We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Resort for your money in La Fortuna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton,FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Resort for your money in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Great hotel! The service from the lobby was adequate. The rooms are huge and were well maintained. We had to porches one in the front and one in the back. We paid a little extra- about $10 to get the upgraded room. Landscape amazing. Food was ok- I would suggest going into town to eat. We had great dinners at the local restaurants for $20 for two instead of $60 at the hotel. The hot springs are nice and next we will stay there and never go to Baldi again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissy1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    549
    183
    42
    34
See reviews for
535
422
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

This hotel is very close to the volcano and you can see the steam coming out on a clear day. The rooms are ok but very roomy with safe and fridge. It is a short hike from the pool to the rooms that includes a hanging bridge. The pool is what really make this place a fun stay. My older teenagers loved the slides and I liked the hot spring pool with swim up bar. We did book a rafting trip through the hotel which was great. Very close drive to town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippy200922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Yes there are huge 10ft+ crocodiles in chainlink fencing. They have a stable of 30+ horses available for riding/excursions. The Volcano is like right on your head. There are well maintained hot springs, nice and hot (100+), cool pools 80's, and bath water good for toddlers mid 90s. The waterslides aren't quite like Baldi, but definitely exciting and painful upon landing. For $70 with breakfast and crib and Air Con for family of 3. Sounds tough to beat... After our 1 night at Tabacon, we didn't bother checking around for other rooms, Los Lagos was recommended to us by the owner of Villas Kalimba in Samara so we went there and were not disappointed.
Also the longest canopy ride is on their property. It's really a freakishly cool place. Read what others say about the staff.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DomingoHolsapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

If you stay here don't trust their reservation process. I scanned in their reservation form and emailed my credit card info. They said I had a reservation but when we arrived we did not. They had tons of rooms available but the girl at the check in felt compelled to argue about the reservation until I pulled out my laptop and showed her the email. I had asked for a nice room as it was our 24th anniversary...they did nothing to accomodate the request or to acknowledge the celebration. ( Other hotels in Costa Rica leave flowers in the room or wine or celebrate at dinner ...We have been to this hotel for the passed 2 years and have been traveling to Costa Rica every year for the past 11 years....) She still refused to apoligize or accept any responsibility for the lack of reservation. She gave us a room next to a room that had a broken window and glass all over the patio...it was creepy! The restaurant and staff were superb! Very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable except for the mattress...which was pretty dreadful....thin and no support....This location is great...the pool area is wonderful - great competition for Tabacon Resort which has totally lost their minds on pricing.
Other than the broke window and the surly check in agent ....the place rocks!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

Stayed for 3 nights as part of our road tripping adventure all over the non-carribean side of Costa Rica

Good:
HUGE property- includes own "rainforest", view of the volcano (non-lava side), different flowers, butterfly garden, koi fish pond, alligator pond, lake gazebos
Breakfast buffet included (eggs made to order, lots of fresh fruit)
Rooms are spacious and kept clean
Huge hot springs pool with swim up bar and water slide
Several smaller private hot springs pools for couples time
Two other cool freshwater pools with a fast slide
Property has own canopy tour (didn't try it)
They also have their own horseback riding (didn't try it)
Hotel Spa (didn't try it)
Easy check-in/out
High-speed internet in hotel lobby area

Bad:
Not much, but if i was nit-picky it would be that some rooms are way high up the hill and would require a lot of walking if you wanted to get to the breakfast area.
You will need a 4X4 if you want to drive up to "rainforest" hiking area unless you also want to climb (or use their horseback riding)
Not many younger people (20's) hanging out in the swim up bar area (then again we stayed during low season)
Drink prices in the swim up bar were pretty high even for USD!

Overall: This was my and my friend's favorite resort that we stayed at during our entire stay at Costa Rica. The pools, rainforest, and breakfast buffet are the winning amenities

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ches_p22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed here as part of an Arenal/Monteverde overnight 2 day tour from Papagayo area the week of April 18th.
The hotel service was friendly and prompt.
The rooms were nice, nice marble top bathroom, and plasma TV - beds were 2 queen sized ones and were great to sleep on.
That about covers what I would expect from an overnight rest stop and in this respect it did not dissapoint.

Now for the amazing parts that were completely unexpected and of great value.
This place has it's own zip line, horse stables, Volcano observation area, ant farm, aquarium, a few large fish stocked ponds, crocodiles, butterfly building, tropical gardens.
They also have hot spring pools - several of them in a row - slides, and pools plus a swim up bar and more, oh a spa too (though we did not use it)
The restaurant had excellent quality food for both dinner and breakfast.
The only downer was the steep hill to the restaurant, the internal shuttle is new/clean and fairly prompt, but inconvenient - wee walked up at night and got to see fireflies everywhere it was cool.

This hotel was better than our all inclusive for the week in almost every respect - a fantastic surprise.

Now the view - OMG it was a crystal clear morining, after a dissapointing cloudy night and no lava view :( - the views in the morning were simply the best ever - picturesque - so close to the volcano, and so lush with plant life.

I would not hesitate to stay here for a few days if I return to Costa Rica, the location is also decent to get around the general area and there is enough stuff just onsite to take up a full day to two of activity - the area nearby also has pleanty to see.

I have added a few pics. Enjoy them.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TantheManBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

Stayed here with family of kids 8, 6, and 2. Superior room spacious but quite a trek up the hill from the lobby/pool/breakfast. Often did the walk down but most of the time called the hotel shuttle for going back up to the room so could be a 5-10 minute wait ( just inconvenient). The oldest loved the waterslides and all 3 kids liked the animals on the grounds. Breakfast was decent and changed a little each day (we stayed 3 nights). Prior to going was planning to do the canopy tour there but it seemed a little to tame with the lines not too far up and going in view of the pool and rooms. We did do Ecoglide very near there which was excellent. There seemed to be a problem with the shower being watertight and we flooded the bathroom floor the first night. Had to call a couple times for more towels (only given 2 for the 5 of us) but overall service was ok. Booked the tour of the Volcano Natl Park through the hotel which we enjoyed. Overall, we enjoyed it although without kids would have probably chosen a different place and just be prepared for the walk depending on your room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing