We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a senic and secluded stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a senic and secluded stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

There were not many hotels/resorts in the vicinity of Los Lomas but once you get up the road to the property you will be surprised by the amazing scenery. We were there during off season so it was not full but it was a great stay. Staff is friendly, only had breakfast at the resort-ok. But there are restaurants in the area, really helps if you have your own car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Ricky C!

Thank you for your comment on this website.

It was a great pleasure to have you here at Lomas del Volcán Hotel and we hope to have your visit again in the future.
Yes, having your own car helps a lot when you travel in a country like Costa Rica due that some of the most outstanding atractions and national parks are far from the main cities . This is very important for the people to know they are coming to a country on multiple contrasts and some times to see an atraction you need to drive 4, 5 or more hours to get to that dream place. Here in Arenal we are not the exception, the best places to see and places to stay are away from the crowded town and away from the noise and I don´t think none wants to come to a place plenty of disturbing vehicles and all kind of noises. We are located in a private farm at a distance of 4,5km from the town of La Fortuna which is a blessing location that you know already.
We want to invite the people to come and explore the whole area and see the trip really worth it does not matter the time, money or distance.


Kind regards and we hope you come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    364
    62
    7
    16
See reviews for
293
728
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was excellent, landscaping is gorgeous and the cabins are very clean and spacious, definetly a place to go back, people are very friendly and helpful. The volcano has two views, one is the green side of it and the other one is the burn side by the lake, this hotel is located at the green side and has a nice trail to walk and get very close for a nice picture. My friends from ME loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi MarioC.

We are grateful with your very positive review about your stay in our lodge and we hope to have your prescence in Lomas del Volcán many more times.
Thank you for coming and remember here you have your second home.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and loved the view to the Vulcano Arenal on our arriving day! The property is well mantained and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The bungalows are quite big, spacious and clean.
There is buffet for breakfast, nothing special but nothing to complain.
It's about 1.5 km from the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow with a great view to the vulcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_traveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on Lomas del Volcán. It is always a pleasure for us to read what our guests think about our lodge and services offered herein.
We hope to have your visit again next time you come to Costa Rica.

Warm regards from our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here as a family (3 kids- ages 10,8,6). The cabins were spacious and clean. They added an extra bed for us. The breakfast was the same every morning, but was good. The pool was perfect for the kids. The cabin and eating area offered fantastic views of the volcano. It was quiet yet very accomadating of the kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabAmiNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi people.

There is no much to say than thank you deeply much. For us it was a great pleasure to have you and your family visiting us.
Remember we will be here anxious to serve you again the next time.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was the first hotel we arrived at in Costa Rica and amongst all the hotels we stayed at, this one is the most memorable. Perhaps we were not sure what to expect, were expecting the worst, and this hotel surpassed our expectations. Our budget was moderate and the hotel is excellent value for money. The views from our room were amazing. The early morning Costa Rican coffee in our backyard was a memorable experience. The backyard opened to the Volcano - fantastic unobstructed views. Breakfast was very good - fresh fruits, fresh cheese, fruit juices etc. Just go early before other guests eat away the good food :)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a direct view of the Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hello people.

Thank you for your contribution regarding Lomas del Volcan reviews on this website.
For us it is a pleasure serve the people staying at our hotel and we are very happy to know that our hotel was the right place for you people. Remember this is your second home and now you know the way to our Lodge, we will be here waiting for you with our arms wide open.

Greetings and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. Originally we booked for only one night for the start of our trip trough Costa Rica, but because it is such a beautiful place we booked an extra night. This is the place to be when you need a restful place, a place to relax and enjoy the beautiful nature. the view on the the volcano from the room we had was absolutely amazing. But also the gardens al over the hotel are beautiful, with an enormous variety of plants and flowers. The breakfast and food in the open garden restaurant is very good. The whole staff is very friendly and helpful, whats makes it complete when you speak about excellent.
The hotel has a good location for visiting the area of the volcano, the waterfalls and the lake. You can do this on your own or organized by the hotel. We went for the night 'frog' walk organized by the hotel. This turned out to be one of our top experiences of our trip on Costa Rica.
Leaving Lomas del Volcan to continue our trip was a sad moment, we knew that it would be very difficult to find a place lake this ever again.

Room Tip: excellent views in rooms 503, 507 and 509 (the rest is also very nice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi people.

Nice to read from you here on this website.
We really appreciate your contribution to our hotel with this excellente review which is a clear example about what our team work and facilities offer to the visitors. We hope that it does not be the only occasion you come to our lodge, we hope this be the first of many more.

We send you a special greeting from Hotel Lomas del Volcán´s staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

with excellent view to the vulcan, good service and nice people!! strong recomend! good breakfast.
pool - jacuzzi. quite!
we had a nice 3 daz stay here. about 15km to the park entrance. about 3km to the city la fortuna

Room Tip: rooms with view to the vulcan possbible, own bungalow for each room! nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chako77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi.

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad the hotel has been of your entire satisfaction.

We hope to have you back very soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing