaxing and warm. We spent most of our time their. We did go on a couple exertions-bird watching and hanging bridges. These were nice but overly priced. You're better off trying some excursions on your own which we found to be the case the longer we stayed in Costa Rica. The guides were super nice and well informed.

Overall it's a 3- good service, nice hot springs but definitely room for improvement especially for a resort that claims it's 5 stars. I also think that older generations would appreciate this area more as there is not a whole lot of adventuring to do and a lot more floating and relaxing in the springs. Unless you are into just relaxing, we are more do it yourself adventurous types.
Definitely worth a visit at least once. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Degienye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have traveled to many places but this was our first trip to Costa Rica. Tabacon Hot Springs is an amazing place and thus far the most beautiful location we have ever been. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The Hot Springs are not to be missed! They are the only natural hot springs from the river that flows through the Arenal volcano. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff were always friendly and available to accommodate any needs we had.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcmillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tmcmillin

We are thankful for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Costa Rica, we were extremely honored to receive you as our guest at Tabacon. As you mentioned our natural hot spring river emerge naturally from Arenal Volcano offering more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades with different temperatures and a high mineral content. It is really rewarding to know that our staff and the facilities exceed your expectations and we hope you can visit us again and stay longer.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our family stayed here one night (6/27) and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel as well as the thermal springs. As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted with a fresh tropical fruit juice and we were then escorted to our room on their buggy. The room had a panoramic view of the volcano. Hotel staff and management were very responsive to any concern or need. I wish we had stayed one more night but we had to prepare for our departure flight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Jae K

Thank you for your review, we are extremely happy that you spent part of your family vacation in Costa Rica, it was an honor to receive you as our guest. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay including your room and the volcano view. I look forward to your return visit so that our team may once again exceed your expectations.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We came for our honeymoon for 4 nights. One positive thing I will say is the staff was extremely friendly and nice. Treated us great. The rooms are really cool too. However.. We did the private dinner in the rainforest bungalow (for our honeymoon) ... It was $320 USD - (plus tip) DO NOT DO IT - complete waste of money. First the chef picked an appetizer.. Seafood. Our appetizer and entree we ordered was clearly not seafood..yet our chef choice was.. And we don't at raw fish..So we couldn't eat that. Then our steak was ordered at medium well... We had to send it back THREE times.. The final time it was still cooked medium rare. (Don't ask me how) We closed our eyes and ate some of it.. Then ordered room service (and paid for it) - also got about 500 bug bites that night. The chef also looked miserable and had to leave for 25 minutes to make our dessert. We just wanted to leave the bungalow! we were going to complain but it was our honeymoon and didn't want to get worked up. Also the main bartenders weren't really that friendly. If you smoke.. Don't stay here. You are banned to a tiny hut that is completely unsanitary. Everything else was great! Just don't do the bungalow dinner. I am told other resorts are also in the rainforest and have hot springs and not as expensive. For 4 nights our bill was Like 1500 (not including the room) which is crazy. Kept finding bugs in room which is expected since we are in rainforest. It was beautiful and staff was great but those were the downfalls we experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessababe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing