We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place to stay!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights only last week. I can thoroughly recommend the hotel. It is in such a beautiful setting with abundant wildlife all around. There are many beautiful birds, crocodiles, sloths and iguanas living around the complex. The staff are excellent both friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Tilajari is a distance from any big towns but that is was I found so great, it is a jewel in the middle of nowhere but still only 45 minutes away from Fortuna and the Arenal area. Plenty of day excursions available from the hotel. I would love to go back .

Room Tip: maybe a room on the second floor as my room did smell a bid damp when I first arrived. It was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6sunshinegirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    127
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
91
121
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spent 1 night here on a Backroads trip. It was my least favorite of the hotels, but that puts it against some very fine places. It is a big place, with lots of families vacationing. The room was large with a good bathroom, but 2 of us commented on the sheets being rough (on our sunburned bodies). There is a huge river that flows right by the hotel. We saw iguana, lots of beautiful birds, and a sloth in the tree!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I recommend this hotel if you like beautiful grounds, good food and very good service. I particularly liked the abundant fauna that once included four iguanas visible simultaneously. The only downside is that it is very far from La Fortuna and getting out requires an expensive taxi ride. Although the hotel is not super-modern, its positives far outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: Get a river-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricBeijing1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is very dated and not at all what the reviews portray. "Luxury at the front of its mind", "beautiful location". . . It is 40 minutes from Fortunas and all of the attractions that we were interested in visiting in the area. The rooms were dated and could not in any way be described as luxurious. We had two towels provided in each of the two rooms we rented (for 5 guests) and one of the four towels was completely frayed. The pool was cold, cloudy and questionable. The pool towels had to be checked out at reception which is a hike from the pool. The rooms have keys and if you are not prepared, it is easy to lock yourself out and the front desk was about a quarter mile from where we were situated. The restaurant was acceptable but not what I would consider 3 1/2 stars. It would seem to me that the very positive reviews are deceptive at best. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have just come back from a week at the Tilajari resport and don't recognise some of the recent adverse comments on this site. Far from dated and run down, the accommodation we were in was spotless and modern. All rooms seem to have a view of gardens and/or the river and so birds and animals can be seen easily and regularly from the rooms. The restaurant area is also attractive and the staff spend a lot of energy cleaning the floors and tables. Food was good and varied, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel has excellent tennis facilities and other amenities. I can only compare this with two other hotels we stayed in in Costa Rica, and in other countries and can say that this compares with the best of its type. Highly recommended and if i go back to Costa Rica I'd make a bee-line for this hotel and its surrounding area.

Room Tip: Any facing the river - and most if not all do - spot the crocodiles
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

this hotel is a little out of the way but they are ideally situated for many local activities and attractions. the hotel can organise many activities for you, including those in the arenal area. on top of that there is a lot to do here from sports facilities and large grounds to walk around through to a butterfly house and swimming pool... there is even a river with crocodiles!this hotel is very comfortable and there seem to be various types of rooms to suit couples to families.the restaurant is very tasty for dinner, lunch and breakfast as well as being fairly reasonably priced. at breakfast go early to see them feed the parakeets and tanagers! i also recommend trying their cocktails... the planters punch is delicious!there is a lot to see here and it is a haven for people looking to relax or those in costa rica for the wildlife. we saw crocs, many birds, agoutis, geckos, iguanas, armadillos and more... take a walk around the grounds at different times of the day and keep a camera ready!

Helpful?
2 Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Compared to many hotels in Costa Rica which concentrate on the rain forest experience this one has luxury at the front of its mind possibly due to the location which is a bit further afield from the remote areas of the others. I stayed here for three nights whilst touring the country recently and was very please with my stay.
The room was comfortable and well fitted out with two queen size beds and a private balcony. There is a private safe within the room but you need to hire they key for it from reception at $3 per day should you wish to use it. Also unlike a lot of hotels in the region coffee making facilities are in each room.
The hotel grounds are extensive and include football fields, tennis courts, pool, gym and a butterfly house. I did however think the pool was on the small size for the number of rooms involved.
A lot of birds and wildlife can be found within the grounds which includes a river running alongside. The hotel also contribute to this by putting fruit out on feeders on the restaurant terrace each morning which attracts a lot of species of highly coulured bird life along for the treats.

My only real issue with this hotel was that there was a loud buzzing in my room all night even though the air con was off. This seems to come from a genertor that sits betwwen eacg pair of rooms as others on my tour commented on the same issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
12.3 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#28 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
15.3 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
20.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Property: Tilajari Hotel Resort
Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing