We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had the fortune of staying here for three nights in March, and I'm VERY happy with my experience! I found the hotel to be ideally situated for exploring the La Fortuna/Arenal area. The hotel/resort has PLENTY of things to do and see right there on its own property; however, I took advantage of several tours around the area. The one drawback for me was the absence of WiFi in my room. Although WiFi was readily accessible in public areas, it was a bit frustrating not having the convenience of access in my room. Otherwise, I really had no other complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    579
    190
    43
    35
See reviews for
579
443
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had an amazing time here! Very private groundlevel accomodation with back patio with beautiful downhill view and front looking out on Arenal vulcano, newer clean bathroom and good beds. We loved the pool, slide and hotsprings, wonderful breakfasts and friendly staff. Property has beautifully maintained gardens, bird life and (captive) crocodiles. Driving distance from great restaurants in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location is about the only nice thing about this place. This was my third time visiting the area and usually I stay at Baldi. I figured with a larger group I would give Los Lagos a go. The resort from the street looks amazing, but do not be too fooled.

I found that the service really was terrible. The hotel is super strict on checking in and out, yet if your room is not ready, such as ours, you have to wait longer to check in. A 3pm check in here is late and being asked to wait longer really is a burden. I figure if Check out is at 12:00, then 3 hours should be more than ample time to get a room ready.

Staff on the grounds are not that polite, with the exception of the bartenders. Other staff are not that accommodating. The activities are ok, we did the horse back riding and I had expected for the price that a 2 hour ride was a 2 hour ride, not an hour and fifteen minutes. Definitely do not get what you pay for in this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

On or trip to Costa Rica we stayed at this hotel and it was an amazing experience for the whole family. The hot springs are just great and the pool area is great for the kids with a water slide. The grounds are really nice to walk around. We got the superior room and it was really nice and comfortable but we we hardly in it because we sent all the time on adventures.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticomex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our first stop in Costa Rica and we loved it! The grounds are beautiful, the pools were great, slides were a lot of fun--but some too fast for us! Our room was way up the hill and took the van back and forth. It came pretty quickly after we called. Rooms are basic, but you don't come here for the rooms. We did have wifi in our room which was a plus. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Ate in the restaurant quite a few times and service and food was good; prices not too bad. Free breakfast was good too. Did the horseback riding on site which was lots of fun, as well as the ziplining. Beware you have to brake yourself--the first run my daughter sort of crashed into the tree and was in tears. One of the guides very nicely went down the rest of the runs with her and saved the day--Thanks so much!!! Crocs, butterflies, etc were nice extras. Only negative--beds a little hard. All in all a great trip and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annmarie1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel grounds are well-manicured and the hot springs pools were the most outstanding features to me. They used concrete to landscape waterways, etc. instead of natural materials so it gives you the impression of a theme park versus a natural area. The price far exceeded the quality. There is no wireless internet service, or coffee in the rooms (or even in the lobby area) which is ridiculous for an area where it is grown. The staff acted like they couldn't care less whether you stayed or went. It was the worst service of any hotel I stayed at so far during my 12 days in Costa Rica. One bathroom light fixture (housing 3 lights did not work). The electricity went off during the night. The "nature" area and "trails" are pitiful. I saw three butterflies and two old crocodiles. The sun rises relatively early (between 5 and 6 am) and we were up by 6. We attempted to get coffee and the staff said the restaurant opened for the free breakfast at 7. We went to the lobby in search of coffee and none was there either. We asked the desk clerk and she gave us the 7 o'clock story. We asked if she had coffee that morning and she said she did. We asked where she got it and she said the restaurant. We went back to the restaurant and told the hostess and she went and asked the manager. They said it wasn't made even though the staff was drinking coffee. We left and went down the road and bought cups of coffee. We came back to the free breakfast. When they ran out of eggs I told them they were out. I went back 10 minutes later and they were still out. I told them again. Later, I went to get coffee there and they were out. The restaurant is horribly managed. We left that day and went to another area hotel. When checking out, the desk clerk asked how our stay was and when we described it, she did not seem very interested..

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else as there are better choices elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky1inVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family of four loved this hotel. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat if ever back in La Fortuna. The grounds are lovely with many cool things like the crocodiles, butterfly, and frog exhibits. There is also a swinging bridge and ziplines. The best part was the the pools and waterslides. My kids loved these and used them extensively. One pool is cool water and the other is warm, fed by the hot springs. There is a swim up bar that seperates the two.
The staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant was good and not overly expensive. The breakfast was awesome. The rooms were basic, but comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing