We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bungalow cabin rooms had views of Arenal Volcano and forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
All across the U.S.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bungalow cabin rooms had views of Arenal Volcano and forest”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a stylish and comfortable lodge with magnificent views of the active Arenal Volcano from cabin rooms. Rustic wood style. Our cabin-like room with 2 porches (one in front and one in back) with neat rocking chairs had a view of the volcano and a forest in the back that you could hear howler monkeys and see magnificent birds flying through the trees. The dining area was nice but it began to rain when we were seated near an open window and had to be moved. Nice pool area. We hiked the Arenal Volcano area and did some zip lining. Fun, fun, fun! This was our favorite hotel during our stay in Costa Rica. Hotel has beautiful gardens and hot springs. We took a cab to La Fortuna and enjoyed dining with the locals. La Fortuna was the town that was saved from the last volcanic eruption. (The fortunate ones!) As my profile states, we like to blend in the the locals and dine where they do. Worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin as high up the hill as possible. Outstanding views the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    464
    270
    91
    75
See reviews for
287
486
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
522 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Good view of the cone shaped Arenal volcano and the rain forest. Good base for visiting La Fortuna and the Arenal areas. Nice hot springs with at least 10 thermal pools which are maintained and cleansed often.

After a long day may indulge in spa then eat at their nice restaurant with excellent cut of beef grilled perfectly to your liking. Good selection of wines.

We were lucky to see two toed sloths close up in the premises. Nice flowering plants all over the hotel property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Our room was a complete dump. Our toilet would flush when the adjoining room's toilet flushed. There were ants all over the room and the furniture was so destroyed, the drawers wouldn't even shut. I wouldn't give this furniture to a student going off to college. The bed and bedding was cheap. Even though the hot springs at the hotel are nice, it's not worth it for the room you have to stay in.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckySMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We only stopped here to do the ziplining which was great! Long lines and beautiful views. The guides were also very serious about safety.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JellyBellyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We enjoyed our little "cabana" it's basic but had everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable, but not luxurious, the only complaint is that we needed more places to hang things in the bathroom. (Where do we put our swimsuits so that they will dry???) The food at the restaurant was good if you like Costa Rican style marinated meats, fruits, and steamed vegetables. The hot springs were wonderful, just the right temperature and not too crowded. The ziplining was a lot of fun, but we learned that if we added a tip when we scheduled it (to be charged to the room) the "zipliner operators" don't get it unless they write a letter to the management. We found the desk in the lobby, where you book the ziplining or other tours, was often not staffed. The station to pick-up towels by the pool and springs was also empty on occasion. Staff was friendly and courteous, just a bit inattentive. I would book here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stunning view in all directs with the Arenal volcano in the distance. Staff are excellent and helpful. Rooms are small cabins and a bit Spartan. There is a small TV and electricity/hot water most of the time! Food at the restaurant is average and nothing special. The 14 hot springs right on the property are what makes this place special (see photos). Again, the views a stunning! Local hikes, zip lining, horseback riding, hot springs, Arenal volcano hike, and hanging bridge. Internet available at the 24 hour main desk.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAP-TRAVEL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed two nights as part of a driving tour around Costa Rica. The hotel is ok - the location is very good with a great view of the volcano and the canopy tour zip lining was excellent. What let the hotel down was the room and the service. The rooms are in need of updating. We had several issues including missing glass from the slatted windows and the bathroom which we couldn't unlock. These were fixed quickly but it meant we spent the first few hours waiting for maintenance men. It also feels like some of the staff don't really want to be there - especially in the restaurant where service was patchy. The area is lovely and I would definitely come back but I would just choose a different hotel next time

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing