We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class hotel at mid-range price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top class hotel at mid-range price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Best hotel we've stayed at so far in costs rica. Stunning views, beautifully landscaped, spacious and stylish rooms. Great value at $125 for a double. (Also 2 doubles in every room, have 4 sharing and it's just $41 per person.)

Food was superb too ($70 for 3) with a magnificent view of rainforest-covered mountain.

This really felt like a bit of luxury at an affordable price.

Henry

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    374
    64
    7
    16
See reviews for
317
768
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
298 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Luxury wooden bungalows with a stunning view. The bungalows are very nice and the view form its terrace on the Vulcano are beautiful. The pool and the Jacuzzi were refreshing. While having breakfast we got the full view of the Vulcano, which was the cherry on the pie. Though the hotel is rate as three star, it could have easily been four.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MvdHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This hotel has individual cabins facing Arenal volcano. The views are simply stunning. Every time you look at Arenal there is a different view -- sometime you see all the way to the top, sometimes completely drenched in clouds. Plenty of birds to see early in the morning. Restaurant in hotel is also pretty good. This was our favorite place during our 7 nights in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_S_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a great stay here. Good breakfast, good service.
fridge, balcony, modern bathroom, great views.
I really liked being so close to an active volcano. It is visible while eating breakfast, swimming in the pool, and from the room itself.
This hotel is a little isolated. One must drive up a gravel road for a good three minutes to reach the hotel. But is is nice being isolated and feeling safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed at Lomas del Vulcan the last week of July.The staff were welcoming and attentive. Having my own cabin was great,very private!The bedroom was spacious with 2 double beds and nice quality linens.The rain shower in the bath was especially appreciated .There was a nice front porch with a pretty forest view.Sitting on the back porch enjoying my morning coffee looking at the unobstructed view of Vulcano Arenal was spectacular.Fresh fruits and omelet bar good.The grounds are quite beautiful full of blooming tropicals .The pool and hot tub were quite relaxing after a busy day.Close to town made it easy to enjoy tours and local food and sights.I saw many lovely birds there.On the stretch between the main road and the hotel I saw Toucans!Overall great stay Will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMommaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

If you are looking for a balance of a quality accomodation and a relaxed atmosphere then this is it! The views are amazing, the breakfast buffet that is included is delicious, the front desk staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable for setting up tours and other arrangements and the rooms are actually indivdiual cabins! The pool and hot tub are the perfect way to end the day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmhsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at this hotel. Our cabin was roomy, yet cozy and we had a great view of the Arenal volcano from our rear balcony. The pool/jacuzzi area is surrounded by nature; perfect for a romantic swim. Breakfast was great and provided many options for everyone. I enjoyed eating in the open air and taking in the beauty of CR. The only downside is that the hotel is far from the main road so we had to call a taxi to get into town. It was not a big deal though.

A hotel is only as good as its staff so I do have to give a shout out to the people who made our stay amazing:

1) Our maid, Mercedes, who kept our room spotless every single day
2) The waiter who delivered our dinner in the pouring rain
3) The waiter who let us sample the arroz con leche (YUM!)
4) The entire kitchen staff, who prepared our delicious meals and provided accommodations when necessary
5) The receptionist, Johnathan, who chatted with us every morning and answered all of our questions.

Gracias a todos por ser tan maravillosos!

I would definitely recommend Lomas del Volcán to anyone visiting La Fortuna. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing