We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Costa Rican wildlife oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during our 3 week stay in Costa Rica. It is well located for travel to the many surrounding attractions particularly in the Aranal volcano area. The grounds are very extensive with the substatial Tarcoles river running along one side. Much wildlife including sloths, iguanas, lizards and crocodiles (on the far river bank) can be seen around the grounds. Look out for the iguana that has taken the wall overlooking the pool as his own. The highlight though has to be the birds which are attracted by fruit left outside the open air restaurant by staff at breakfast time. There are numerous varieities and are very close for viewing. The rooms are good sized, comfortable with ample facilities. Staff are good and friendly. The food is fresh, tasty and hot. There is a choice between buffet or a la carte, both very good.

Room Tip: If possible have one of the higher rooms backing onto the access road as this has a door at one end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

expected better; rooms antiquated, pool ratty with many missing tiles, bathroom shower at pool had no hot water many paths uneven, lots of leaves and debris on the grounds beds uncomfortable doors to room and outside did not close easily and scraped floor antiquated safe in room requiring key attached to room key., food average and basic, place needs makeover. staff curt, but helpful. for example got there early 6:20 for breakfast and staff had most everything out- really just wanted coffee and juice (ready at the time) "we don't open in 10 minutes, sorry" come on - give me a break. felt rushed in dining room- was not finished and waiter kept trying to take plate away --- not a 4 star property., sorry, but honest-- also room was in in 200's -- quite a hike from the office and restaurant----also wifi not in rooms -could only get it in the reception area and the restaurant----real pain in the neck

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandpaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was a 10 days meeting done on this hotel and it was quite nice to spend there among the nature and the closeness to animals, sloths, iguanas and birds all over the place. Is really a way of getting contact with nature and serenity. Food is really good, especially breakfasts. Two bad things was that we ran off of water or two days and the hotel wasn’t so diligent to correct this problem, and also at the delivery, some consumptions that I haven’t done appeared on my account. Also Internet is really bad and slow. Anyway is highly recommendable to be there while you’re in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you want Internet the closest that you can to the restaurant, but even there there's no good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groncios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wherever you look there are iguanas - throughout the grounds, climbing trees, on the river bank, even lazing alongside the jacuzzi or climbing onto your balcony. They seem totally at ease with visitors but whether guests appreciate being so close to iguanas is another matter - especially when some of them may be up to five feet in length! However, you come to Costa Rica for the exotic wildlife and birds, so best that you're prepared for a close encounter.

The Tilajari Hotel Resort stands in extensive grounds alongside the San Carlos River - and, yes, there are crocodiles in it! The resort is very well appointed having a superb swimming pool and a host of sporting opportunities - tennis courts and football pitches and also an indoor sports hall and covered barbecue areas each with their own water supply plus sinks. There is an enclosed butterfly garden on site and a medicinal herb garden. Being a 'resort' complex there are corporate events taking place most days in the two storey conference centre. The only facility that is lacking is possibly a golf course.

Accommodation is in rows of two storey linked properties, the lower ones have front access from their terraces while the ones on the first floor have rear (and slightly sloping) access and they have a balcony. The first floor rooms have vented windows on both sides so will benefit from having a through draught whereas those on the ground floor have windows only on the front. The views from the rooms are excellent whether they be the ground or first floor as they overlook the extensive and well kept grassed area with plenty of tree cover which in turn fronts the San Carlos River. There is plentiful bird life in the trees which can be observed from the balconies and terraces.

The bar - with ample seating - is adjacent to the several dining areas and both have open sides to appreciate the grounds and exotic bird life which is encouraged to the area as food is placed outside to attract the birds, especially during breakfasts.

Food was good and we had a combination of barbecues, buffet help yourself and a la carte options. I must point out that if you like toast in the mornings you have to put your bread through the automatic toaster at least three times to get real toast!

There is a good, if expensive, range of excursion options that are run from the hotel.

This is a very impressive place but it is beginning to show its age in some respects, and hence I have reluctantly given it four stars as it is just not right at the top to deserve the five star rating. It is now (March 2014) about 18 years old and small things are beginning to show. For example, when we moved into our room the two king-sized beds were very well presented, but closer examination - see photo - shows that the mattresses were non-matching and there was wear and tear evident. Obviously this did not affect the sleeping quality but it is indicative that after being open for so long some upgrading would not go amiss. But that is looking for the negatives - this really is a great place to stay and we were fortunate to have a week here whereas most guests seem to stay for a few nights as part of a group undertaking 'the Costa Rican experience'.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms are the ones on the upper floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Welsh_Travel_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here with my mom and my sister in January. We purchased an all inclusive package which was extremely worthy.

We loved every bit of the hotel... from the nature, the birds to the rooms that were extremely comfortable.

We laid by the pool just enjoying the day and letting the time pass by.

The only reason why I am not rating it as a 5 its because we did go to the river and had fun there on the first day we arrived. We wanted to d o the same the day after and realized there were cocodrilles.... Not nice not to be advised!!!!!

In overall we had a good time... will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichaves25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. What I found most amazing about this hotel resort is that the grounds are absolutely fabulous. We walked around it for hours. There are so many cool plants, trees, birds, animals and insects to check out, you will be amazed. There was even a sloth in a small tree 100 feet from our room's front door.

We ate breakfast there all 3 days and dinner once. The breakfast was a buffet and it was very good, much better than the other 2 hotels we stayed in. They even had blackberry juice and mango juice. Dinner ended up being not so good, average. The best part about the dining area is the birds and iguanas. They put papaya or plantains out on stick trees to draw the birds in, and the birds do come; red-legged honey creepers, blue-white tanagers, passerini's tanagers, summer tanagers, woodpeckers, orange-chinned parakeets, several others. There was also a 6 foot iguana and a jesus christ lizard there one day.

It is true that you are a half hour drive to La Fortuna, but it's no big deal. We even tried a few local restaurants, which ended up being cool experiences because no one spoke English there, but the steaks were good.

The rooms were nice and clean, no complaints. There are horses there, and a butterfly garden, tennis courts, and a swimming pool and Jacuzzi, all very nice.

Stay at Tilajari Hotel Resort, especially if you like nature.

Room Tip: The rooms are laid out in a long line. We were in the furthest building which was a decent walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChazMan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

First, I recommend having a car if you stay here, because there is nothing close around it. Most everything is a 30 to 40 minute drive away.

I have been to the Tilajari a couple of times. We had our wedding there two years ago, and the event planning was great! It was a beautiful wedding and all my family had a great time and enjoyed the food, the gardens, the space to just hang out with each other, and more.

My parents had such a great time that they wanted to visit Tilajari again while visiting me here in Costa Rica where I live. It worked out great.

Wonderful service, we got rooms all together. We ate the included and delicious breakfast everyday, enjoying the view of the river and the birds and iguanas. And then we enjoyed the day doing tours and things in the area. It was great getting back to the hotel at night, and just hanging out outside the rooms, enjoying a view of the river and enjoying a cold beer. And then going to enjoy a delicious dinner.

Really amazing service at the restaurant!!

Tip: Bring a cooler and get beer much cheaper at a liquor store nearby, rather than always buying at the bar. Just don't bring the stuff you brought to the restaurant area, of course.

So, in conclusion, Tilajari is a great home base to explore the San Carlos Area, or a beautiful setting for a great wedding!

I can also see it as being a great place for families...ample open grass areas for kids to run around! (But not barefoot, because of spiky tree bark that falls from some type of tree)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
15.5 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,269 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,368 reviews
12.0 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
652 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#28 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £64 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing