We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Incredible Hideaway”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We can't say enough about how wonderful Lomas Del Volcan is! We spent 5 days there and loved it. Lomas Del Volcan is an absolutely beautiful resort. Our cabin (404) backed onto a forested area and is close to the pool,hot tub, front desk and the restaurant. Yet it is far enough away from other cabins and the facilities that we were never disturbed. We spent many hours sitting on our rear balcony enjoying watching the birds flitting through the area. There is a 1.5 km trail at the rear of the resort that runs right into the rainforest. It is uphill for about 800 metres, so it is a great hike. The grounds are impeccably cared for as are the cabins, which are clean and spacious. The water pressure is great. December, despite being identified as being part of the 'dry' season, is still quite wet so we had a lot of rain during our visit. Luckily the hot tub is covered and we enjoyed using it. The hot tub along with the pool is very well tended. Towels can be borrowed at the front desk. The staff are wonderfully accommodating, friendly and are willing to go above and beyond to help you in any way. The town is not far away and the staff at the front desk will call an official CR taxi for you. A taxi ride to town is only $6, (using the official red taxis of Costa Rica). Be sure to always tell the driver to turn the meter on when you get in, otherwise they may decide to get creative about the cost of the drive. Not far away is EcoTermales (about $8 by cab), one of the many hot springs in the area. If you want a quiet, tranquil setting, this is the spot. If you want noise and a party atmosphere go elsewhere please. The view of the volcano from the restaurant is superb. Several native fauna will visit the lawn outside the restaurant during your visit. We saw a Coati as well as several Curasow, toucans,humming birds and other small colourful birds. The restaurant serves both Tico and international cuisine, so you have a selection of meals for lunch and dinner, with the price being $12-$16 on average (steak costs more). Restaurant staff are happy to accommodate special requests i.e. bacon at breakfast when it was not normally being served as part of the buffet. While there, we celebrated a birthday and without any special request the staff and management made it a very special day.
We have no negative comments to make about this resort, it is the best choice for a stay in Arenal and you will not be disappointed. A big thank you to all the staff at Lomas Del Volcan!

Room Tip: ask for the 400-500 series
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heyitsles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear people.

Thank you very much for this review. We really apreciate that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and we hope you come back some day. We will be here and we will be glad to have you again in Lomas del Volcán. This is your second home.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    384
    64
    7
    16
See reviews for
322
795
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We arrived at La Fortuna and were lucky enough to find this amazing hotel. Don't be fooled by some of the big resorts with hot springs, they are sadly overrated. Lomas del Volcan far and away surpassed them and our expectations. The casitas are gorgeous with lots of gleaming wood and big bathrooms. Whether you have views of the volcano or the tropical garden like grounds, you will not be disappointed. Everything was clean, the service top notch, and the food was amazing. The front desk can also arrange tours for you, which was super convenient. We did an ATV tour and loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi.

In name of the staff of Lomas del Volcán we say thank you for this very positive review regarding Lomas del Volcán.
We hope the next time you come to Arenal you stay with us again and have the oportunity of experience one more time to be in a mountain lodge like ours is.
Remeber this is your second home and we will be here the next time you decide to come back.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was the most amazing lodging I have ever had! Our cabin/bungalow (507) was at the foot of Arenal volcano. We watched the volcano emerge from the morning fog every day, with freshly brewed Costa Rican coffee in hand, truly spectacular. A short walk to the dining/pool area with really excellent breakfast buffet every morning included in the price. Servers & desk personnel were also top notch, very welcoming & helpful.

The bungalows are lovely inside, very comfy beds, great bedding, clean, giant shower, cold A/C. The teak workwork is exquisite.

This facility is isolated, primarily due to the rather long, rough drive from the main road to the lodge, but close to La Fortuna and all it has to offer. Truly the best of both worlds.

Tip--you will drive right by this place if you don't pay attention. The signs identifying it as the Lomas del Volcan are certainly large enough, that is not the problem....the issue is that the sign is located back from the main road and parallel the road, you can only read it if you crank your head 90 degrees to the side!! In the black of night, this can be really frustrating ;-)

Room Tip: Get 507 if at all possible...its the closest to the foot of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi.

We just can say thank you very much for coming and share with us.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our lodge and we hope to have you back soon.

Warm regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Would highly recommend it if you want a perfect view of the volcano. This place is where you should go if you want beauty and peacefulness. The rooms are a bit dark. Wifi worked on our deck. Bring a hair dryer if you need one. Overall, we were very happy we chose this hotel. When in LaFortuna area we would stay here.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskatchewan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear people.

Thank you for your for you time to write this review of Lomas del Volcán.
We hope you have had a wonderful stay with us and also in Arenal Area.
About the light in the rooms we will check with our maintenance staff and try to find a solution for this issue. We need to clear that we use energy saver bulbs in all the rooms and this way contribute to preserve our natural resources, maybe they are not bright enough, please let us know which room you were staying and we go and verify this.

Warm regards and we hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,130 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Most have volcano view from one of the 2 terraces. Nice pool, jacuzzi warm, not hot. Good breakfast eggs made to order. Good dinner selection or sometimes dinner buffet. Bar away from bungalows. Large groups 45 people arriving weekly. Beer $4.50 impoted more. Supermarket just a mile prior.shops next to church plaza. Great location for numerous attractions.
should be 4 stars in the US. Recommended MeuterMedia

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi.

Thank you very much for your feedback on this website and also for the extra star, we agree with you!

We hope you have really enjoyed your stay here with us and you can come back some day to share in our lodge again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I spent 4.5 days at Lomas Del Volcan and enjoyed our stay in cabin 503. The property is tucked away from the road at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. The grounds are gorgeous: lush, green, and well maintained. Lots of wildlife on the property, mainly birds and pizotes (coatis). The cabins are large, clean, and includes a safe, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat screen television and air conditioning unit. The bathroom is also large and the walk-in shower was huge. Breakfast was fantastic; pinto gallo, fried plantains, omelette station, pancakes, fruit, toast, sausage, cereal, juice, and yummy coffee con leche! We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Hints: Cab rides into town can be arranged at the front desk (average $6 to $8). If you're used to shampoo and conditioner, bring your own--hotel is pretty basic when it comes to toiletries. Hair dryers are available at the front desk. Tours can be booked through the hotel. There are no ATMs on grounds. The property is about 30 minutes walking distance into town. If you're adventurous, walking into town during the day is fine. At night is another story: pitch dark, windy roads--don't do it. The hotel doesn't have a gift shop, so if you need sunscreen, mosquito repellant, rain ponchos etc...you'll have to go into town.

Suggestions for hotel: Give the guests an option of having some type of breakfast/meal available for those who have tours scheduled before normal breakfast service. Perhaps have the bar opened past 10:00 on the weekends (Friday and Saturday). Mimosas would have been a fantastic addition to the wonderful breakfast!

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirl92114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi.
Thank you so much for this feedback.
We are glad you have come to experience our lodge and you had some good impression during your stay.
As everywhere our hotel has schedules for everything, including for the breakfast time and the bar. We normally have the option for breakfast to bring , but with a previous order the night prior. This is for those people going on an early tour or in case they have to leave early for the next destination.
About the breakfast selections we serve a wide buffet which has differente options for all the demanding tastes: eggs, egg omelets with options of ham, processed cheese, onion, red bell pepper, also, toasts, fruits of the season, rice and beans, sausage, fresh cheese, panckaes, maple syrup, marmelades, yogurt, natural juices homemade, cofee, milk, cereals, minced vegetables, etc. So we think this is a very complete breakfast and about the "mimosas", they are not part of the traditional breakfast that we offer at our restaurant. Most of the time we can satisfy special requests with an extra charge and we are so sure we can prepare mimosas for you the next time you visit us. So, the next time please let us know that you are coming and this way we will get ready for attending you as you deserve.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The location is prime for views of the volcano and the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well appointed. Unlike other reviewers, I did not find the staff especially friendly or helpful, particularly the front desk staff. I stayed at four other places in CR and this staff was the least friendly of the group. I did notice it was the same front desk staff always on service, so I could imagine that working as much as they did it would be difficult to be continually super-friendly to guests. I also liked that it was a cab ride to town, feeling tucked away was nice. As for the cabs, it is good to ask when coming or going their rates before getting into the cab, we found that different taxis tried to charge us anywhere from $5 to $15 for the same ride to/from town. It seemed as though $6 was the average, and a completely fair price.

Room Tip: all the views are nice. They have spaced the cabins so that they all have excellent views of the vol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbytraveller002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear people.

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay here with us but we regret that part concerning the service received from our staff of the front desk wasn´t good at all. Could you please indicate us what exactly was what happend you and who was the clerk or if the entire staff of the front desk seemed to be unhelpfull? It is very important for us to know what happend in order to make the corrections for the future. We do not wish this kind of things or disappointments happens to our guests.
Please, send us an email to info@lomasdelvolcan and you tell us more detail about that issue.

Warm regards and we wait for you e-mail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing