We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look for something better- busca algo mejor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Segovia, Spain
1 review
“Look for something better- busca algo mejor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is the worst hotel of the full vacational pack we bought, it is far from the volcano area and also the rooms are small and smell bad. Most people we saw were people in thier sixties. It looks like a good hotel but later you realize that in the area there are much better hotels and also cheaper. If you are looking for adventure and fun you do not want to come to this hotel. it looks like more like an sport resort. Do not take excursions with them because they are going to try charging you even if you do not go. Do not give them your credit card. Also the excursion they offer are over-rated if you compare it with other companies in the city. Check other options before regreating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente M, Owner at Tilajari Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,
We are really worry about your comments and would appreciate to have more details regarding the excursions charges and credit card situation that you are mentioning, as honesty is a very important value in our company. We would wish you were express your opinion to our staff or manager when you were at the hotel, so we had the opportunity to fix as much as we could during your stay. We have talked with all the Front Desk staff trying to get more information and understand why you had such a bad experience staying with us, as this is something completely not normal to heard from a client. There is no report of inconveniences of this kind with a person of your profile.

Our tours are almost the same choices you can find in any other hotel in the area, rates are anually monitored to ensure we are charging the right prices for the right quality of services. We are around 25 minutes drive from Arenal Volcano, there is a map and plenty information in our website regarding our location, so we don´t promote the hotel as a volcano view property and we are really clear about the distance and kind of resort too.

Tilajari is a mountain hotel resort, offering many outdoor recreation options and lots of nature around that makes us a legendary hotel since almost 25 years ago. Guests come to our hotel to enjoy nature, sports and relaxation, we don´t promote the hotel as an adventure site with adrenaline activities or night life as discoteques or casinos, as that is not the concept of our company. We definely have many families, couples and elderly clients who love natural gardens, the river, animals and the quietness of our property.

Regarding lodging, when guests are not happy with their room normally they talk with our staff and we gladly give them another room or fix the situation in other ways, but is seems you never complain about your room.

Anyhow, we appreciate your comment due it make us work harded for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    128
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
92
121
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We arrived at Tilajari resort at night. The place looked nice then. We ate and the food was great, the owner was very friendly and even talked with us. Our room however was run down. We were with a group and some people found roaches and mouse turds in their bedding. I wouldnot recommend this place at all. Stay closer to town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerente M, Owner at Tilajari Hotel Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Client,
We have read and analyzed your comments, it was important for us to get this feed-back due it make us work even harder in all the details our clients may pointed out. So thank you for expressing yourself.
It is true Tilajari is open since 1989, as we started as a Country Club that was turned or complemented to hotel a couple of years later. Since then, we have had several renovation or expansion projects in order to satisfy the market necessities. That and the warm service, is part of the success and popularity our property have with thousands of clients around the World.
When foreign people decide to visit a tropical country, they are normally aware of some conditions that they may found in the places they are going to visit, for example keeping such an extensive grounds and gardens as natural as possible for environmental reasons, makes us to strongly deal with some also nature creatures as gekos (little lizards all around Central America) and other bugs. These gekos are probably in every house in Costa Rica, and as a part of the balance they control other insects as spiders and small roaches. Gekos are normally harmless to humans and as they are around buildings is almost impossible to exterminate them all without killing other animals and breaking nature balance as well. What your travel friends though as waste probably was from Gekos due it looks almost the same that mouses waste, anyhow there is no excuse to find this on a room and we have strengthened our supervision in Housekeeping department trying to avoid this.
We have an extermination program running all year around, specially during low season which is in the same time than rainy season, where nature animals are changing their behavior to adjust to the new weather conditions.
During all 2013, we have been renovating bathrooms, furniture, bed linen and other details regarding rooms, besides other services and facilities. As we luckily have a high occupancy all year, this project is running slowly but constant to avoid disturbing clients with maintenance duties. We expect to end the room’s renovation in few months, moving to other areas to improve.
Please receive our sincere apollogies for all the inconveniences, and we encourage you to visit us again sometime to check on the changes we are working on now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

A nice place to relax halfway through a tour of Costa Rica.
Nice adequate rooms. If you have a room facing the river you can probably see crocodiles, in the gardens there are lots of iguana's and at breakfast they feed the birds and what a wonderful colourful display it is to see.
In the surrounding area there is Arenal volcano, a rain forest walk ,a man made trail over bridges and it is very good.
The hotel has a good restaurant with a buffet breakfast of good quality.The evening dinner is also good .

Room Tip: A river view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeswallow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Quesada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We live close enough, so, we only visited the restaurant for a date. It was absolutaly fantastic. The staff was incredibly attentive and the food was just perfect. The place is beatiful and charming, we plan to visit this place many more times!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This a really nice resort with wildlife abound. Close to the hot Springs, zip lining, hanging bridges and the Volcano. The resort had lots to offer with a river, pool, hot tub, butterfly house,
sports venues, all housed in a very nicely landscaped setting.

WE enjoyed sitting on our veranda, watching the birds, monkeys and other wildlife. Don't forget to bring your camera to breakfast, the birds eat with you, very charming!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

If you love peace and quiet, this place is for you. A former Country Club that was bought and adapted to your personal needs. Located on a river bank in which I saw a crocodile on my first visit there. There are indoor and outdoor tennis courts. I believe that there were about 10 courts. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Close to La Fortuna and Arenal. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwight m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights on our recent vacation to Costa Rica. We stayed in a junior suite with a river view and it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable with all your basic necessities but the real reason to stay here is the beautiful grounds. The hotel is on acres and acres (and acres) of property with a river running through it so the wild life you see on a daily basis is really amazing. The dining room is the open air type typical to Costa Rica and every morning we were able to watch the birds, iguanas and butterflies with our breakfast. We had an all inclusive package so we ate all our meals in the restaurant which had a nice variety of dishes to choose from. The food was pretty tasty and the portions are enormous. I ended up ordering half portions the whole time. We did a "safari float" and horseback riding with a guide named Pedro who was fabulous. He's super knowledgeable about the wild life and plants and can spot animals from a mile away. All the hotel staff were SO nice, it really made us sorry to leave when our stay was up. Tilajari is a beautiful, quiet place to enjoy nature and relax. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
12.3 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
15.3 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
20.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Property: Tilajari Hotel Resort
Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing