We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Nasty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Except for the view, the best part is the restaurant. If you want something cheap and decent there, order a ham and cheese sandwich. It is actually a sandwich with lettuce and tomato, it also include fries. That's all for the good part, now the bad.....

The rooms: nasty! The first room we had, there are hairs on the bed and in the sink! The AC wasn't working either. I asked for a change of room, which they did make me uncomfortable and seems like I am ask for something ridiculously! In the second room, at least the bed looks clean. However, everything is old there. It feels like the bed sheets has been washed a 1000 times. There are molds in the room and the washroom smells really bad! I would suggest bringing a pair of flip flops and wear them when you shower (that is if you decide to stay in this "resort").

The hot spring: There are alot of pools but they are dirty. Also, the water flows really really slow and in the lower pools, there are alot of dead bugs! I went there once and I don't want to go back. (although that's the whole point why I book this hotel).

The front desk: Everyone in La fortuna is very nice except for the front desk ppl. Everytime I ask them to do something, I really feel uncomfortable. It seems like we owe them something or it is a big hassle to do small things for us. Very bad services!

Overall: This place is not a resort, it is a run-down hotel! Nothing glameous about this place and it is the worst hotel we stayed in our trip to CR (we stayed at 5 different places). I would avoid it!!! Except for the view (which alot of other hotel has) it is not worth it! Oh... and the lava doesn't flow this way so that you know. You need to go for a lava tour to see the lava and I recommend the Red Lava Tour Company (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g309237-i4289-k3124720-l21985254-Tips_for_Arenal_region-La_Fortuna_de_Bagaces_Province_of_Guanacaste.html#21985254)!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstrip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

This hotel offers a lot of activities either on site or that you can book through the hotel, including zip lines and canopy tour, as well as rafting, horseback riding, etc. They have hot springs in a series of pools. At night these are not well lit, which is nice for privacy but can be disconcerting if you care to see the water. The water is lukewarm and a bit brown but nice enough, though we enjoyed far more the local Ecothermales Hot Springs better than those at the resort.

The restaurant food was good, but seemed very expensive to us, and without a rental car it is too far to get to other options.

The hotel is big and spread out into cabins that you have to walk a ways to. At night there was not much lighting or signage so I frequently had to take several tries to get back to the right room! The room was nice but one of the beds was very squeaky. The room had a fridge and a nice shower and AC.

Overall a nice place to stay and explore the area. Service was often slow at the front desk but it was low season and they seemed to only have a skeleton staff. The lobby offers one computer for internet access. The hotel offered same day laundry service which was nice in the middle of a trip involving hiking, so some could be cleaned at good prices.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The 2 person cabins were a steal and the perfect location to view and experience the volcano. The hot springs were a perfect place to relax. We also did the Wildlife Refugee Tour offered through the resort and had a wonderful time. I would recommend this Hotel to any person traveling through this area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmeeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I'm not generally a resort dweller but decided to stay here on a recommendation of a friend. Although the price was reasonable affordable for a resort, I've stayed in many cheaper places that had far more charm. The cabins are cookie-cutter and the restaurant was nothing special. We enjoyed the hot springs and the wet bar- those are what we really came for. The rooms were nice and clean and had ac and tv- just not the kind of place I want to spend my money at.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleacali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Hotel has fantastic views, own canopy tour (book this FOR SURE, highlight of my trip!) AND hot springs on site. Hot springs are warm, but not "hot tub" warm. More like bathwater temp. Swim up bar in one. Great gift shop, hearty breakfast buffet. Some rooms have own parking space for those renting a car. (We changed rooms to get a parking space. ) Available internet in lobby, small fee for it, but connection seemed fast. Rains will come, folks, it is the rainforest. FYI: Wear a black shirt on canopy tour. Nights can also be cool. Surprisingly, not a lot of insects when I was there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thirtysomething02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I went with my husband and our best friends in June of 08. We shared a cabin. The price was very resonable for the amazing views. The rooms were very clean and surrounded by beautiful gardens.The food was great, especially the breakfast buffet. The restaurant at the hotel is a bit pricy, so we took a taxi to town for lunch and dinner. The town is very safe and everyone was very friendly. We had an amazing time in the thermal springs, very beautiful and romantic. I would Highly recommend this resort . The only downside is we could not see the lava flow from the hotel but had a fantastic view from the pools and our room. We would love to go back next summer. I give the resort an A+

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeboni2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We had 3 standard rooms booked at Arenal Paraiso for 2 nights. We chose this hotel based on location, low price, and the 2 for 1 zip-lining offer. Two rooms had broken air-conditioners and it was a hot day making them very stuffy. We walked back to the front desk to change rooms and were told they only had 1 room available in the entire hotel. Then we were offered 2 superior rooms but with the additional price! We are not talking about alot of money but it is the principal of the thing! We nicely asked to speak with the manager but were refused. At this point, all but 2 in our party had a zip-line reservation so they stayed to seek resolution. Finally, after a total of 1 hour, the front desk relented and we were given 2 superior rooms with working air-conditioning but they wanted us to pay the difference for 1 night. As it turned out, they couldn't get their computers to work to accept the additional charge, so we didn't pay any additional. I always say there will bumps in the road and it's all in how a problem is handled and the Arenal Paraiso did not satisfactorily handle this situation.
The rooms are very old--think cabin but clean. We knew this when we booked so no problems here. We had very cute towel animals waiting for us the second day! The grounds are very pretty and we had a nice view of the non-lava side of the volcano. The food at the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Excellent service, also.
Zip-lining at the Paraiso was thrill--lines were long and high! Our guides were very friendly and fun. The hot spring pools were very relaxing but only enjoyed them 1 night as they were broken the second.
The morning we checked out we called the front desk to ask if they could call our wonderful driver, Rubier with TJTransfers, and connect him with us on our room phone as we could not figure out how to make a local call. After waiting for 20 minutes, we gave up and walked down to the front desk. Not a big deal but they should have been able to accomplish this small task.
We loved Costa Rica and Arenal. Our experience at the Paraiso in no way hampered our wonderful vacation!! There are many hotel options so choose wisely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
834 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £76 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing