We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Relaxing Bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The bungalows are built with hardwoods that are beautiful. Beds are a little hard, but acceptable. Be nice to have feather or similar pillows, instead of foam, but the quiet lends itself to sleeping well.

Property is beautiful and hot tub pools (many) are very relaxing in the evening. Breakfast buffet is basically the same every day; a little more variety would be nice, but the fruit is fantastic and very fresh.

The view of the volcano is fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for the best view of the volcano, so you are not blocked by another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear David,

We appreciate your comments, they are very important for us.

We feel happy that you enjoyed and relaxed in our hotel, this is our idea! We hope you come back soon and we could offer you the best services with the best quality.

Warm regards from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We made the mistake of staying in a standard room rather than a cabin. The room itself was pretty tired looking and had paper thin walls, so we heard the couple next door until they went to bed and after they woke up in the morning. Plus there was just a grassy area and a row of trees between our room and the road. There's traffic on the road early in the morning and into the night, with trucks shifting gears, so it's noisy as well. The beautiful view of the volcano was hard to enjoy given all these other factors. It's a tour bus place so there is definitely nothing relaxed or inviting. And the hot springs, the reason we stayed there, weren't at all hot. The price is right but better to spend more and be able to enjoy where you are. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

Room Tip: Imagine the cabins at the top of the property might be quiet and certainly nicer than the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherinejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Katherine

Warm regards from all team Arenal Paraiso.

We apologize for your experiences in our hotel, to be honest we are in a process of changes and remodeling in all hotel, and your comments will help us to improve and work in each detail of our changes in the standard rooms, we will take them in our proyection.

Cordially your friends of Arenal Paraiso Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here recently... and although the landscape is quite beautiful... the rooms were less than desirable. When we arrived we thought is was very cute... small cabins with front porches facing the volcano... would have been nice for viewing however the the windows were not clean... they were covered in dead bug debris... while i understand we were in the rain forest, for the price we paid for one night.. the window should have been cleaned. Upon entering the room, the bathroom light was out... we called for a repair, they never came. The refrigerator was not plugged in, we had to do that ourselves, and then the air conditioner was broken... worked to cool the room however we had to listen to a loud clanking noise all night. We spoke to the management about the issues and requested a discount of some sort of which we were flatly denied. Disappointing... glad we decided to do the hot springs at Tabacon, the resort up the way a bit... and should i ever return... i would stay there.

Room Tip: stay at Tabacon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaineJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Maine

We send you a regards from all of us at Arenal Paraiso.

We apologize for your experiences in our hotel, to be honest we are in a process of changes and remodeling in all hotel, and your comments will help us to improve and make better each detail of our changes in the rooms.

We wish you a great day, all team of Arenal Paraiso Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We've spent there 2 nights in the beg. of march and we felt very comfortable. All rooms are in low-built buildings, with view of the volcano. Room terraces are surrounded by tropical plants. Iguanas and rabbits walk free around the whole space.The biggest advantage or plus or positive thing are pools with thermal water (no one knows how many degrees but very warm) – it is s.t. one coming from the county where winter and snow prevail must admire. Thermal water runs down from one pool to the lower pool, and again in the lower and so 12 times. 12 jacuzzi-sized pools in cascades! And each surrounded by lush plants. Great thing: pools are opened until 10 pm - in CR sun sets at 6 pm - so you can take a swim at night, stars above you and you feel that you are alone in the world. There is a wet bar with same warm thermal water and also normal pool. The hotel restaurant offers a good buffet breakfast and for dinner I recommend Chateaubriand steak (afterwords you’ll lick your fingers). The hotel has a spa with massage, gym and sauna. If one would look for some lacking items - there is no safe in the room (just one at the reception desk) and a small bathroom. BUT, the whole complex is immersed harmoniously into the nature so the whole time we were there the atmosphere was relaxing, quiet and positive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Andrea,

We appreciate your nice comments, we are glad that you enjoyed the animals, nature and environment of the hotel, in addition to the hot springs.

We will take into account the safety boxes, we hope your next visit to have this service in all our rooms.

A hug from your friends of Arenal Paraíso Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

this is an old facility .it needs some overhauling.surroundings and location was very good.the hot springs were actually cold. breakfast was quite good.the service was very good.parking is plentiful.quite good for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We send you regards from all of us at Arenal Paraíso Hotel.

We appreciate your comments, we will take into account in our processes of remodeling and improvements to our hotel.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Warm regards from Arenal Paraíso Group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This cabana style hotel sits at the foot of the Arenal volvano, the perfect cone shape of which is visible from throughout the complex. The hotel is made up of dozens of cabins scattered across the main site. These are of varying ages and styles. We had an older model closer to the restaurant. The newer ones were further away but seemed better appointed. The accommodation we had was basic but clean and adequate. The main problem came at night as we found the lighting of the paths and roads totally inadequate and several time we fell off the raised edges to the paths, twisting our ankles. Our cabins was also very near the busy, and noisy, main road.
The hotel is some distance from the nearest town so has its own restaurant but the food is average. Breakfast choice is good but they seemed to bus in groups from other hotels so it could get very crowded.
The hotel has several swimming pools including hot pools fed by the local volcanic springs.

Room Tip: Go for a newer cabin, away from the main road and bring a torch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Dirk49,

Thanks for your comments, they are very important for Arenal Paraíso Group.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, we will be considering your feedback to make improvements.

All the best of your friends Arenal Paraíso Hotel!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a superior unit and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bungalow was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the shower was large, the closets were large, and the front porch with two leather rocking chairs gave us a perfect view of the Arenal volcano. The free breakfast was varied, including hot options, fresh fruit, and magnificent coffee and fruit juices. The on-site thermal pools were convenient and relaxing, the regular pool was large, and the swim-up bar in a thermal pool was unique. With lockers for those who are in the pools and an on-site spa, this is a nice resort. Everyone gave us wonderful service with a smile.

Room Tip: Some units back up to a rainforest, which makes the back porch another place to sit and relax with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnNoticeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear BurnNotic

We send you warm regards from Arenal Paraíso.

We appreciate for writing your comments, these fills us with joy and cajolery.

For us it was a pleasure that you stayed at our hotel, and we were glad you enjoyed your vacations in our paradise.

We hope you return in the near future and recommend us to your family and friends.

Greetings to the distance of your Friends of Arenal Paraiso Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £74 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing