We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
“So not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We drove around a bit, checking out rooms and prices. We settled on Los Lagos. Big mistake. Bed uncomfortable. At first ac did not work, then it blasted and could not adjust. Tv only had one speaker so you could not understand a thing. One light in bathroom, missing a bulb. One small mirror in bathroom. Supposed to use phone to get shuttle, but phone broken. No wifi on grounds and very slow in lobby. Breakfast food was mediocre, however dining hall is nice. Most staff friendly except for front desk. Hot springs are fine and so was pool. Great views and lovely landscaping. Should have opted for places down the road. They seemed cheaper and nicer. Place could use some updating and some fixing up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    565
    186
    42
    34
See reviews for
550
435
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent 2 nights here during Easter Week. The grounds are really impressive and the kids loved the waterslides. The rooms are average, but clean and no complaints. Free breakfast was great, and ate dinner in the restaurant, which was also very good.

Room Tip: We got 2 standard rooms next to each other, rather than fitting all 5 of us in one superior room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointsWellTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vestal, ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms with beautiful views. We stayed in a "superior" room which was near the top of the hill. Getting down the hill to the main part of the resort was not a problem since the resort provides shuttle service. We did not go to the spa, but we thoroughly enjoyed the pools, the restaurant, and the butterfly and crocodile exhibits. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as well. The resort is conveniently located just a few minutes from La Fortuna and many activities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hill are a little remote, but very peaceful with incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlc3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days on our recent trip. I booked a superior room with a view of the volcano. Unfortunately we never did see the top, as it was cloudy while we were there. Oh well. We had a private room across from the path that wound down the hill, past thermal and regular pools, to the main pool and wet bar area. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The pool area with slides was relaxing and fun. I booked a visit to the spa upon arrival and was glad I did. What an experience. The doors to the room opened to the outdoors. It was a soothing time listening to the rain and animals while Erika worked her magic. All in all, a very enjoyable experience

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chere S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

What can I say about this hotel except it was amazing! It is set in beautiful grounds with with lots of natural wildlife and beautiful flowers to be seen. Close to the Wonderful La Fortuna Waterfall and many other sites to see.Hotel staff very friendly be prepared to do some up hill hiking to your room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in March 2014 having booked only a day or so in advance. We had previously stayed at the Nayara which probably tainted our view of Los Lagos slightly because we had such good service there.

The hotel is spread across the hillside and if you're in one of the rooms at the top/back then it's a long walk down to reception/the pool/restaurant. They offer a little shuffle service to and from the facilities which worked well but was a bit annoying to wait for.

The room was ok, big and spacious with two double beds but nothing more than this of note, quite basic otherwise. Not very bug proof either but then you are in Costa Rica!

The real saviour of the hotel is the pool area which, after a day of hiking etc. was really nice. They have their own hot springs with a swim up bar and in the evening it was lovely to relax in the heated waters with a beer/piña colada.

Value wise, it was fairly pricey for what you got but that may have been because we booked late for only a couple of days.

Overall it was an ok place to stay for a couple of days. It's probably better if you have kids because of the interesting pool set up and slides etc. (word of warning, if you're an adult beware of the main slide, I went down it once and picked up so much speed I nearly flew out the top, funny, but quite scary!)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MGR_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I'm writing particularly about the spa. I did not stay at the resort. There are several hot and cold pools to chose from. One of which has a bar with music and was very lively. There was nice dim lighting atmosphere at night. The big water slide is a must! It is the craziest water slide I've ever been on! Just don't do it head first. A friend did that and chipped his tooth.
I had a lot of fun with a big group of friends from Gap Adventures. But I wouldn't consider this a peaceful and quiet spa. At least not the night I went.
The restaurant was only a $5 add on. It's a pretty good buffet and great value.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Di-Traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing