We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort with amazing views of the volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely resort with amazing views of the volcano”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The resort has the most amazing views of Arenal volcano from pretty much every room. Rooms/bungalows need a bit of upgrading, and some of the bungalows have really tiny bathrooms - to the point where you have to get out of the shower sideways not to stumble upon the toilet. The rest of the territory is very well kept. The pool and hot springs areas are nice, allowing you to spend a chill day/afternoon there. The spa is very nice, but not well staffed. It's hard to make an appointment for a group. Breakfast is quite good with quite a few things to choose from and delicious. There's no wifi in the rooms, but it's available at the reception.

Room Tip: Bring flashlight, the territory is really dark at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear TravelNat8,

We send you a regards from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Hotel; was a pleasure to welcome you in our property.

We want to thank you for your comments, they are very important for us, and make us better and improved in the services that we offer. We will using it to work and promove changes in our internal platform.

We are in a remodeling right now, and we are making a lot of improvements in the property to offer a better service and our clients feel confortable.

We hope you visit us in the future.

All the best,
Your Friends of Arenal Paraíso Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    467
    271
    91
    75
See reviews for
291
487
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The view from our room and the hot springs was awesome. The highest level hot spring is the hottest and they get slightly cooler as you go down. We were there in the off or 'rainy' season, so we pretty much had all of the hot springs to ourselves. We started in the hottest/highest one after a long day of steep hiking up Cerro Chato, but soon moved a few down to one at a little more comfortable heat level.

The room was somewhat basic, but very clean and big and plenty of hot water in the huge shower. The breakfast was a full buffet breakfast. We ate in the restaurant for a lunch and dinner and enjoyed both with a little wine. The front desk was helpful in helping us get transportation to town or tourist attractions (ziplining, etc) when we needed it. I would definitely stay here again. The hot springs and the individual cottage type rooms made it worth it for us.

I thought it was a little odd at first that they put a wrist band on you when you arrive. The wrist band has the hotel name and he wrote our room number on it. I then saw people from other hotels with a similar wrist band for their hotel, so I think this is how they tag their tourists up in the forest areas. haha! kinda funny. I ended up thinking that was really great since the property is pretty big and you could easily forget which room is yours. Also, after doing the hike at Cerro Chato, I realized that the wrist band would be helpful if we were to get hurt or lost, they would at least be able to go to the hotel for our personal contacts and information.

Room Tip: We chose the superior/bungalow room and loved it. Huge room, huge shower and bathroom, and a mini f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori_T_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Lori
Austin, Texas

Thank you for your beautiful comments, they make us grow and do better in all our services.

It was nice having received you in our hotel and you enjoyed our rooms, hot water, breakfast, lunch and our Canopy tour (zip line).

The bracelet is always used to identify our customers, also to help them locate their room, as the hotel has over 100 rooms and some customers forget in which they are staying. Are not intended to place them in the event of an incident, however since you said (also works, but we hope nothing happens to our clients)

We hope you visit us soon with your family and friends.

A Christmas hug of your friends in the Hotel Arenal Paraiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was not looking for a typical "American" hotel, but having been to other hotels in Mexico I was slightly disappointed in the room and the pool. View of the volcano was spectacular! The hot springs are just that ...really HOT! The staff was very nice, be sure you ask how much a taxi to town should cost in CR! Having the canopy tour onsite was a great bonus. Would go back to the area again but would likely not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gapedsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We send you a regards from all of us at Arenal Paraiso Hotel.

Welcome your comments, they are very important to our growth.

We want to commented that at this time we are in a total refurbishment of our hotel, where we are implementing painting, finishing, remodeling and decoration of the rooms and public areas. We have paved the streets, made new trails to hot springs and much more.

Our remodeling will end on December 20th, we hope you visit us again and see our new face.

A hug in this Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. The hotel is layed out over a large area as rooms are bungalows-mostly semi detached.A map is provided to show the layout. I think the room we had was one of the normal ones as it said superior rooms had a safe and ours didn't, but it was clean .Getting to the restaurant was a fair hike from our room and the resort is not well lit and the roads are rather rough and uneven so we were very glad we had a torch. However the food was good and the service fine.
There is a small communal area at reception but the only bar is at the pool-wet on one side and only 4 stools on the dry side, so we felt a bit isolated here with the lack of socialising facilities -especially as it is a fair bit out of La Fortuna and if you dont have personal transport you are literally stuck there.
The grounds are lush and well kept and there are geo thermal hot spring mineral pools of various temperatures cascading down to the swimming pool (also geo thermal)There are some activities here which you can book including a canopy zip line-but we didnt do that!
The room had A/C. a fridge and a TV(rather old ,but it worked)and a coffee machine. Bathroom had a shower and toilet but very little space to lay toiletries etc.
I think the best bit about this hotel was the spectacular view of Arenal volcano from the patio door which led out to a balcony and garden which was next to the main road so we were wakened by heavy traffic quite early both mornings.
Breakfast was a buffet and plenty to choose from and the staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Make sure your cabin is away from the main road for noise and get a supperior one which will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Brandylad,

We send you a regards from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Hotel.

Welcome your comments, they are very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your vacations in our property, we hope you return in the future with your family and friends.

We are currently remodeling many of our services, which will be finalized on December 20th, hopefully on your next visit you can see all our renovations.

Greetings of the entire team of Arenal Paraíso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Views of volcano were specular. Grounds were beautiful Food was quite good. Stayed as part of a group trip (Road Scholar). The only difficulties were (1) getting the safe to work, but staff were good about coming out and helping. And (2) one day all of our cards to enter our rooms had to be reset. So 18 of us were locked out of our rooms for a bit. A pain that delayed our field trip..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Annie,

We hope you are very well!

We appreciate your coments, we ask apologize for the minor inconvenience with electronic keys, they are sometimes misconfigured for different reasons. We apologize again.

We hope to return to our Hotel soon, we will be happy to serve you and provide better service.

Best regards,

Arenal Paraíso Group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel itself is nice, the layout of the gardens, rooms are very spacious and well cleaned, good view from must rooms. The down side of this hotel is the fact that they offer hot springs on site, which is true but, the hot springs are not what you expected. Restaurant is nice and the food it’s good. But the service at the front desk could easily be improved. Their also offer a Canopy or Zip-Lining tour on site, which is very convenient and fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Mr. Erick

We send you a regards from all of us at Arenal Paraiso Hotel.

We appreciate your comments, they are very important to us, we want to explain you that our hot springs are of natural water of the Volcano, and for that raison have that turbulent color.
We want to thank you for share all your experiences in our property, this makes us better every day.

All our best wish,
Arenal Paraíso Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After four years of college, and classes in Costa Rica, my friends and I escaped to this hotel for a weekend. But I could have stayed a month.
We arrived and were assigned a cabin with a luscious back yard, overlooking the volcano. We woke up early to enjoy the free breakfast feast. We signed up for canopy tours, horse back riding, and massages. Then we swam in the pools and hot springs. And every night we ate at the hotel. We didn't leave the resort once. It was that relaxing.
Of course, if you want to experience Costa Rican culture, don't hole yourself up in the resort as I did. I enjoyed the escape because I've had my share of Costa Rica home stays and hostels. Arenal Paraiso felt like a bubble of the USA within Costa Rica. I would be glad to send my 50-year-old parents, who don't speak any Spanish, to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello It is a plesure to had your visit in our hotel, thank your for your comments are very important to us, we hope that your parents can visit the hotel too and enjoy our property, the beauty of our counry and the volcano view. We expect have your visit again in our hotel.
Best Regards from the Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,367 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing