We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with fun pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great hotel with fun pool”
Reviewed 15 July 2008

This is a great hotel for families. We stayed in the superior rooms. They have 2 queen bed plus two trundle beds. Very clean and spacious. The pool is amazing and felt very safe letting our kids go up and down the water slides by themselves. The bar makes wonderful margaritas and the breakfast buffet (which was included) was always tasty and kept you full throughout the day.

The rooms can be quite a distance from the restaurant/pool area so you might have to drive. Very handy to be close to town. Would recommend for families, but maybe not for a romantic interlude as it can get loud.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — can be loud in the mornings
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank berniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    567
    186
    42
    34
See reviews for
557
437
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We (myself, a friend and my two children) booked a hotel room (paying full adult price for my children ages 11 and 12) at Los Lagos and received a confirmation number and registration sheet to fax to the hotel. After driving nearly 5 hours from Tamarindo, and arriving the beautiful hotel we were greated by a delightful tico security guard. As soon as we entered the hotel lobby thing rapidly deteriorated. We stood waiting for assistance from 3 out of 4 hotel representatives that were not online, on hte phone, assisting anyone or even chating amongst themselves. We patiently waited (as we have been in CR for 4 weeks and this was not atypical for us) for nearly 15 minutes, before we were assisted. I gave the guy our confirmation number, he verified it, then began asking how many adults. I advised two and two children, he stated the reservation was for four adults. I explained that my children were 11 and 12 and required "adult" price per the website, and he stated he need to change the reservation. I agreed. Next, he tells me that children are charged at an adult rate and the reservation is now for four adults (he just changed it). In attempting to get the most seamless transaction, I deferred to him and he stated he would be required to place us in "superior" room at nearly double the cost because "now" all the "standard" ($200) rooms were not available. Apparently in the five minutes that it took him to "change" our reservation from 4 adults to 2 adults and 2 children, then back to 4 adults...the last standard room was booked, however there were 15 "superior" rooms which offered two double beds. Tired, hungry and mentally drained, I requested that he reconsider and honor our reservation, he blantantly, refused. We then departed to find lodging elsewhere.
This was a terrible experience for us!

  • Disliked — Customer Service is non-existent.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quasi-tico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Los Lagos may have been someone's idea of a resort twenty or thirty years ago, but now its just a bit seedy and shabby - a shame because La Fortuna is a friendly town with lots to offer and it has some other great places.

Only worth a trip if you want to soak all day in a hot spring pool for cheap.

  • Liked — cheap pool with wicked water slides
  • Disliked — generally seedy
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pura_Vida_Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We did stay in this hotel in late March for one night here is what we found:

Check in was ok the lobby had nothing special to offer, the employees were nice and helpful in respect to the décor for both the reception and lobby area we both have were untouched, it looks more like an empty train station then a lobby area of (as we were told a 4 star hotel) in any respect disappointing.

After the check in we have had our lunch at 2.30 pm and at once were told that the restaurant would close at 3pm sharp; again the restaurant as much as all other facilities are not truly inviting, knowing other hotel properties around the area it is missing quite a some style and décor.

The food and the food presentation was of lower end quality, considering the price/quality for sure out of balance so was the service during our lunch. We where sitting on the outside terrace considering the in door restaurant for sure the better place to be. The in door restaurant was set up for group business and not appealing at all what so ever.

We had room number 225 on the higher grounds of the resort, the room is of a large sized and both beds can be used (by pulling out the 2nd bed under the main one for up to 4 persons. The room quality is very basic to say the least; the only high light in the room was a small Flat screen TV. Beside the bath room amenities no other amenities could be found; the Mini bar running however with out any stock.

The balcony door to the terrace was not closing correctly and as of 7 am in the morning you could hear the noise of employees with radios all the time. The guest rooms for sure do not reflect any 2, 3 or 4 star hotel image, the beds are not comfortable, room service was not possible and standard amenities are not available in the rooms.

Almost all out door facilities are in VERY urgent need of maintenance, the overall property presentation presents it self in a very poor condition this includes pool, out door bar and garden areas.

Even if you keep a room rate from some 150 USD in mind, the price value is simply not in place. The location is fine; the property potential is there but in urgent need of being upgraded. We had no chance to check out there spa operation (it has apparently being newly renovated) so we can not judge in respect to it.

  • Liked — The
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetroterAmericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We had a driver pick us up from the airport at 9pm and we arrived at the resort around midnight. We were shown a very cute and clean bungalow where we promptly fell asleep.

When we woke up that morning, we were amazed by the beautiful view of the volcano! During the three nights we stayed there, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every day on the veranda and saw beautiful birds. We hiked the path up to the volcano viewpoint (from the hotel!), hung out at the swim up hotspring, and had a very relaxing time. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our time at this hotel very much.

We did not have a car so we were limited to the resort except when we were picked up for our off-site activities. If we did have a car, we would have liked to go into town to explore a bit.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends AND stay here again!

  • Liked — Beautiful views, many activities on-site, great pools
  • Disliked — Isolated from any non-resort activities
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2008

This is a great place to stay for the price. They have a large piece of land at the base of the volcano. It is beautifully landscaped with multiple pools, butterfly garden, and even a crocodile farm. Don't miss the breakfast. It is a wonderful buffett of fresh fruits, juices, cereal, meats, eggs, and made to order pancakes. The staff are very friendly and accommidating. The onsite activities are some of the best we experianced in Costa Rica. We meet people from other hotels that came to participate in the Zip Lining. The rooms are not much. But not an issue as we only slept there.

  • Liked — The landscape of the grounds.
  • Disliked — Overlly priced bar drinks
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heiric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2008

The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant had lovely outdoor seating and we enjoyed the food. The hot springs were good with lots of variety.

The room however left lots to be desired. The bed was uncomfortable and the room was not a place we wanted to linger.

The rates are fair and the grounds make up for any shortcomings in the room.

  • Liked — The lovely grounds.
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JenGwen323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing