We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Next to volcano”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Definitely the feel of a resort with a staging ground for adventure. A family of sloths were hanging out in great view in the two trees near the restaurant along with a few friendly dogs roaming around the grounds. The staff were friendly and accommodating especially after we decided to upgrade rooms at an additional $40 per night as their standard room doesn't come with a safe (thought that was weird.) Each unit has their own driveway which was impressive and convenient. The room had a stiff bed, but we still slept comfortably. There was a tv, but no wifi in the room. The cleaning lady always folded our towels on our bed into cute, but quite elaborate animals (we were quite impressed.) The front door has electronic locks and we had a nice little porch. There were really tiny (harmless) bugs along the countertop that were easily removed with some "OFF" bug spray. The occasional ant wandered in from under the door which should have a skirt at the bottom. At night you could hear a family of birds living in the ceiling, but they didn't keep us up(you are staying next to the rainforest, you can't be afraid of some animals and insects.) They have a nice looking pool that is pretty cold and a dozen mineral hot springs. The one spring has a bar in it. The water is clear but looks dirty due to the sulfer coloration to the stone. There's an impressive view of the volcano with the top third stabbing into the clouds. The complementary breakfast was a beautiful spread buffet of hot food and fruit. The lunch and dinner menu looked very expensive at $18-30 dishes. Fortunately, you can find more reasonable priced menus in town at a "soda." They also have a self-guided hiking trail and a spa that we didn't have time to experience. Overall, it was a very nice place in a good location with very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Will have to upgrade if you want a safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your beautiful comments , they motivate us every day.

We are glad to have met your expectations Trip and hopefully recommend us and come back in the future for us will be an honor to see you at our hotel.

A hug from your Friends of Arenal Paraíso Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    476
    275
    91
    75
See reviews for
297
494
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here two nights. Our bungalow furnishings were extremely basic: two beds, two side tables, a desk and a wooden chair. Coffee making machine but o tea and no cups or mugs, just cardboard Starbucks-type things. Poor energy saving lighting and badly placed. TV had more than 100 channels but for hotel catering for mainly American and English-speaking European clientele, what is the point in their virtually all being Spanish (a few European news channels but why no BBC which is free to air). No wi-fi in room. Bathroom small with no courtesy toiletries, not even soap which was supplied through a dispenser. Bedroom and bathroom both very tired. Dinner not bad for value but how can a price tag of US$ 54 on a bottle that can be bought in a town supermarket for US$ 15 be justified? Breakfast buffet also a long way to go: no meat dish, no tomatoes, no cook on hand to do eggs to order. Try another place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank trevorbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Trevorbar

Welcome your comments, these are very important to us.

I would like to comment that in our hotel we have different types of rooms, which have different services and amenities including regret failing to meet your needs, we ask the appropriate apologies.

Our hotel is in the process of remodeling and we will consider your comments for these changes.

We hope you visit us again and recommend us to your family and friends.

Greetings from your friends Arenal Paraíso Group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

costarica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel ha ve 15 nice hot water pools food es regular and ser vice excelente but my room wich was a standard was old and bathroom old and looks dirty because of the old stains
Is regular price and TVE best thing is the pool área and TVE view

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monik28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Monik28

We send you a regard from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Hotel.

Thanks for your comments, they are very important for us, we want to let you know that our property is in a proccess of remodeling and changes, we are going to take your comments to improve in our rooms.

Besides we hope that you come again and enjoy all our services in the future.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Before going to this hotel one should realize that it is 2* place and don't ask for too much while having high expectations. This is good location for short stay in Arenal area where 2 full days are more than enough to scroll around. Most rooms are in semi-detached bungalows some of which are facing the forest, which is very nice. Rooms are big with good size bathrooms.
The cleaningness needs to be improved, however. I requested to change our bed linens as they were dirty, can you believe this ? The same for temperature control in the rooms. Ours were really cold.
Water in bathroom was really cold, and there is nothing you can do about it.
But it is nothing special for CR as most people come here for adventure, not luxury type of vacation. Still not acceptable.
The food they serve for breakfast is good enough for 2*-3* place, so are the the dishes in 2 reastaurants. Restaurants are expensive , but it is nothing new for CR. Really nothing special to rave about, just average food. Considering that CR has not too many places with decent cuisine and almost no national food, it is acceptable.

Pools with hot spring water are very nice, especially those located upstream where watter is hotter.

Staff is somewhat helpfull and polite ( especially when it comes to selling you different tours :-) ), not like in most Mexican resorts, though.

So, all in all, this place is very decent for its price as we saw many locations in CR which were by far more expensive but delivered worse experience than this.
Recommended for mid-range budget travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for room located far away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KotMatvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear KotMatvey,

We hope you are fine.

Thank you for sending your valuable comments, these allow us to know in detail the experiences of our guests.

Our hotel is in a process of change, remodeling and improvements, among which we will soon have one of the best services in the area and we hope that on your next visit to La Fortuna stay with us, and allow us to offer an excellent service within our category.

Regards from your friends of Arenal Paraiso Group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here as part of the OAT tour over the New Year. The fireworks were great to celebrate the new year. The hot springs were great, the rooms clean and had AC. We really enjoyed our opportunity to see the amazing view of the volcano.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYoungOnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear AYoungOnr,

All our best for you in this 2014.

We want to thank you for your beautiful comments, it was a pleasure receive you in our property.

We feel really happy that you enjoyed our services and our special "New Year" event.

Hoping you come back son, we say good bye,

Arenal Paraíso Group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This place is very nice, there has been a lot of changes since the first time we stayed there back in 2001. The staff is very good and the amenities are exceptionally good. The only problem is the hot springs are not quite hot enough. The breakfast buffet was the best I've had in along time, I would recommend this place to anyone. Pura vida....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Ray,

We wish you all the best in this 2014.

We appreciate your beautiful comments, they make us better and let us know that we have to continue working to offering all the best to all our guest.

We hope you visit us again soon, it is always an honor to serve you!

Special greetings from your friends of Arenal Paraiso Group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The resort has the most amazing views of Arenal volcano from pretty much every room. Rooms/bungalows need a bit of upgrading, and some of the bungalows have really tiny bathrooms - to the point where you have to get out of the shower sideways not to stumble upon the toilet. The rest of the territory is very well kept. The pool and hot springs areas are nice, allowing you to spend a chill day/afternoon there. The spa is very nice, but not well staffed. It's hard to make an appointment for a group. Breakfast is quite good with quite a few things to choose from and delicious. There's no wifi in the rooms, but it's available at the reception.

Room Tip: Bring flashlight, the territory is really dark at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear TravelNat8,

We send you a regards from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Hotel; was a pleasure to welcome you in our property.

We want to thank you for your comments, they are very important for us, and make us better and improved in the services that we offer. We will using it to work and promove changes in our internal platform.

We are in a remodeling right now, and we are making a lot of improvements in the property to offer a better service and our clients feel confortable.

We hope you visit us in the future.

All the best,
Your Friends of Arenal Paraíso Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,409 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing