We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect place on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 November 2009

My wife, 1 year old daughter and I recently visited Costa Rica for my birthday. We've been 4 times previously; each time, we return to Tabacon and always try another area of Costa Rica. Without question, we consider La Fortuna - and Tabacon in particular - our "heaven on earth."

Besides the wonders of this resort --- such as the incredibly comfy beds, perfect rooms, delicious food, and of course the hot springs --- we wanted to share how welcoming it was for young children. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate us and our little girl. One morning at breakfast, the hostess played with her for 20 minutes so my wife and I could have a moment to ourselves. Other staff would stop whatever they were doing to play with my little girl --- really, this is a country so welcoming to children.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,432 - 2,438 of 3,530 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

stayed a week for the second time. everything about the property was first class. Service , attention to detail and food were are very good. The food has improved over our stay of a couple of years back, presentation and taste are much better. Grand Spa was attentive and well run, Thermals were not crowded as it is off season, but still clean and very nice. All rest. are well run, a bit pricy, but very good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris106Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Truly amazing. Was so beautiful and natural. The hot springs were the best we have ever been to. So natural and pretty, so amazing

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Every thing about this trip got better as we went on. The drive was about 2 hours from Liberia airport but it was admitted stunningly beautiful (tip: pay attention to the few road signs it is easy to get lost without them), Once we arrived at our hotel we were relieved to find that it was better than we had anticipated. The check in process was relatively quick and easy. We were escorted to our room which was clean and very spacious. My only complaint in terms of the room was that the bed and bedding could have been much nicer and the tub in the bathroom was very narrow. The toaster and the coffee maker were nice touches though. The restaurants at the hotel were good. There were a total of 3 (not including the lobby bar). Two at the hot springs and one at the resort. The restaurant at the actual resort was a nice experience. Typical menu fare and steep prices but the setting was memorable. Take a stroll down the street tot he hot springs or take the complimentary shuttle. We were amazed. It was very clean, well manicured beyond beatiful and enjoyable at all hours of the day. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nialjova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Really like no other place I've been in the world. The spa is about average for a large scale operation but they do try hard. This place really comes alive at night and the grottos are gorgeous. Don't miss this if you go. The rooms are lovely and a much better deal than the day pass. Food is good too.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TicaChica54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We travelled to La Fortuna with our then one-year-old from San Jose in our own car. We found the room and restaurants to be friendly to our family situation, including high chairs and buffets (which makes it easier to feed a little one!). We just found it a challenge to completely enjoy hot springs when one of us always had to be out of the water with her, though we did manage to sneak out when she was sleeping. The restaurant with buffet down at the springs is really yummy, and of course the springs themselves, sitting under the lava (which you can see at night if you're lucky) is worth the price, which is quite high. My only suggestion is enter only areas designated with chrome handles and not in random places or you might slip on a rock! The swim-up bar was yummy and the spa was amazing. I had a massage at the Grand Spa on a lovely outdoor setting. I got changed in a private room and was given a key for a locker then came out and was met by a therapist. The only confusion was I didn't know that was my last chance to pee! We walked down a garden path surrounded by lush vegetation, but could still see the steam from the springs. The massage was wonderful and I sat and relaxed on their lounge chairs afterwards. We also tried the swimming pool briefly and liked that our breakfast and los Tucanes restaurant was overlooking it.
Overall, very nice but we would not stay again just because of the price and the fact that we know there are so many options and so much to see in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

The grounds at the Resort and Hot Springs are amazing. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The Rooms are very comfotable, the only disapointing thing was that we were not able to book any spa treatment because they were all booked. Other then that, it was the perfect place to end our vacation in Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,336 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,485 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £214 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing