We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$200
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$113
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$499
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$338
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$182
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$554
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,594)
Filter reviews
1,594 results
Traveller rating
656
640
204
53
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
640
204
53
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesant farmobservation pointbutterfly gardenswim up barhot springssuperior roomarenal volcanowet barcosta ricahot poolszip lininghorseback ridingshuttle servicespring poolscanopy tourbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,594 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For $153 I expected a lot better. Staff was always put off by any questions such as what's the wifi password? Wifi didn't work anyway and no explanation was given when asked why. Free breakfast is from 630-930 they say but arrived at 9:05 and already clearing everything and had to beg for a glass to put my orange juice in. Service and food the night before at Resturant was good. I enjoyed my stay elsewhere the rest of the trip for a lot less money and much better service. Repeat business I'm guessing isn't priority here. Was very scenic but keep your money and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Double V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a resort, not a hotel. Overall a nice stay but would not return.
Pros:
Beautifully kept grounds and HUGE property. The many pools including hot pools (they are not real hot spring pools) were nice. Great views of the volcano. Proximity to activities (zip lining and hanging bridges were incredible) was good. Loved the huge bathroom and our room was pretty spacious with a mini fridge. The shuttle service will come pick you up to take you anywhere. They are VERY quick and the shuttle staff is always friendly and helpful
Cons:
Food at the restaurant is disgusting and grossly overpriced. Taking an $8 cab ride into La Fortua and getting an authentic local meal for cheap is your best bet. There were all kinds of bugs in our room, even a big spider in my bed when I first opened up the covers. Oh and speaking of the bed, it was VERY hard and uncomfortable. I was REALLY upset that the staff refuses to give you more towels. One per person- ARE YOU KIDDING ME???? I really hated having to wear this stupid paper wristband. The wif DOES NOT WORK. You cannot walk the grounds as they are so large and very dark at night, so you need a ride everywhere. The many activities the hotel offers are unreasonably expensive.

Room Tip: LOTS and LOTS of bug spray, oh and bring your own towels to bathe.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel was a blast to stay at! My Family stayed in room 223 and 224 there were 7 of us. We had a lot of fun at the hotels hot spring pool, water slides and swim up bar. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were very well kept. The rooms were in great condition. The reason for the 4 stars is due to the overly high cost for everything. I can't really blame the hotel only for this though, it is Costa Rica in general. The smiling faces and great attitude from the young ladies at the front desk made the extra cost worth it though. Remember the Hotel rooms around the volcano are going to be up hill one way or the other. It is a mountain after all. Having said that, the shuttles were fast to pick us up every time! Believe me they knew us and what rooms we were in well.

Room Tip: rooms on top of the hillside are nicer but remote. Rooms down by the pool and reception are not as nice (smaller) but close to the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timogin43 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We did the zipline tour here and it was very nice. The instructors (especially Antonio) were fantastic! Our 8 year old was a master after a couple of lines. These guys were great.

Once we finished the zipline we were allowed to use the rest of the resort. We saw the crocodiles and butterflies and spent a great afternoon in the hot springs. The swim up restaurant was very good for "bar" type food and much better priced any Baldi, which we were at a few days prior. The staff was very VERY friendly and helpful.

They have a few slides which give it a bit of a waterpark feel but otherwise it's a very relaxing and great way to spend the day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtracycletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Los Lagos Hotel has a great location right near Arenal Volcano with great views. The grounds are beautiful. The hot springs were great and the kids loved the water slides. They also have a butterfly and crocodile exhibit that the kids loved. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights and both times it was excellent.

Now for the bad. The hotel is very spread out and the rooms are up a huge hill. You either have to walk up and down or wait for the hotel shuttle. The hotel needs some serious maintenance. We had 4 rooms. Two of them needed the TV's replaced because they weren't working. One had a leak in the ceiling right over one of the beds. There were other small issues like lights not working or cabinet doors not closing properly. Also, though we'd had excellent dinners in the restaurant, we found the breakfast buffet to be very mediocre.

All in all, I would say there are better hotels to stay in, in Arenal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews