We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting "Twitchers" paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely setting "Twitchers" paradise”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a week here on our Costa Rican holiday. The birds here are amazing especially the variety visiting the various feeding stations around the dining room. The Iguanas never ceased to fascinate and they even have a butterfly house. The setting on the Tarcoles river is lovely and we had an upstairs room with balcony which was great - except for the chairs which, like the ones in the bar were incredibly uncomfortable! We lifted others from the room which was easy. The a la carte menu was very good, but when it was a buffet choice was small and chilly. Hot plates do not exist in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms afford more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandG1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    132
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
92
125
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had a lovely, well-appointed room with a balcony overlooking some of the extensive gardens and the San Carlos River. Every time I stepped out of my room, I met some of the local wildlife - iguanas, squirrels, a sloth in a tree, beautiful birds and even a crocodile on the river bank! Every morning the staff put out bananas around the restaurant so that we were entertained by a constant stream of feathered visitors. The food was good, especially from the a la carte menu and the staff always seemed willing to suit individual needs. In fact, the staff in all areas of the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. In addition, there is a small reasonably priced gift shop and an aromatherapy massage service. High speed wi-fi was always available in the hotel bar, restaurant and in my room.

The hotel is well placed for exploring the area, in particular around the Arenal volcano (and all its activities). You can explore local forests on foot or in the treetops or you can navigate local rivers and you will meet even more wildlife in the trees, in the rivers or on the riverbanks.

I totally recommend a stay in this hotel/resort.

Room Tip: Room numbers starting with 600 are close to the restaurant, bar, reception and swimming pool. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during our 3 week stay in Costa Rica. It is well located for travel to the many surrounding attractions particularly in the Aranal volcano area. The grounds are very extensive with the substatial Tarcoles river running along one side. Much wildlife including sloths, iguanas, lizards and crocodiles (on the far river bank) can be seen around the grounds. Look out for the iguana that has taken the wall overlooking the pool as his own. The highlight though has to be the birds which are attracted by fruit left outside the open air restaurant by staff at breakfast time. There are numerous varieities and are very close for viewing. The rooms are good sized, comfortable with ample facilities. Staff are good and friendly. The food is fresh, tasty and hot. There is a choice between buffet or a la carte, both very good.

Room Tip: If possible have one of the higher rooms backing onto the access road as this has a door at one end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

expected better; rooms antiquated, pool ratty with many missing tiles, bathroom shower at pool had no hot water many paths uneven, lots of leaves and debris on the grounds beds uncomfortable doors to room and outside did not close easily and scraped floor antiquated safe in room requiring key attached to room key., food average and basic, place needs makeover. staff curt, but helpful. for example got there early 6:20 for breakfast and staff had most everything out- really just wanted coffee and juice (ready at the time) "we don't open in 10 minutes, sorry" come on - give me a break. felt rushed in dining room- was not finished and waiter kept trying to take plate away --- not a 4 star property., sorry, but honest-- also room was in in 200's -- quite a hike from the office and restaurant----also wifi not in rooms -could only get it in the reception area and the restaurant----real pain in the neck

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandpaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zipaquira, Colombia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was a 10 days meeting done on this hotel and it was quite nice to spend there among the nature and the closeness to animals, sloths, iguanas and birds all over the place. Is really a way of getting contact with nature and serenity. Food is really good, especially breakfasts. Two bad things was that we ran off of water or two days and the hotel wasn’t so diligent to correct this problem, and also at the delivery, some consumptions that I haven’t done appeared on my account. Also Internet is really bad and slow. Anyway is highly recommendable to be there while you’re in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you want Internet the closest that you can to the restaurant, but even there there's no good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groncios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wherever you look there are iguanas - throughout the grounds, climbing trees, on the river bank, even lazing alongside the jacuzzi or climbing onto your balcony. They seem totally at ease with visitors but whether guests appreciate being so close to iguanas is another matter - especially when some of them may be up to five feet in length! However, you come to Costa Rica for the exotic wildlife and birds, so best that you're prepared for a close encounter.

The Tilajari Hotel Resort stands in extensive grounds alongside the San Carlos River - and, yes, there are crocodiles in it! The resort is very well appointed having a superb swimming pool and a host of sporting opportunities - tennis courts and football pitches and also an indoor sports hall and covered barbecue areas each with their own water supply plus sinks. There is an enclosed butterfly garden on site and a medicinal herb garden. Being a 'resort' complex there are corporate events taking place most days in the two storey conference centre. The only facility that is lacking is possibly a golf course.

Accommodation is in rows of two storey linked properties, the lower ones have front access from their terraces while the ones on the first floor have rear (and slightly sloping) access and they have a balcony. The first floor rooms have vented windows on both sides so will benefit from having a through draught whereas those on the ground floor have windows only on the front. The views from the rooms are excellent whether they be the ground or first floor as they overlook the extensive and well kept grassed area with plenty of tree cover which in turn fronts the San Carlos River. There is plentiful bird life in the trees which can be observed from the balconies and terraces.

The bar - with ample seating - is adjacent to the several dining areas and both have open sides to appreciate the grounds and exotic bird life which is encouraged to the area as food is placed outside to attract the birds, especially during breakfasts.

Food was good and we had a combination of barbecues, buffet help yourself and a la carte options. I must point out that if you like toast in the mornings you have to put your bread through the automatic toaster at least three times to get real toast!

There is a good, if expensive, range of excursion options that are run from the hotel.

This is a very impressive place but it is beginning to show its age in some respects, and hence I have reluctantly given it four stars as it is just not right at the top to deserve the five star rating. It is now (March 2014) about 18 years old and small things are beginning to show. For example, when we moved into our room the two king-sized beds were very well presented, but closer examination - see photo - shows that the mattresses were non-matching and there was wear and tear evident. Obviously this did not affect the sleeping quality but it is indicative that after being open for so long some upgrading would not go amiss. But that is looking for the negatives - this really is a great place to stay and we were fortunate to have a week here whereas most guests seem to stay for a few nights as part of a group undertaking 'the Costa Rican experience'.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms are the ones on the upper floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Welsh_Travel_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here with my mom and my sister in January. We purchased an all inclusive package which was extremely worthy.

We loved every bit of the hotel... from the nature, the birds to the rooms that were extremely comfortable.

We laid by the pool just enjoying the day and letting the time pass by.

The only reason why I am not rating it as a 5 its because we did go to the river and had fun there on the first day we arrived. We wanted to d o the same the day after and realized there were cocodrilles.... Not nice not to be advised!!!!!

In overall we had a good time... will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichaves25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
15.0 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
11.8 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
12.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
11.2 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Property: Tilajari Hotel Resort
Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing