We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcanic FUN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
islamorada Fl
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Volcanic FUN!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Have visited Los Lagos several times. The grounds are beautiful and the view of Arenal is the best. This is very close to the volcano. There are trails up the mountain where you can actually hear it breathing! Kept hearing a clacking sort of sound which turned out to be boulders being expelled from the volcano and bouncing down other rocks. Most rooms have picture windows and are angled toward the volcano for it's almost nightly show. The volcanic springs feed one of the swimming pools here. Water continually flushes through this pool which is complete with a water slide and a swim-up bar! The breakfast is excellent w/ freshly made pancakes as part of the GIANT buffet. There are many activities. Highly enjoyed the zip-lines and the SPA. Volcanic mud treatments are among the many offerings. There are many choices in the area (some famous & expensive) the view from Los Lagos blows them away as does the charming Tico hospitality. I love it here and am sad when in Costa Rica & my trip does not allow me a visit to Los Lagos.

Room Tip: Those angled toward the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronz1inthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    575
    190
    43
    35
See reviews for
574
441
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed at Los Lagos for 2 nights with my family of 5 (3 teenagers) and loved our stay here. Nice having everything in one spot. The frog, butterfly and crocodile activities were nice extras for the kids. We stayed in a suite and had plenty of room. Although it is a walk to the pool and activites, we enjoyed it. Pool and slide were fun and the hot springs felt great. It can get a little crowded with visitors over the weekend but we were busy going to La Fortuna waterfall and Hanging Bridges (recommended), and we did an outside zip line tour with Arenal Mundo (also recommended). Breakfast was included and was good. I only wish there was coffee in the rooms!

Room Tip: We were in a suite to sleep 5 which was at the top of the property. Although a longer walk, we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDevitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our two sons, ages 4 and 6. They claim it is the best hotel they have ever stayed at. They enjoyed discovering the butterflies, frogs, ants, crocodiles and birds on site, but of course, the highlight for them was the amazing pools and waterslides. The grounds are beautiful and the view from our room was gorgeous. The reason I give it only 4 stars is our room, though clean with clean linens, was old and tired. The sink was chipped and leaked and the tub was chipped too. I asked if there were better rooms available for next time and she told me that we had a superior room so they are usually the best. That being said, we would still come back, knowing what to expect. The value was amazing. It included a good breakfast buffet. The restaurant was decent but far overpriced compared to the value and quality we found in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiisaVex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I have been to Los Lagos twice. The first time for our Honeymoon, the second time with our children and my mother. Both times were wonderful. The grounds are immaculate, they bring out the flora,wildlife, and Volcan Aeranal very well. The hot spring pools were wonderful, there are so many you can find one that's pretty secluded with out a problem which is very romantic. The water for the hot springs is 100% natural so it is great for you skin. They also have multiple swimming pools and a pool bar as well with great Pina Colados. We had a great honeymoon there.

When we came back with the whole family it was great as well. Everybody loved it and wanted to return. They have fun watersides for the kids, zip lining, and a little wildlife refuge on site. It was great, and a very good value as well. I highly recommend Los Lagos for your stay in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a clear view of the Volcano, it is cloudy over the peak most of the time so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeralon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We didn't stay at Los Lagos, so cannot comment on the rooms. The pools were great, though, and we enjoyed the butterflies and flowers. The first time, the kids wanted to go ziplining again, and while it wasn't very high or long, it was fun for them. The second time we visited, there was a group of high school kids who pretty much took over the place and it was not pleasant, but that wasn't the fault of the management. The food was good, service excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen CO
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

A friend and I were staying at a working farm about a half-hour away, but our host made sure we knew that Los Lagos was the best recreational value in the La Fortuna area. Great package for zip lining, spa, pool, and the zoo features here. Great staff. We stayed all day - much longer than we planned. A really great all-in-one stop.

The zip line (or Canopy) was a lot of fun, in a small group, and very attentive guides. About a dozen runs in all, ending back at the pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRestlessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We traveled with our 13 year old son here and he had a blast with all of the great water slides and the pools. This place is like a spa with all different temp pools to hang in. In the afternoon when it rained, we would hang out in the swim up bar in the warm pool and sip cool drinks until the clouds cleared. The grounds are pretty and there is plenty to do. The rooms are very adequate - just clean hotel rooms but with nice views.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing