We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here as a family (3 kids- ages 10,8,6). The cabins were spacious and clean. They added an extra bed for us. The breakfast was the same every morning, but was good. The pool was perfect for the kids. The cabin and eating area offered fantastic views of the volcano. It was quiet yet very accomadating of the kids.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabAmiNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi people.

There is no much to say than thank you deeply much. For us it was a great pleasure to have you and your family visiting us.
Remember we will be here anxious to serve you again the next time.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was the first hotel we arrived at in Costa Rica and amongst all the hotels we stayed at, this one is the most memorable. Perhaps we were not sure what to expect, were expecting the worst, and this hotel surpassed our expectations. Our budget was moderate and the hotel is excellent value for money. The views from our room were amazing. The early morning Costa Rican coffee in our backyard was a memorable experience. The backyard opened to the Volcano - fantastic unobstructed views. Breakfast was very good - fresh fruits, fresh cheese, fruit juices etc. Just go early before other guests eat away the good food :)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a direct view of the Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello people.

Thank you for your contribution regarding Lomas del Volcan reviews on this website.
For us it is a pleasure serve the people staying at our hotel and we are very happy to know that our hotel was the right place for you people. Remember this is your second home and now you know the way to our Lodge, we will be here waiting for you with our arms wide open.

Greetings and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. Originally we booked for only one night for the start of our trip trough Costa Rica, but because it is such a beautiful place we booked an extra night. This is the place to be when you need a restful place, a place to relax and enjoy the beautiful nature. the view on the the volcano from the room we had was absolutely amazing. But also the gardens al over the hotel are beautiful, with an enormous variety of plants and flowers. The breakfast and food in the open garden restaurant is very good. The whole staff is very friendly and helpful, whats makes it complete when you speak about excellent.
The hotel has a good location for visiting the area of the volcano, the waterfalls and the lake. You can do this on your own or organized by the hotel. We went for the night 'frog' walk organized by the hotel. This turned out to be one of our top experiences of our trip on Costa Rica.
Leaving Lomas del Volcan to continue our trip was a sad moment, we knew that it would be very difficult to find a place lake this ever again.

Room Tip: excellent views in rooms 503, 507 and 509 (the rest is also very nice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi people.

Nice to read from you here on this website.
We really appreciate your contribution to our hotel with this excellente review which is a clear example about what our team work and facilities offer to the visitors. We hope that it does not be the only occasion you come to our lodge, we hope this be the first of many more.

We send you a special greeting from Hotel Lomas del Volcán´s staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

with excellent view to the vulcan, good service and nice people!! strong recomend! good breakfast.
pool - jacuzzi. quite!
we had a nice 3 daz stay here. about 15km to the park entrance. about 3km to the city la fortuna

Room Tip: rooms with view to the vulcan possbible, own bungalow for each room! nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chako77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hi.

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad the hotel has been of your entire satisfaction.

We hope to have you back very soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked our honeymoon through Travel By Jen and Debbie suggested this resort. I must say that the pictures do not justify the beauty and tranquility of this resort. We arrived there at night and after the huge sign on the road, the adventure to reach the main lobby and resort started. Its an unpaved road but it was an adventure driving on it. The beauty of the place is that its far away from the main road and our independent cabin was smack in front of the Arenal Volcano. The property is beautifully maintained and manicured and the staff is super friendly, as all local people over there. Super clean rooms with huge spacious bathrooms! The mattresses were spring ones and took me a day to get used to it. In short, you cannot go wrong with Lomas Del Volcan! Thank you very much to all the staff for just being awesome!

Room Tip: Try to get the cabin that has no obstruction from the back yard. As soon as I woke up, I used to ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adnan_ansaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Adnan, thank you very much for this positive comment on Trip Advisor.
We really enjoy to read what people think about our hotel after they have stayed here with us and specially when the comments are very positive reviews. We are proud that you have selected us for your honey moon and we hope that for new trips in the future, you come and visit us again. We will be here waiting for you.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked our trip through Anywhere Costa Rica and they put us in Lomas del Volcan for our first few days in Costa Rica. The only complaint I have is that we didn't have enough time there! The rooms are immaculate, extremely clean and spacious, with a private patio, and the most amazing view of the volcano. You really get a sense of privacy at this hotel because you stay in your own little wooden cottage. The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. If you choose this hotel, just be prepared to pay for a taxi to go anywhere, because there is a really long entrance and it's kind of far from the centre of town (but it's worth it!).Thanks for an amazing time!

Room Tip: ask a room closer to the volcano for a great morning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daynaashame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Dayna.

We hope you and your friend are well back at home.
We appreciate your feedback about your stay in our lodge and we hope you return to Lomas del Volcan very soon. It was a pleasure for us serving you both and next time you come to stay with us, please consider a longer stay because this is the only way to do all the activities available in Arenal. Remeber you are always welcome in our lodge.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The bungalows are placed in very nice garden. The bungalow was spacious, clean, comfortable and air conditioned with large bathroom and private terace. Wifi on room. The view was beautiful - to garden and Arenal Volcano. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was traditional and tasty. We din't use pool, because we had many trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman_Dita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Roman.

Nice to read from you on this webpage. Thank you very much for your kind review respect to your stay here in our lodge.
We hope to have you back soon. We wait for you with open arms!

Warm greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,085 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,918 reviews
3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing