We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2007

The hotel grounds are everything you'd expect in Costa Rica, with beautiful gardens, crocodile and butterfly farms. It also has a direct view of Arenal. The thermal pool is God-sent after a long day of hiking equipped with a slide for the kids - and adults. It's got all the amenities with very affordable massage services which I admit even I indulged in. The restaurant on-site was a bit expensive for CR standards and the resort was about 2km outside of La Fortuna but taxis are easy to get. The rooms are 2 to a building and they are dotted throughout the grounds but for more privacy, you get ones up the hill, which is a small hike in its own right, just to get back to your room.

The main reason we gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because we asked the front desk regarding transportation to Arenal and back. They assured us it's not a problem. After a wonderful jaunt at Arenal, we headed back to the main gate of the park to be told that there was no direct transportation back. They didn't even have a phone to call for taxis. Our choices were the bus, whose stop was several kms down the road and comes every hour or walk all the way home - which was about 12 kms I believe. After getting back, we told the front desk about our experience, he sort of shrugged and said "oh well".

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
There are newer reviews for Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2007

First, if you are looking to stay at a hotel near Arenal Volcano with night views of lava flow, call around. The lava direction changes periodically, and the lava was not visible at night from Los Lagos when we stayed. For that, you just have to have luck with nature.

We had a standard room, which was just that. We had a colony of ants living in the soapdish in our shower. The bathroom was pretty small. There were a few cracks in the door/windows, which may have let in bugs or hot air. The AC worked great (which is quite important). The housekeeping staff gave excellent service as well, with beautiful "towel origami" everyday.

We stayed at Los Lagos with some other friends, and we noted that not all standard rooms were the same. One couple had a huge bathroom, but a 15 minute walk from the front desk. The rooms/bungalows are very spread out and you may end up walking very far to your room.

The property was amazing. There was a beautiful view of the volcano from almost any angle. The crocodile farm was very good. The butterfly house was mediocre at best. The frog house was not available when we went, and it was explained as a mishap of escaped frogs or something to that effect. There was a great display of leaf cutter ants as well.

The pools were wonderful. The warm pool was like swimming in the perfect bathtub water. It also had a small waterslide.

The cooler pools were also very nice. There was a large waterslide which is really for the brave. Our party noted that, especially if you are not petite in size, you pick up speed at a frightening pace. Fun, but beware.

The bar and food were also pretty good. I'd definitely recommend going somewhere in town for meals though.

The buffet breakfast (free) was great. Good variety in foods, and an omelet station.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank T-Ruyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We stayed at Los Lagos in 2001, and returned because it was such a beautiful resort and the people were so friendly. A lot has changed over the years. It has doubled to tripled in size. The rooms were nice and the ammenities were great. However, the front desk staff all had terrible attitudes and were not friendly and helpful. The ambience and feeling of the resort has definitely changed, but not for the better. The rooms were nice. The views were great. The food was edible, but very overpriced. It's a great resort for larger groups. They definitely have the more corporate feel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank singpraises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in early July and had an awesome time. The tour coordinator set us up with on site zip lines which we had a great time on and which were much better than the zip lines we did near Jaco. As everyone else said, there are two pools and one is heated from the hot springs of the volcano. We got a deluxe room which had views of the volcano from one side and views of the valley below from the other. Although you can not see the lava because it was flowing on the other side of the volcano, you could see where it was flowing at one time by the depletion of vegetation. I will post those pics. The town of La Fortuna is 5 minutes away via taxi. The room that we stayed in was quite large. It was a trek down to the pools but they had a shuttle that helped us out with that. The breakfast every morning was very good. I would come back to Los Lagos without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pmulliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2007

We actually didn't expect much from Los Lagos, but their recent re-vamp must have done wonders - or maybe other reviewers are not quite realistic of the price level involved here.

We loved it! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pools - though they would have preferred the normal pools heated better, and the hot spring a bit cooler (the latter more difficult to arrange...). Beware of the totally fun, but rather dangerous slides - not for frail adults!

The gardens were full of lovely plants and animals to explore - and people wizzing above you; our daughter loved it.

The breakfast buffet was brilliant, with fresh pancakes and omeletes made to order. Lunch and dinner were fine as well, and all served on the terrace overlooking the gardens, with a good view of the hummingbirds enjoying the fruits and feeders put out for them.

Avoid rooms 101 and 102, between entrance and car park, and I would recommed either Superior rooms by the side of the pool area (easy access, ok volcano view), or Superior Deluxe rooms right at the top - quite a treck back and forth, both totally isolated and beutiful views of the volcano, halfway up to the observation point. Take the transport up and down, or walk, feel virtuous and watch the sloth in the trees on the way! Only differnce in the room is that Deluxes have coffee makers!

Do go and see the Fortuna waterfall - just take a taxi there, it's very cheap, and there's no need for a tour guide. It's a strenuous, but easy walk down, and easily the most impressive waterfall I've seen - it thunders so hard, you can feel the vibration! Stop the taxi on the way for a refreshing drink of cold, young coconut from the little stall, run by some local children - the driver will happily wait.

We went on the Cano Negro nature watching trip, organised online from home, but could also be done via reception, and it was extremely good and well organised. It's on the border to Nigaragua, and one of the few things not possible to do on your own. We saw loads of fearsome iguanas (vegetarians!), monkeys, bats and of course masses of birds incl some very rare species.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billeharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

Flew to Arenal with Nature Air from Quepos. Plane held 19.A very stoney runway was landed on.Stayed in Los Lagos Hotel which was a combination of small houses around the Arenal volcano.Adequate with a good view of the volcano which was covered with cloud that disappeared a little to allow us a quick view of the summit. Ther was a few shops in the complex and a large restaurant area for food.Veery good buffet breakfast accompanied with the feeding of humming birds around the edge of the canopy.Good pools and warm pool bar. Pleasant to walk around the garden and watsh fish and crocodiles. Went ATVing up to the waterfall.( excellent guide) Venado caves, about 45 kilometres away, were investigated. This guide was something else and we were well looked after. Be prepared to get down, wet and muddy. A shower is needed after. This was well worth a visit. Thermal pools, heateed by the volcano. at Balnearnio Tabacon with dinner at night is a must. Taxis were cheap to La Fortuna where we had a meal at Rancho La Cascado recommended by Rough Guide. It was here at a Travel place recommended by Rough Guide that we organised our tours- turn left from the taxi stand and continue down the street. The girl was having something to eat but nothing was any bother.
Tripadvisor Member Lurgan N. ireland

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Spent the night in Arenal and ended up at Los Lagos per a friend’s suggestion. Pulling into the property I had a feeling this was gonna cost me and arm & leg. Inquired about room rates & availability and was surprised the best room, superior room, was only $119 a night for two people including tax & breakfast. Was given the key to the room and map to get there, wow this property is big.

The superior was very large and modern, and great views on both sides including the volcano.

The property included a hot pool, aka hot spring, open to 10 pm. Not on the same level as the Tabacon or Baldi Springs, but it was free and did the trick after a long drive.

The free breakfast, buffet style, was adequate and enough to start the day.

Can’t wait to come back, next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RSalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £61 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing