We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“beautiful property”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

we stayed in one of the "superior" rooms, were two queen beds and was a very large size. the hotel property is on the side of a volcano and is very steep hills.
the room needed a room key to start the power and turn on the A/C
we ate the complimentary breakfast everyday and was wonderful
we ate in town ( la fortuna) twice la choza del laurel and another place w a thatched roof...all very good but cannot say enough about the pizza place outside the resort down the main road to the left...thin crust wood fire grilled and awesome sangria
the resort is 7 km from Tabacon hot springs which are a MUST see esp at night
the buffet dinner was very good there also
several hot pools, magnificently landscaped
Los Lagos had dinner at the resort but was nothing special , although the thai seafood soup was to die for and could be served as a main meal with a side of rice
the butterfly gardens and hot springs are very nice on site
we booked several tours
would NOT recommend the 1968 tour...lots of uphill and not much to see
we did the safari dingy float which i would rate as moderate, but you can see lots of monkeys
we also did the waterfall hike and the hanging bridges,....enjoyed both, but beware the waterfall hike is LOTS of steps down and then back up is a killer
there is a shuttle on property that you can call for any time and they will drive you up or down to your rooms

Room Tip: we stayed in 205, small rooms up on the hill, but shuttle will take u up or down whenever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    575
    190
    43
    35
See reviews for
574
441
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vista, ca
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to CR with our kids and Los Lagos was the perfect spot. We stayed in the villa (401-402) which I would recommend if you are a group of at least 5. Only downside is that it's far from the lobby, pools, etc., but the shuttle arrives within minutes ( usually before we were all ready to go). Very nice having hot springs on site, no need to leave and pay $$$ just to go to Tabacon. Having been I can say that. Also nice to have ziplining on site. Not as high or as fast as sky trek, but if it is your or your kids first time it's a good introduction and reasonably priced. Restaurant was pretty good, although if you are staying in the villa and ambitious you can buy groceries at the supermarket and eat a few meals in your villa to save $$ ( at least breakfast and lunch). Oh, and the watersides are great, especially the one in the "regular" pool. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vistasweethearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The best part of this hotel was the hot springs pools. There are a couple of cold pools, one large pool that is very warm with a wet bar, then a series of about 7 smaller and more private very pools, all hot or even hotter. If you are going to enjoy the Arenal hotsprings, then staying in a hotel with pools makes the most sense, because the pools are included in the lodging price and they can be enjoyed at night. We also ate in the restaurant onsite, and it had a nice variety of dinner time items. The breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of options. Of note, we were traveling with our 15 year old daughter with autism, and the restaurant staff was especially accommodating to her needs.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms near check-in and the restaurant and hot pools are probably the best becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This time around we stayed for 2 nights and as part of a group of 9 people. The kids really enjoyed the slides, warm water and the area with the wildlife. Other than the wet bar, everything is very decently priced. The girls enjoyed an amazing spa package at the spa (those ladies really know what they are doing and you receive your treatment in a room that opens into the rainforest!) and we had a fun time riding up on horses to the closest observation area for the volcano.

This time around, however, we were put into the cabins closer to the horse stables. While they are very clean and it was nice to sit out late into the night for a large group of people (lights out for the whole resort around 11.30pm), they were a little less nicer than the superior room that we had the last time and the doors had big cracks around them so all sorts of insects got in.

We were here on the weekend and there was a lot of locals, which we do not at all mind, but we did not enjoy the wetbar service as it seemed that the bartender made sure that everyone else was served before we were, regardless of who arrived first.

The breakfast buffet, which was included, was small but good and the service attentive.

Room Tip: Get the superior room if you can - it may be further away but it is bigger with nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms-behaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This place was so great!! The landscaping was incredible and the view of the Arenal volcano is UNREAL!! If you stay here you HAVE to do the zip-lining, it's a truly great experience and it's right in your front door! The breakfast was phenomenal, the staff was always friendly and helpful and exchanged money without a commission. The rooms were neat and simple, but at least had A/C! It was nice to sit out front of the room at the table and chairs and enjoy the outside and drink some beers while on vacation!
The pool is GORGEOUS and the heated pool with the water slide at night was SO much fun! You really get going fast down that water slide! I went up it like 10 times as if I was a kid again haha.
Absolutely one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort, beautiful people. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We had a huge room way up on the hill. We actually enjoyed the walk but the shuttle was always very fast when we called for it. The kids loved the pools, water slides and animals. The only thing I would have liked to see is less expensive food options at the hotel, although the food in the restaurant food was very good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chvlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I visited Los Lagos Resort with my husband and another couple. My thoughts:

The good: Beautiful landscaped grounds; nice pool w/slides and swim-up bar; great hot-springs soaking pools, ordinary breakfast buffet, clean rooms, friendly service, wildlife viewing (saw a Toucan pair from our room along with a number of other bird species), good restaurant food (see below).

The not so good: Needed a ladder to get into the bathtub for a shower, phones in room didn't work, light sockets worked but hung from the wall, poor lighting in the bathroom/dressing area, traffic drove by room all day taking tourists to the zip lines, all food overpriced, terrible bar food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We stayed in a room up a steep hill, but there was a responsive shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing