We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my second time to Costa Rica.. First time to Los Lagos. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, the pools were sparkling, my 25 year old son loved the water slides, and the hot springs pools were warm and inviting. The rooms were spacious, clean and issue free. The staff was friendly and the hotel seemed to be in a good location for excursions. Although we did not zip line at the hotel, there was a small line for beginners and children who seemed to enjoy it. The rates were quite reasonable which included buffet breakfast which was not bad and the food that we ordered for dinner/lunch was very good. We tried a couple of nice restaurants a short cab ride away for varied dining experience. I agree with some reviews that the photos don't do it justice and I was pleasantly surprised. You could probably find small irrelevant issues if you looked for them or were overly critical but for the location. price and atmosphere, you really get a nice hotel for your dollar..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv-to-travel-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    549
    183
    42
    34
See reviews for
535
422
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay which surpassed expectations. The breakfast buffet was excellent, our villa exceptional, the hotel grounds an absolute luxury and our villa was fantastic with the most extraordinary views.

The hotel staff was at all times helpful and friendly so cannot understand what other reviews complained about!

We really enjoyed the pools, this was a big big upside and although we did visit the Tabacon I have to admit these had the advantage of being less crowed and family friendly!

We stayed at some stunning locations during our two week visit of costa Rica and this left a mark too!!

All in all a great experience which I would highly recommend if you are in the area!
All in al it was a great stay which tru

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

First let me start off by saying that the pictures on website and trip advisor don't really do this place justice. It definitely exceeded my expectations. I wouldn't say it is the nicest hotel I've stayed at but the property itself is great and for the price you can't beat it. Location was great. Just far enough outside La Fortuna to be somewhat secluded but close enough to town to be able to drive in and walk around and have dinner. There is an observation area at the top of the property that is very nice at sunset and very private for viewing the volcano. Unfortunately it was pretty cloudy when we were there so we never got to see the volcano too clear. The pools were all very nice with swim up bar and the slides were a bonus! The rooms were very spacious and clean. Very reasonably priced and we enjoyed the hotel restaurant with breakfast buffet every morning. Dinner was ok but menu is very extensive so it wasn't too hard to find something that everyone liked. There are tons of hikes and rafting/ziplining options around the area so you will definitely not be bored staying here. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My Family recently stayed in Los Lagos and we enjoyed our stay very much. The pools and slides are an amazing feature for adults and kids. Grown ups can relax in the hot springs while kids have fun. The hotel also has a other activities such as, a small butterfly garden, crocodiles and ant expo. You should hike up the the sight seeing point or take a car.
The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. The fridge looses power when you leave the room, this should be fixed.
The restaurant lunch buffet was not great we after the first day we ate out most of our meals. Included Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaquin-StayinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

no babysitting service - free WiFi only at the pool bar/lobby/restaurant - very clean - great landscaping - no ice bucket - 2 pools freezing cold - several hot springs on property - food very good at pool bar/restaurant - only 1x allowed thru free breakfast buffet - gift shop items cannot charge to room - has transport service to/from rooms - enough outlets to charge (US elec current) - accepts US$ and colones - no US$ change at front desk - pool towels not near pools - basically no smoking anywhere - walk to town too far - air conditioning (use the remote in rooms to turn on) - room has refrigerator - no washcloths in room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venconmigo120446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

There is a lot to do at Los Lagos. We like to take a private horse tour instead of with a big group. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are clean. Breakfast is good and the thermals are the best. My favorite is the swim up bar in the large thermal pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from housekeeping's laundry room. It can get a little loud in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 71PuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We didn't stay at Los Lagos, but we got to check out the grounds and eat at the restaurant as part of a tour we went on. The grounds were SO PRETTY!! It's the kind of place you go to stay and don't even have to leave the hotel to find amazing things. They have a butterfly house, crocodiles, and of course - the geothermal pools!

The locker/towel system is a little silly - you have to pay them a $10 deposit for a towel, and they give you back all but $1 when you return it... but we only got 15$ from our 2 towels.... I just say "eh, keep it as tip" rather than bother question it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing