We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagoona hotel very close to Arenal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great time for families with kids, but for 3 guys who travelling around Costa Rica it is a bit overpopulated, but it was only one bad thing about this hotel. Spent one night in Exclusive appartman and went on trip to Arenal view point which is also par tof this resort. Bar is in very hot water and also tobogano ending there. You can chill in colder water in the middle of tropical jungle, surrounded by mangos and other flowers. Also you can enjoy huge butterflies same as hummingbirds.
Can only recommend :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondrej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Susan and I dropped by Los Lagos, knowing that we only had about four hours to kill. We were offered a package including lunch (gorgeous restaurant), a canopy tour (fast, fun), and access to the hot springs. It was perfect. While we did not allow enough time for the lunch, the canopy tour was fantastic, with deep gorges, lots of exciting runs, and fun guides. After zipping, we took some dips in their warm and cold baths, and felt relaxed and satiated when we got back on the road. We can't comment about the actual rooms, but for a drop-in visit, it worked out exceedingly well. Lush and professional.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck, Santa Cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Our family stayed here in May and had a wonderful time. Beautiful landscaping and a great pool and hot springs area. A bit of a walk from our room to the pool and other activities they do provide a free van to get around the property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Have visited Los Lagos several times. The grounds are beautiful and the view of Arenal is the best. This is very close to the volcano. There are trails up the mountain where you can actually hear it breathing! Kept hearing a clacking sort of sound which turned out to be boulders being expelled from the volcano and bouncing down other rocks. Most rooms have picture windows and are angled toward the volcano for it's almost nightly show. The volcanic springs feed one of the swimming pools here. Water continually flushes through this pool which is complete with a water slide and a swim-up bar! The breakfast is excellent w/ freshly made pancakes as part of the GIANT buffet. There are many activities. Highly enjoyed the zip-lines and the SPA. Volcanic mud treatments are among the many offerings. There are many choices in the area (some famous & expensive) the view from Los Lagos blows them away as does the charming Tico hospitality. I love it here and am sad when in Costa Rica & my trip does not allow me a visit to Los Lagos.

Room Tip: Those angled toward the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronz1inthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed at Los Lagos for 2 nights with my family of 5 (3 teenagers) and loved our stay here. Nice having everything in one spot. The frog, butterfly and crocodile activities were nice extras for the kids. We stayed in a suite and had plenty of room. Although it is a walk to the pool and activites, we enjoyed it. Pool and slide were fun and the hot springs felt great. It can get a little crowded with visitors over the weekend but we were busy going to La Fortuna waterfall and Hanging Bridges (recommended), and we did an outside zip line tour with Arenal Mundo (also recommended). Breakfast was included and was good. I only wish there was coffee in the rooms!

Room Tip: We were in a suite to sleep 5 which was at the top of the property. Although a longer walk, we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McDevitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our two sons, ages 4 and 6. They claim it is the best hotel they have ever stayed at. They enjoyed discovering the butterflies, frogs, ants, crocodiles and birds on site, but of course, the highlight for them was the amazing pools and waterslides. The grounds are beautiful and the view from our room was gorgeous. The reason I give it only 4 stars is our room, though clean with clean linens, was old and tired. The sink was chipped and leaked and the tub was chipped too. I asked if there were better rooms available for next time and she told me that we had a superior room so they are usually the best. That being said, we would still come back, knowing what to expect. The value was amazing. It included a good breakfast buffet. The restaurant was decent but far overpriced compared to the value and quality we found in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiisaVex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I have been to Los Lagos twice. The first time for our Honeymoon, the second time with our children and my mother. Both times were wonderful. The grounds are immaculate, they bring out the flora,wildlife, and Volcan Aeranal very well. The hot spring pools were wonderful, there are so many you can find one that's pretty secluded with out a problem which is very romantic. The water for the hot springs is 100% natural so it is great for you skin. They also have multiple swimming pools and a pool bar as well with great Pina Colados. We had a great honeymoon there.

When we came back with the whole family it was great as well. Everybody loved it and wanted to return. They have fun watersides for the kids, zip lining, and a little wildlife refuge on site. It was great, and a very good value as well. I highly recommend Los Lagos for your stay in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a clear view of the Volcano, it is cloudy over the peak most of the time so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeralon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,618 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £77 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing