We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing spring waters, nice volcano view. Poor beds, careful with Congo waterfall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing spring waters, nice volcano view. Poor beds, careful with Congo waterfall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Form best to worst.
Spring waters: this is definitely the highlight of the hotel, pretty relaxing indeed. The pools are organized in such a way that the warmest pool is on top of the hill and the coolest at the bottom. You can try the warmest freely as the temperature is not excessive. More details about temperatures and minerals provided by the spring water can be found at the pool area. The pools have a brown color which, as far as know, is due to the minerals in the water, not because the pool has not been cleaned.
Nature: the hotel was designed in such a way that even at the restroom you can see the volcano. It was also designed using bungalows which allows them to be surrounded by nature. You can see 8-12 different species of birds.
Breakfast: nice buffet, includes some local basics like “gallo pinto” (rice and beans), “natilla” (sour cream), eggs, and local fruits.
Restaurant: decent prices for a hotel, USD20-30. Quality is good but you can also try restaurants in the area at cheaper prices and similar quality.
Service: the personnel is nice and will always deliver a towel-made animal in your bed.
Bed: This was probably the worst thing about the hotel. Your back can kill you after a couple days. It is something that definitely needs to improve. I like to think that I’m an adjustable person and not too picky but for some this could be a deal breaker.
Congo waterfall: it has a disclaimer regarding going “at your own risk”. The way to the waterfall is not in great shape (full of nature on that sense). Though the part is that you can come across a snake (as we did), no idea if venomous or non-venomous, but pretty scary nonetheless, so make sure you prepare accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolivar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Bolivar,

Receive our regards.

We appreciate you send us and share your comments and experience in our property, these are of benefit for us.

We have a big property, surround of nature and environment that make us different and special in the area.

We try to offer a lot of services to our guest and with the best quality as possible; the trail in the mountain is a plus for people who likes the adventure and adrenaline in middle of nature, however, it is no our responsible right now because we offer this service for free. Maybe in the future we will going to arrange the trail and offer guides tours in that place.

All our best, from Arenal Paraiso Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    450
    262
    90
    75
See reviews for
273
475
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed Paraiso. The hot springs are lovely and take advantage of the surrounding tropical foliage and views.
Regretfully, we were unable to see the volcano in full view as we visited in rainy season... But the view was spectacular nonetheless... Zip lining on the property was one of the highlights of our stay in Costa Rica. The guides are friendly, cautious of safety and even used our camera to capture the event.
Breakfast is terrific tipico fare in a comfortable dining room with exceptional service.
We would recommend Paris and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HDB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Savannah,

It is a pleasure to receive your comments, they are really lovely.

We feel glad to know that you enjoyed and liked our services and property.

Hoping you return in the future, we send you a special regard and hug.

Arenal Paraiso Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I love this place. I stayed a week and did just about everything. Ziplining is a trek up the mountain side and it was worth it. Beautiful scenes as you wiz by on the line. I also did the hike and horseback riding and it was an experience. I've never been on a horse and it was a relaxing experience. The cabins had views of the volcano and everything you'd expect in a resort. Try the highest spring tub as it is the hottest and probably free of people.

The housekeeping staff made my pillow into an animal each day and I enjoyed coming back from breakfast to see what was created that day. The buffet style breakfast was basically what you're used to. No surprises but they will deliver you breakfast, lunch, or dinner to your room if you'd like.

The prices were expected and I felt it was a good deal. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadingWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Customer:

Is a pleasure for us receive your lovely comments.

It was an honor to have received you in our hotel, and we are glad that we met your expectations; for everyone in Arenal Paraiso is pleased to offer the best and meet our goal "happy customers"

We hope you return soon and share with us again.

A hug from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were greeted by some Great staff, it was an awesome location, right across the volcano! It is very family friendly as well with some great hot spring pools. Rooms were very cozy and clean beds. Reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VNADFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Was a pleasure receive you in our hotel, we feel really glad that you enjoyed in our resort.

We work every day to give our best to our clients and hope have had a special treatment with you.

Have a great day, of your friends in Arenal Paraiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. Being in the hot springs was like being in the Garden of Eden - amazing!! The cabins were nice with views of the volcano (if there weren't too many clouds). The breakfast buffet was wonderful as well and so was the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RagnaS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Ragna,

We feel really glad that you enjoyed your stay in our resort, that we fulfilled your expectations with our services.

Hoping you return, we send you a big hug from your friends of Arenal Paraiso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. We loved the place. The hot water pools were a hit. They pump out naturally heated mineral rich water out of the ground into man made pools and the water flows from one pool into another thus the temperature of the water cools as you go downhill. We did not use the spa but it looked good. Great spread for breakfast.

Note that you will need a taxi to go to downtown Arenal. You can ask the reception to arrange for one and it costs USD 12 one way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elton_j_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Elton,

We send you a regards from all of us in Arenal Paraiso.

Thanks for your comments, they are very important for us, and make us improve every day in our services and quality. We feel glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and wish you return in the future.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went here as part of a Groupon Vacation. Everyone that worked here was extremely nice and helpful. Our room was large and had a small backyard facing the Volcano. There were beautiful small hot springs behind the pool, didn't find the need to go visit Tabacon or any other hot springs instead. Hotel breakfast was FABULOUS and had so many options. Restaurant rest of the time was not my favorite but definitely an easy option. Did the Zipline tour and highly recommend - beautiful lines, extremely safe, knowledgeable guides. We saw monkeys off of some of the platforms and our tour guides took pictures for us. Wifi available at front desk area but not at restaurant or pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nisfornancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar G, Director Comercial at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive our regards, it was a pleasure attend you at the hotel.

Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate it. We hope you remember us forever and you wish to return in the future.

A special hug from Arenal Paraiso Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing