We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay and had a beautiful view! A few suggestions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay and had a beautiful view! A few suggestions”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

When I booked our hotel I received a confirmation back right away. When we arrived we thought the grounds were nice and well kept. The rooms were spacious with a very large shower and the air conditioning worked well in our room but not as well in our friends. The bed was not the most comfortable but we were fine. The safe did not work in both rooms and our spanish speaking tour guide/driver spoke with them about it and was told they would be fixed which never happened. Our room was very close to the Hot Springs they had on the grounds which we enjoyed and was very welcoming after a long day of activities. We enjoyed this as we did not see the need to spend a lot of money at some of the Hot Spring attractions that were high priced. The view from our room was beautiful as we had an excellent view of the volcano while sitting on our porch in some very nice leather rockers. We saw howler monkeys in the trees near our room which was exciting for all of us. The breakfast was nice and had a good variety.. The resort is a little dated but we enjoyed it and thought our room was nice. Housekeeping left some towel figures on our beds sprinkled with some beautiful little flowers. We all got a smile out of this and we thought the extra gesture was nice. Checking out took about 1/2 hour and we were not sure why it took so long but we think they have very slow computers. All in all we had a very nice time and were pleased with our stay here. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wibols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    473
    275
    91
    75
See reviews for
296
493
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights in July 2010 (myself, my partner, and our children - 14, 10). This is a very large hotel and has a slightly over-organized feel about it. Having to wear a little blue bracelet for the whole stay is one example of this. Service is efficient and polite, but impersonal. However, our room was great, up at the top near to the warmest of the series of hot pools. We were nervous after reading some reviews here, but in the end felt that by our standards this is certainly far more than a "basic" hotel (we aren't Americans, and from other tripadisor reviews I've realized that our perceptions and standards are a bit different). The room was clean, with a balcony at the front with a great view of the volcano and one at the back with a jungle view. The bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was very good, although again we prefer a more intimate setting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed here for one night as part of an independent organized tour through a well known tour company. We had chosen to stay in what they called 'Standard' rooms/hotels. This hotel was about on par with all the other hotels on our trip. It was fairly basic, clean enough, but not sparkling. When we arrived at night, the bellman drove us and our luggage to our room as they are bit of a walk on gravel from reception. The grounds were very dark. The room did have a TV. I didn't notice any air-conditioning and it was very humid and hard to sleep, but I'm noticing other reviewers say there was A/C. The biggest bonus of this hotel was the beautiful view of Arenal Vocano. There was a little patio with 2 chairs outside the door where you could sit and view the volcano. It 'belched' at 5am and we rushed outside to see it spew ash. The breakfast room/restaurant was very airy and spacious, again with lovely views of the volcano. The buffet breakfast was good. We walked around the hotel grounds viewing the natural springs/pools and they looked horrible and not inviting at all. We visited the nearby Trabacon springs/pools which were gorgeous. I would recommend this hotel only if you don't mind very basic hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland / Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I am a resident in Costa Rica, and had a "special rate" of $ 86,-. In my opinion it's worth about half. It's a very dated hotel and when I came in my room at 23.00 h. and for the first time wanted to put on the TV and airco, they both didn't work. The front desk arranged another room; also here the airco was broken, it worked but you couldn't adjust the temperature nor anything else. Since it was late, I didn't want to go for another room. The TV is not much bigger then an Ipod and is mounted so high in the corner of the room, that you almost need a magnifier to look at it. The only good thing were the employees; friendly and helpfull. But the hotel, as well as the springs are very very outdated, run down and I wouldn't actually stay there again, not even for half the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Deleware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I recently stayed at Arenal Paraiso Resort & Spa for 2 days of a 9 day trip to Costa Rica.
***Beware of the hiking trails on the resort***
There is a hiking trail behind the resort that goes to a waterfall (during the rainy season) and a river. I very pleased by the hike, though it had a high difficulty. There are a few parts that go 3-5 feet straight down and it consists of walking on some slippery rocks. You should certainly have hiking shoes or sneakers and be in good shape to attempt this hike. It is difficult, but there are no warning signs prior to or on the trail.

Pros:
-The room/cabin was spacious and included a large bathroom.
-We had a direct view to the volcano and were able to clearly watch and eruption from our porch on Saturday night.
-Only a 5-10 minute cab ride into town which included a number of restaurants
-Breakfast at the resort was delicious with lots of food options.
-On site hiking. We saw three of toucans in addition to other birds.

Cons:
-Upon arriving and throughout our stay, the front desk staff was extermely rude. They gave us zero flexibility with our request to check out 2 hours late and did not want to answer any questions about the surrounding wilderness and town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Friends and I stayed here for two nights in April 2010. We had a cute private bungalow facing the Volcano. The hotel faces the inactive side of the Volcano, so you are not able see lava at night from your room. But you can find a taxi driver that will drive you to the other side of the volcano to see the lava (about a 30 min drive) for about $10 p.person. When we first got to the hotel, our AC wasn't working- but we quickly called the front desk and after an hour someone came to fix it. The TV in our room was small, but it worked! The fridge in the room also came in handy to keep cold water and beer! Note of caution: Do not leave food out because ants will get to it! The hotel breakfast was ok. Typical Costa Rican food..rice/beans, ham and eggs, coffee and fruits. We didn't try the hotel restaurant and opted to take a cab to town instead for dinner. Perhaps a downside to this hotel is the location. You can't walk anywhere, so you'll have to grab a quick cab ride to town. The pool bar was perhaps the best part of our stay. The bartender was great! Johan, i believe is his name. He was very friendly and gave us great advice on where to go out at night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our 10 day trip to Costa Rica and loved it! The room was clean and spacious, with a small fridge that definitely came in handy for our water and drinks. It had a nice front porch with 2 rocking chairs that faced right out to the volcano. One night, we even saw red lava flow from an eruption, so it is entirely possible to see lava from this side of the volcano.

The pool and hot springs at this hotel were great as well. We found the hot springs to be very quiet and peaceful, we always had a pool to ourselves! The top 2 pools are the hottest and then they get cooler the further down you go. We saw several iguanas and interesting large lizards when we were at the pools.

This hotel also had a nice hiking trail that lead down the river and a fall waterfall, it made for a great early morning hike on our first day!

The restaurant was good as well, with a fantastic breakfast buffet every morning! We also ate there for lunch one day and the food was good then too.

I would definitely recommend this place if you want a nice, quite location with great views of the volcano. You would need to have a rental car or take a taxi if you want to go into La Fortuna. We took at taxi and the fare was around $10 each way.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallen4ever84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,407 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#23 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing