We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This resort is amazing. The setting is beautiful with the best view of Arenal that one can find. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. No complaints at all with the room. The included breakfast was terrific.

Grounds are amazingly beautiful. The water is dreamy and the slides are fun. Our entire party -- from age 3 to 37 had a terrific time and our stay went by way too fast.
I would not hesitate to return.

Two areas for improvement are the lack of internet in the room and just the knowledge that many of the rooms are a LONG way from the dining area and the swimming area. There is a free van transfer but wait times seem long. This is a small price to pay for the benefits. The natural hot springs, slides, swimming and environment are simply unmatched in the world, seriously.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlotto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

***We really enjoyed the area of Arenal (we wished we had booked more than 3 nights) and felt Los Lagos was the perfect fit for us... the quality of the hotel/resort for the value*** After reading tons of reviews here on Tipadvisor my husband and I decided to email Los Lagos and see if they could offer any specials (we went during the off season in September and learned that most hotels will offer you specials if you just ask- but keep in mind this process of communicating will take much longer than it does in say the USA... think of it as "relaxed Costa Rica time"). We stayed in a "Standard double" for an amazing $90/night special rate (breakfast and taxes included- for 3 nights min, we liked the newly redone rooms we were put in as well) and it was perfect for us!! Since it was our wedding anniversary we wanted to stay in a nice resort-like hotel, but weren't willing to fork out big $$$$ for the well-known Tabacon and other 5star resorts, 3-4stars was perfect considering the best part of Arenal was all the adventures/excursions we booked (which the hotel did a great job of setting up for us)! The one thing which makes Los Lagos that much better than other 3-4 star resorts is that Los Lagos has its own natural hot springs/pools :) we checked out others such as Tabacon and you would pay $75 per person to just go for one night! But since we were staying at Los Lagos we could enjoy our own hot springs every night for no additional charge :) and we did! The only thing we found strange about costa rica rooms was the lack of an alarm clock, bring your own cuz there isnt any in the rooms (u can get a wake up call though)... probably because that would go against the relaxing feel of the country. We had read some negative comments about the staff before we went, but honestly they were totally fine! Just dont set your expectations super-high as you might desire at a 5-star resort! All of the staff was professional and helpful.
Regarding activities... in the area we loved every one we went on, and after pricing out other competitors we realized the pricing offered at the hotel was just as good and more convenient. Here are some examples of what the hotel arranged for us I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU TRY THESE :) :
--Pure Trek Canyoning (rappel down waterfalls) http://puretrekcostarica.com/canyoning.html (cant recall the price but prob around $70-90 pp w/ lunch & transport) This was sooooooooo fun!!
--Wave White Water Rafting (El Toro river) http://www.waveexpeditions.com/products/1-toro-river (I've never done it before, but definitely recommend this one)
--Zip Lines.... yes los lagos has some, but they are nothin compared to the Sky Trek ones which are huuuuuuuuuuuuge and awesome! http://www.skyadventures.travel/Arenal_En/Sky_Trek.html (the last zipline tour departed at 3pm each day and was $60 per person) We drove over to do the zip lines towards the end of the day and then since we were so near to the Observatory lodge we went there for early dinner and watched the lava fall for hours on the active side... very cool, you should not miss this, but try to time it with the weather/visibility!
*Note, although the observatory lodge has a great view of the active side of the volcano, i felt much better on the other side while sleeping :) at Los Lagos... but definitely make the trip one of the days to hear and see the active side!
--La Fortuna waterfall... if you are looking for a quick little adventure, drive yourself there and enjoy a dip! I dont think its worth $40pp as a tour though, glad we had our rental car.
Lastly, regarding cars in costa rica, we rented a car from San Jose (cant recall the company but it was well known) and it was a fun adventure in itself to drive around costa rica... GPS was critical :) as there is no such thing as addresses as we know it in the USA, but as long as you are headed to a well known destination your gps will find it... otherwise the people are very nice and helpful if you get a little lost along the way! HAVE A BLAST!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3to4starTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Me,my family and some friends stayed at Los Lagos back in May, the property is very nice and as a matter of fact throughout the yearsI have stayed here maybe 3 or 4 times but my surprise was this last trip when they were billing me for my room. So let me try to explain,their rates are given in dollars so you would expect to be charged in dollars for your stay if you were to pay with a credit card, because in Costa Rica credit card machines have the ability to charge you in dollars, but what they do is give you the total in dollars and use a phony exchange rate so that they can charge you more when they make the conversion to colones. When I was at the hotel the exchage rate at the Central Bank had an exc hange rate of 511.00 colones (buy) for $1.00 and 521.00 (sell) for $1.00; at Hotel Los Lagos $545.00 as you can see their convertion rate is extremly high, so to avoid being taken advantage your only option is to pay in cash (dollars).

P.S. In Costa Rica the Central Bank determines the rates that all Costarican financial intitutions can use to exchange currencies.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank coperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

From the gateway into the resort we were impressed with our selection.
We are greeted by a beautiful waterfall followed by amazing gardens!
There is a security gate that is guarded 24 hours a day and the guests are
given bracelets to ensure our security.

We stayed in a cabin that was close to everything: pool, restaurant, souvenir shop,
flower gardens...perfect locations.
There are cabins that are further away and are perfect if you are super active, or
have a vehicle for traveling.
The volcano lookout is with in DRIVING distance....you are up for a hike if you want to
walk to the look out....beautiful once you arrive!

Our room was clean and they kept up with towels and making our beds...it was like they were hiding in the closet :)

Dinners were great, but if you had a vehicle it was worth it to drive into town and find a small local business to eat at and shop at for souvenirs.
Always have an umbrella or poncho on hand, the volcano heat causes daily rain showers!!

Beautiful and would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKleop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We loved this hotel so much we stayed here during both of our trips to Costa Rica. This hotel has everything you could want...a pool with natural hot springs, water slides, and a swim-up pool bar; several smaller hot and cool pools; gorgeous gardens; horseback riding; canopy tours; butterfly, crocodile, and tree frog areas; lovely spa facilities; and a great breakfast buffet each morning.

The superior rooms are spacious and have both a front and rear balcony with a view. The property is spacious and the grounds are well-kept with lots of beautiful flowers everywhere. Located just outside of LaFortuna, the location is great. It's a quick taxi ride into town or to area attractions. (And if you need tour or airport transportation, I'd HIGHLY recommend Willy Flores: {--}. He's an excellent driver, reliable, very accommodating, and a LaFortuna local.)

Thinking of going to one of those hot springs resorts? Save your money and just stay at Los Lagos!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridajosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I LOVE this place. This was actually my 2nd time staying at Los Lagos having stayed there when we came in 2008. We decided that we would not mess with perfection. The grounds are simply amazing. In 2008 when we arrived, it was already dark so did not see the beauty of the grounds until the next morning. All I can say is WOW. We stayed in the superior rooms facing the volcano both trips. To me, the little extra money for the larger room and view was worth it. The breakfast buffet has good food and good variety. I don't eat meat and there was plenty of stuff for me. Both the pools and hot springs are great. We contemplated checking out Tabacon or Eco Termales hot springs, but with what we had at Los Lagos, decided we didn't need to. They also have a canopy tour right on the property. We did this both in 2008 and 2010. I'm afraid of heights, but this one was totally doable for me. I'll upload some pics, but honestly, no pictures could ever do this place justice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettyspeeches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We had a great time in Los Lagos hotel...The staff was friendly all the time. The rooms were clean and BIG, BIG with a nice view to the volcan Arenal.The hotel is easy to find, it's about 10 minutes from San Carlos down town, easy acces from the rd.
The facilities are gorgeous, great landscaping ,clean and nice pools, a butterflyfarm and also an area where you can find alligators...My son (5 years old) was exited!!!
The best part is the location and the rooms... The least... the rooms are far away from the main office.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.6 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,654 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,406 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £65 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing