We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place on tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Favorite place on tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Beautiful "rooms" are individual wooden bungalows, each with a close view of Arenal Volcano. Each cabin has a front porch and a back porch with table and chairs. My bungalow was absolutely spotless and it was a wonderful place to spend two nights on our tour. The pool is very nice also. The food was delicious (buffet for our tour group). I would highly recommend this property for the beautiful grounds and close-by things to do. I do not know about the value because I was with a tour group.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegeterian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    364
    62
    7
    16
See reviews for
293
730
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hemet
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

From the moment we walked in the reception personnel was great. Front desk will help you with all you need to know to go. Where to eat, what tours to take and what things you can do on your own. The rooms are small cabins. Our cabin had a great view of the volcano. We had a table and chairs to enjoy the view. The rooms are a decent size. The beds are a little hard, but I guess I am just spoiled at home. At about 5am wildlife go crazy. You hear the birds, frogs, and whatever else is out there. You feel free. The breakfast buffet that is included in package is delicious. Typical food, eggs made to order, plantains, beans, pancakes, ham, sausage should I go on? Everything you need to get your day stated. Our first night at lomas del volcan we ate at their restaurant. Food was delicious. You have to try either the seafood rice and the chicken and rice. We definitely come here again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms were the chairs and tables are in the back of the cabin. those are the one's with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FUNINTHESUN0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had originally booked another hotel in La Fortuna but Hotels.com changed our booking to the Lomas del Volcan - I'm so glad they did. The individual cabins are fab - nicely laid out, clean and comfortable. The views are superb - especially of the Arenal Volcano. The infinity pool was great. The choice at breakfast was ample. And the staff were very helpful. It is some distance from La Fortuna town - but it was easy to get a cab ($4).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Lomas Del Volcan's cabins are perched close to the Arenal volcano in a forest with lots of wildlife. Great location to tour the area. Wonderful breakfasts. Super nice people who run tthe place.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebensmittel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a Caravan Tour. The property is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Our room (402) had a stunning view of the volcano. We expected to see a beautiful lava flow at night only to find out the volcano has been inactive for the past 16 months so now it's just another mountain. Oh well nature does that some times.

The food (buffet) was very good (eggs cooked to order for breakfast and pasta to order in the evening). There is a small bar to quench your thirst at days end. You may have trouble getting a drink if the bartender is watching a soccer game on TV.

The property is about 2 - 3 miles from town so if you don't have a car you must get a taxi for $5.

I would recommend this place to friends and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Since the volcano is now inactive any room is going to be just fine. Obviously some rooms are close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat.kight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Almost everything about this hotel was great, and the view was absolutely amazing. They have a trail on site that leads through a section of beautiful forest. The staff was helpful and spoke English very well. The rooms were very, very clean. We had a wonderful time. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here as part of our organised tour, the staff we're very helpful and the place is in a lovely location.
Our log cabin had very close views of the volcano and was very spacious with our own terrace.
The restaurant was good, we had a la carte diner which was very nice, the breakfasts we're buffet style and again very good.
The pool was nice, with a water fountain but cold, and the hot tub was out of order.
We organised a kayaking tour of the lake from the hotel, which was a highlight of our trip, we had our own personal tour guide kayake with us around the lake, he was very knowledgable of the history and flora and fauna of the area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing