We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gardeners dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gardeners dream”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a kid friendly resort with pools & water slides. On site is a butterfly sanctuary, croc & croc farm, fish pond, zip lining & horseback riding
The standard room is small with the bed taking up most of the room. The pull out cot is very hard & uncomfortable. On the other hand the bathroom is very spacious Upgrade to the superior room which is large & beautiful
The villas are spread out & a lot of times up the hill. There is a shortcut to the pool & restaurant but also a shuttle available at any time.
If you want quiet, walk past the pool & bar up to the top. Combo hot spring & pool with a resident iguana.
Taxis to town $8. Go to a soda for food. Tico type meal. Try soda viquez. The casado with either fish, chicken or beef is delicious and so affordable. ( sea bass, 5 sides for $5 us!!)
Bring a small flashlight for the paths at night & a face cloth or shower scrunchie.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Room 237 has a beautiful view of the volcano & close to the shortcut to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playaplayer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    567
    186
    42
    34
See reviews for
557
437
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Although the view was spectacular and the grounds were pretty, we had a huge swarm of insects which infested our room (Room 124 in case you stay there) shortly after the sun went down. This was not just a bug or two - it was a SWARM, coming through some rotten wood just over our shower stall. They may have been termites, but we couldn't tell for sure. After trying to swat them, we called the desk. They were prompt in sending a maintenance person with a can of bug spray. When she opened the bathroom door, all the bugs started flying out, getting in the bed, on the lamps, in our hair, etc. The poor lady refused to even go into the bathroom with the spray. I called the desk and demanded another room (this was at 10 PM). I was told "Ma'm you are in the jungle and there are bugs here. We don't have any other rooms. At that point I went ballistic, told them that their response was unacceptable, and that they would be reported. Next thing you know, we were moved to another room. This was a bad, bad, bad situation.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you Room 124 unless you check for bugs first/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked this hotel because it was very near the Arenal volcano (along with awesome panoramic views) and had pools fed by hot springs. It also wasn't costing a fortune. What we didn't know was that it was spread out over 15-20 acres of beautiful grounds that also included a butterfly sanctuary (they also had a couple of crocodile pens). The place was full of beautiful birds and interesting iguanas - best viewed in and around the open-aired dining area (a lovely buffet breakfast was also included). The many thermal pools were amazing - and beautifully warm. And of course the main one had a fun bar area. We discovered that people came here for the day from other hotels - and now we know why. It was a wonderful welcome to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We drove around a bit, checking out rooms and prices. We settled on Los Lagos. Big mistake. Bed uncomfortable. At first ac did not work, then it blasted and could not adjust. Tv only had one speaker so you could not understand a thing. One light in bathroom, missing a bulb. One small mirror in bathroom. Supposed to use phone to get shuttle, but phone broken. No wifi on grounds and very slow in lobby. Breakfast food was mediocre, however dining hall is nice. Most staff friendly except for front desk. Hot springs are fine and so was pool. Great views and lovely landscaping. Should have opted for places down the road. They seemed cheaper and nicer. Place could use some updating and some fixing up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent 2 nights here during Easter Week. The grounds are really impressive and the kids loved the waterslides. The rooms are average, but clean and no complaints. Free breakfast was great, and ate dinner in the restaurant, which was also very good.

Room Tip: We got 2 standard rooms next to each other, rather than fitting all 5 of us in one superior room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointsWellTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vestal, ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms with beautiful views. We stayed in a "superior" room which was near the top of the hill. Getting down the hill to the main part of the resort was not a problem since the resort provides shuttle service. We did not go to the spa, but we thoroughly enjoyed the pools, the restaurant, and the butterfly and crocodile exhibits. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as well. The resort is conveniently located just a few minutes from La Fortuna and many activities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hill are a little remote, but very peaceful with incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlc3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days on our recent trip. I booked a superior room with a view of the volcano. Unfortunately we never did see the top, as it was cloudy while we were there. Oh well. We had a private room across from the path that wound down the hill, past thermal and regular pools, to the main pool and wet bar area. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The pool area with slides was relaxing and fun. I booked a visit to the spa upon arrival and was glad I did. What an experience. The doors to the room opened to the outdoors. It was a soothing time listening to the rain and animals while Erika worked her magic. All in all, a very enjoyable experience

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chere S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing