We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of Hot Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The site is very nice but remote from anything else, less than 10 minutes by car from La Fortuna. The ressort have many hot pool, some water slides, and also offer addtional activities like Ziplines for additional cost. I was really impressed by the small zoo. Of course it is not huge but for an hotel at this price, I spent a good hour (I'm slow to visit attraction) looking at crocodiles, plants, ants, butterflies and many colorful frogs. My daughter did not enjoy it because she does like frogs and it was rainy. The pools were short walking distance from our room but the site is big and you can have few minutes walk to get to them in hilly trails, good for legs. Room was very big but old style. We were a bit captive of the resort restaurant but it was good food and good variety of choices. Price are not cheap.

Room Tip: Make sure to look at site map to see where you want to be, it can be a good walk from front desk, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPolo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Perhaps it was because we came to Los Lagos from an ideal Tico owned bed and breakfast, but this hotel left a lot to be desired. We came here for the kids and while I didn't expect it to be my favorite spot, I didn't expect to dislike it as much as I did. The numerous pools and slides looked like it would be great online.

Upon arrival, the staff lacked the warmth and enthusiasm we found everywhere else in Costa Rica. Very little eye contact. No smile. All business, but not necessarily in a hurry... I asked for a room close to the pools and the clerk said we could pay then she would look in to it. After we paid, she said we reserved a deluxe room and all the deluxe rooms were far from the pools.

Our room was okay. It was huge and clean. The one window was big and faced the road. The door at the back of the room opened to a beautiful view but for some reason, there were no windows facing that way. The room lacked light. No wi-fi in the rooms. Wi-fi is advertised in the restaurant/bar, but it was not working when we were there.

The pools were hot or cold. Nothing in between. 75 degrees or 90. They were quite dirty as well. Especially the small pools up the hill from the main pool. Muck floating on the surface. Paint was chipping off the pools revealing their age. A loud construction project was going on adjacent to the hot springs as well as near the restaurant. Stinky mud being overturned all day with large equipment and all the noise that goes along with construction. The slides are concrete, so a rashguard is recommended to decrease abrasions.

We enjoyed the ranario and the butterfly exhibits on site. The staff was particularly attentive during one of our visits and showed us all kinds of caterpillars, frogs, etc. That was a treat!

While I loved our accommodations in Samara, Monteverde, and Tortuguero, I did not care for Los Lagos. I would not stay here again. Also, we did not have a car and it too far to walk anywhere for meals, etc.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oregonfamily_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a Superior room on a mid week 2 night stay. The room was very nice, beds very comfortable. In the morning we had a little trouble with the shower faucet. Front desk was very quick to get someone out to fix it. The grounds are very beautiful and need to be explored. The road up to the Volcano Observatory was no problem for our 4WD. It's a good steep hike if you're in shape and you have the time (I'm not so much and didn't) but we did get out a few times on the way back down and would have missed the carpenter ants if we hadn't. The pools are amazing. The kids loved the water slides and being in the hot pool with the swim up bar at night while it was raining was an amazing experience for me and my girlfriend. The staff was always helpful and very professional. Many of the breakfast choices change every day and everything we tried was nice and tasty. WiFi worked in the restaurant and lobby. Plenty of room to sit and surf in the lobby. Aside from breakfast we ate in town. Plenty of good food there, not super cheap but reasonable. Don't miss the hanging bridges north of the hotel on the other side of the dam. It's $24 and takes a couple of hours to walk it all but it's amazing. Don't wear flip-flops but do wear your swimsuit for the waterfall. All together a very romantic AND kid friendly destination. We will definitely be back. Can't wait! Oh and the volcano is cool too. : )

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are a distance from the pools but the shuttle service is very good and the trail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58Albert55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I've been to La Fortuna and Arenal numerous times over the past ten years but this is the first time I've stayed at Los Lagos. I assure you I won't be staying anywhere else in the future! Excellent accommodations, friendly staff, great food, super-clean, and the resort itself--gorgeous! This place is also very kid-friendly with a crocodile farm, butterfly gardens, zip-lining and some awesome water slides!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phllymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Probably the best place to stay around the Vulcano Arenal.
It has almost all the activities such as horse back riding, Canopy ( Zipline) and Hot springs.
ATV tour is just a few miles away.

Room service and Hotel service is top notch

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayadev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent a few days here, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We felt safe, and relaxed. The rooms were fine, but the pools were fabulous. The water slides were so much fun, and it was nice to sit in the hot spring after a long day exploring. The majestic backdrop was so beautiful that I had to keep reminding myself it was in fact a real volcano behind me. I highly recommend this getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicsoul818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was a wonderful place for our family to stay. The kids absolutely loved the thermal pools and slides. You do not have to leave the resort because there is a restaurant right there. They really need more options for eating there at the resort, but the food is DELICIOUS! So I really can't complain about that. There are some hiking opportunities on the resort itself which is nice. I would probably not take one of the tours offered there as you can go yourself and find something must less expensive. This hotel had great prices. Rooms were very large with trundle beds. WIFI ONLY IN THE LOBBY!!!! NOT IN YOUR ROOMS!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Klc628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,091 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £79 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing