We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheesy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheesy”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The place is certainly clean and I will admit my kids LOVED the water slides, the pools, and the crocodiles. But from a seasoned adult traveler's point of view, the rooms were very out of date - the place seems like it hasn't been renovated since 1980 ... the food is sub-par ... and sorry to say it, but I could have stayed in the Poconos if I wanted a kiddie hotel with water slides. Nothing special about the place at all. The walls are paper-thin; I had to listen to the guy next door snoring ALL NIGHT! Also the front desk staff was so unfriendly it bordered on hostile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sommgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    570
    186
    42
    35
See reviews for
561
439
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
709 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel, due to what I would call it's -plasticity- there are some nice features and the rooms are fine but overall I found this a rather oppressive place due to it resembling a holiday camp- it would apeal to many families as it is that sort of place but for us ,after staying at the eco lodges, this was somewhat of a culture shock to say the least...We arrived in the afternoon and travelling up La Fortuna you could see straIght away at how touristey the area was...it reminded me of going up towards the mountains at Zakopane with all the restaurants along the way. The hotels became larger as we drove on and there were many with mock volcanoe frontages which really seemed quite out of place for how beautifully natural a country Costa Rica is..
Indeed there is a mock smoking volcanoe in the grounds of this hotel, water slide, hot spring pools and swim up bar but it is all very noisey and the music is too loud- very commercial feel to this place.There were an assortment of strange concrete objects dotted about the place- pools without water and bridges that were made to look as if they were wooden but were of some sort of plastic material- rather odd and this did detract from any nature around.
I found the enclosure wth the poor crocs and reptiles rather like a zoo - they need more space and company than being captive in this enclosure...I felt sorry for all the animals there.There is an aquarium housing several large fish like groupers which obviously need to be in larger surrounds.The butterfly garden was good- be wary of getting bitten on the ankles within by the ants etc.The carp seemed to be ok in the pool with a waterfall but who knows ?
The reception staff were not as polite as we'd met at all the other hotels, their English was oK so that wasn't the excuse, indeed I had to remark at one of the girls who seemed quite surly- she perked up after I'd commented- maybe bad time of the month ? The dining staff serving breakfast were friendly enough and the meals were buffet for evenings and we had really fantastic waiter served lunchtime meals which we thoroughly enjoyed- fresh,flavoursome and totally delicious.
Rooms are fine with large bath areas, good wardrobe space and the usual large single beds and comfy pillows, we had tv but didn't use it and coffee maker and there was enough space to spread out but could do with more drawer space. The rooms reminded me of a motel- we were upstairs in a block with just the two floors, there was the plastic type bench seating outside made to resemble wood- why not real wood ?
We had a fine view of the volcanoe looking up from our terrace- Arenal mountain looms ahead and is quite spectacular. We were told that it is always shrouded in mist which it was when we arrived- but how lucky are we...the cloud blew away the following day so that we could see the two smoking peaks from the terrace- took LOADS of foties. Thank you Mother Nature.
We spent more time out of the hotel than in- eg the hot and cold springs, mud place, the waterfall, walking about and one evening meal at the springs which was extremely filling and authentic cookery.
There is nothing essentially wrong with this hotel and for many people it would be the icing on the cake as it caters for kids but for us it was a place to stay along our tour of this magnificent country but this is not a hotel we would readily return to simply because it was not our style- and that is why I have rated it as average

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is THE party spot in La Fortuna!!! Water slides, zip lines butterfly garden, swim-up bar, shuttles to and from your rooms, and of course the main attraction volcano Arenal!!!! This place is a fun park with everything you need for a short stay or the entire trip. Food, fun, drinks and a wonderful landscape. My stay was so wonderful. From the great rooms to the full day of fun.

Room Tip: These rooms are really cheap, so splurge for a bigger room. Try and stay up on the hill. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingnut1751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my second time to Costa Rica.. First time to Los Lagos. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, the pools were sparkling, my 25 year old son loved the water slides, and the hot springs pools were warm and inviting. The rooms were spacious, clean and issue free. The staff was friendly and the hotel seemed to be in a good location for excursions. Although we did not zip line at the hotel, there was a small line for beginners and children who seemed to enjoy it. The rates were quite reasonable which included buffet breakfast which was not bad and the food that we ordered for dinner/lunch was very good. We tried a couple of nice restaurants a short cab ride away for varied dining experience. I agree with some reviews that the photos don't do it justice and I was pleasantly surprised. You could probably find small irrelevant issues if you looked for them or were overly critical but for the location. price and atmosphere, you really get a nice hotel for your dollar..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv-to-travel-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay which surpassed expectations. The breakfast buffet was excellent, our villa exceptional, the hotel grounds an absolute luxury and our villa was fantastic with the most extraordinary views.

The hotel staff was at all times helpful and friendly so cannot understand what other reviews complained about!

We really enjoyed the pools, this was a big big upside and although we did visit the Tabacon I have to admit these had the advantage of being less crowed and family friendly!

We stayed at some stunning locations during our two week visit of costa Rica and this left a mark too!!

All in all a great experience which I would highly recommend if you are in the area!
All in al it was a great stay which tru

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First let me start off by saying that the pictures on website and trip advisor don't really do this place justice. It definitely exceeded my expectations. I wouldn't say it is the nicest hotel I've stayed at but the property itself is great and for the price you can't beat it. Location was great. Just far enough outside La Fortuna to be somewhat secluded but close enough to town to be able to drive in and walk around and have dinner. There is an observation area at the top of the property that is very nice at sunset and very private for viewing the volcano. Unfortunately it was pretty cloudy when we were there so we never got to see the volcano too clear. The pools were all very nice with swim up bar and the slides were a bonus! The rooms were very spacious and clean. Very reasonably priced and we enjoyed the hotel restaurant with breakfast buffet every morning. Dinner was ok but menu is very extensive so it wasn't too hard to find something that everyone liked. There are tons of hikes and rafting/ziplining options around the area so you will definitely not be bored staying here. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My Family recently stayed in Los Lagos and we enjoyed our stay very much. The pools and slides are an amazing feature for adults and kids. Grown ups can relax in the hot springs while kids have fun. The hotel also has a other activities such as, a small butterfly garden, crocodiles and ant expo. You should hike up the the sight seeing point or take a car.
The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. The fridge looses power when you leave the room, this should be fixed.
The restaurant lunch buffet was not great we after the first day we ate out most of our meals. Included Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaquin-StayinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing