We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It's nice to be outside the main tourist area, especially with the volcano no longer glowing, just be aware it will take 1/2hr or so to drive to the Arenal Volcano National Park. The road there is mostly paved now, whoohoo. Lovely property, huge iguanas walking around and climbing in the trees. Great variety of birds - very nice touch that the staff places bananas in feeders outside the restaurant in the morning, so you have great bird viewing during breakfast. What a treat to sit outside your room in an Adirondack chair early in the morning, sipping coffee, and watching this tropical scenery. The road noise from Rt 35 can be a bit much, mostly the trucks using their Jake brakes as they approach the intersection with Rt 4, unfortunate, otherwise it would be even more idyllic. Very friendly and attentive staff. Good breakfast buffet and very nice a la carte dinner in an open air restaurant, surprisingly few flies or other flying insects. Nice pool and hot tub. So the pool shower does not have hot water, you are just rinsing off, right? Super clean grocery store, as well as a gas station and ATM right by the intersection. Trips can be booked through front desk if you don't want to drive anywhere. Wifi good in restaurant and out on the restaurant deck overlooking the river (peaceful), but not in the rooms. The butterfly garden was small but nice. Parking is in front of your building, very handy.
Don't leave any food in the room or you may attract a tribe of teeny weeny ants (yes, they marched through the zipper of the zip lock bag). Some holes in the bathroom tiles could be repaired. Room was basic, but good size and comfortable bed. Could have used a chair or two, only place to sit was the bed. Stayed 2 nights and would stay here again any time.

Room Tip: They all seemed lovely. We were in 402, which was quiet and a pleasant walk to the restaurant and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having read a number of reviews of the hotel they seem to say it all. The location is wonderful with a huge number of birds and wildlife at close quarters (although not intrusive). Service is good as is the food. Rooms are spacious and well cleaned and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get 600 or 500 rooms if you are there in the wet season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable, but the real star is the property itself. The hotel sits along the bank of the San Carlos River, which was beautiful in its own right, and we saw tons of iguanas lounging along the riverbank and throughout the hotel grounds. There's a beautiful butterfly garden, and assorted tropical birds darted here, there, and everywhere. The hotel is well located for use as a base point for ventures to many different attractions, such as Arenal Volcano, Monteverde Cloud Forest, and more. We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaddyinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a week here on our Costa Rican holiday. The birds here are amazing especially the variety visiting the various feeding stations around the dining room. The Iguanas never ceased to fascinate and they even have a butterfly house. The setting on the Tarcoles river is lovely and we had an upstairs room with balcony which was great - except for the chairs which, like the ones in the bar were incredibly uncomfortable! We lifted others from the room which was easy. The a la carte menu was very good, but when it was a buffet choice was small and chilly. Hot plates do not exist in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms afford more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandG1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had a lovely, well-appointed room with a balcony overlooking some of the extensive gardens and the San Carlos River. Every time I stepped out of my room, I met some of the local wildlife - iguanas, squirrels, a sloth in a tree, beautiful birds and even a crocodile on the river bank! Every morning the staff put out bananas around the restaurant so that we were entertained by a constant stream of feathered visitors. The food was good, especially from the a la carte menu and the staff always seemed willing to suit individual needs. In fact, the staff in all areas of the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. In addition, there is a small reasonably priced gift shop and an aromatherapy massage service. High speed wi-fi was always available in the hotel bar, restaurant and in my room.

The hotel is well placed for exploring the area, in particular around the Arenal volcano (and all its activities). You can explore local forests on foot or in the treetops or you can navigate local rivers and you will meet even more wildlife in the trees, in the rivers or on the riverbanks.

I totally recommend a stay in this hotel/resort.

Room Tip: Room numbers starting with 600 are close to the restaurant, bar, reception and swimming pool. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ap2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during our 3 week stay in Costa Rica. It is well located for travel to the many surrounding attractions particularly in the Aranal volcano area. The grounds are very extensive with the substatial Tarcoles river running along one side. Much wildlife including sloths, iguanas, lizards and crocodiles (on the far river bank) can be seen around the grounds. Look out for the iguana that has taken the wall overlooking the pool as his own. The highlight though has to be the birds which are attracted by fruit left outside the open air restaurant by staff at breakfast time. There are numerous varieities and are very close for viewing. The rooms are good sized, comfortable with ample facilities. Staff are good and friendly. The food is fresh, tasty and hot. There is a choice between buffet or a la carte, both very good.

Room Tip: If possible have one of the higher rooms backing onto the access road as this has a door at one end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

expected better; rooms antiquated, pool ratty with many missing tiles, bathroom shower at pool had no hot water many paths uneven, lots of leaves and debris on the grounds beds uncomfortable doors to room and outside did not close easily and scraped floor antiquated safe in room requiring key attached to room key., food average and basic, place needs makeover. staff curt, but helpful. for example got there early 6:20 for breakfast and staff had most everything out- really just wanted coffee and juice (ready at the time) "we don't open in 10 minutes, sorry" come on - give me a break. felt rushed in dining room- was not finished and waiter kept trying to take plate away --- not a 4 star property., sorry, but honest-- also room was in in 200's -- quite a hike from the office and restaurant----also wifi not in rooms -could only get it in the reception area and the restaurant----real pain in the neck

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandpaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
12.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
303 reviews
14 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,303 reviews
11.5 mi away
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
368 reviews
12 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing