We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Service was great. All staff was very friendly and helpfull.
The lodge was rather big. Bathroom was very clean.
We stayed here for 3 days. Breakfast was excelent. So much to choose from!
For dinner: very good food and a wide variety to choose from the menu.
Swimpool nice to swim in and a very nice yakuzi to relax in!

Activities to do nearby:
We did the chero chatto lagoon hike: Wonderfull to see. Rather big hike to do, but it s great to swim in the lagoon.
Arenal vulcano national park: Decent hike with great nature, but its not really on the vulcano itself. only a very nice view of it.
Butterfly conservatory: beautyfull garden to see al the variety's of butterflys in Costa rica. You could also see monkeys, frogs and other insects here.

Room Tip: Very clean and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerinckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    399
    65
    7
    16
See reviews for
344
817
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at Lomas del Volcan for a few days while on our honeymoon. It exceeded our expectations when we arrived. The restaurant was pretty good but there never seemed to be very many people there eating. The service was great. The front desk helped us with everything from getting taxis to booking tours. We had a great view of the volcano. Everything was very private even though the bungalows are kind of close. Overall we both loved this place. We will definitely go back whenever the time comes.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsharris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Nice place, very well maintained. Rooms were updated with flat screen TV and comfortable beds. We rented three seperate cabins all together. Some have much more impressive views than others. The pool was very clean and we saw toucans and humming birds while wadding. Hot tub was night time hangout but solar "heated" so it was only warm at best. Great views of the volcano but this time of year we only saw it for an hour very early in the morning before it was covered by the clouds. Wireless interenet was not accessible in all the rooms but available in the areas close to the lobby.

Room Tip: ask to see the room and view before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel is beautiful and is located far enough from the road so that you feel you are totally isolated (although the town of La Fortuna is just about five minutes away) The landscape is well cared for; everyday, we saw the workers tend to the beautiful gardens. The cottages are lovely with a very tasteful and artistic wood work on the ceiling and all around. The shower is spacious and the bathroom is very clean. The breakfast everyday was also very good... gallo pinto, fried "yucadas", fried plaintains, omelets, pancakes, pineapples..etc. Delicious! The staff is super helpful, courteous, always serves you with a smile. If you are fortunate to visit when the volcano is totally visible, you'll enjoy a breathtaking view of the active Arenal Volcano from your back porch.
The only reason I am not giving the hotel the whole 5 rating is that it is somewhat inconvenient to go downtown La Fortuna if you don't have a rental car. The taxi ride is about 5 to 6 dollars. It would be ideal if the hotel offered a shuttle service to the town even if it is just in the morning hours and in the evening. I hope they read the review and consider it. Otherwise, the hotel is excellent, food is great, staff is friendly, grounds are gorgeous... it is just great!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandMomMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was probably my favorite hotel in Costa Rica. Everyone gets their own private cabins, which are incredibly cozy, with big comfortable beds and a sitting room that faces the volcano. The property is gorgeous and the view of the volcano is amazing. We were incredibly lucky, it was visible the during our entire stay and we saw it erupt three or four times. The pool was amazing too. The front desk staff was not so friendly, but the housekeeping staff was awesome. They made animals out of our towels, which was pretty cool. The hotel has two computers in the main lobby for the guests to use free of charge, but I wouldn't really call the internet service "high-speed". It's nice to take a walk on the property, although I wouldn't recommend trying to walk into town - it's a pretty long hike.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Wonderful place to stay for a few nights.

We were there on the cusp of the rainy season and they were offering some great deals (stay 2 nights, get the third free). Very clean and private. We loved the views from our porch and the hot tub under the gazebo..... saw lots of wildlife.

If you are staying here and you don't have a car, beware that it costs a bit more money than you might expect to adventure out to places such as tabacon or the Arenal observatory and back.

The Cano Negro tour that you can book at the front desk is an absolute must, be sure to ask for Julio as your guide.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveyJSarahELawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The rooms are beautiful cabinas. The privacy of your own small place with excellent views and porches. The cabins themselves are beyond beautiful. The service, differrent towel art every day, was perfect.
The location has great views of Mt Arenal and the town of La Fortuna is very close. The town is well worth the time to shop, eat and just enjoy the people. The roads although tight are very good for travel.
We would difinitely stay again for the wildlife, many birds, alone.
The zip lines are fun, not all in our group agree though.

Room Tip: Cabins that the rear porch faces the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackamosev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,846 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing