We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel right next to the Volcano!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel right next to the Volcano!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in Jan. 2014. We stayed in bungalow # 507, it was amazing we were the closest room to the volcano and the view was amazing. We could step out our back door onto the patio and see the base of the volcano (unfortunately it was cloudy and we couldn't see the top of it. On our last day we finally say almost the entire volcano except the very top!) The property of this hotel is wonderful it is set back from the main road so you do not hear road noise at all. The entire property as well as our room was very well kept and maintained. We say a lot of wildlife while sitting on our porch or at breakfast (birds, lizards, toucans, etc). The breakfast that comes with the price of the meal was amazing! Each morning they had a buffet along with made to order eggs. There was fresh fruit, pancakes, yogurt, plantains, rice, potatoes, coffee, and tons more. To get to town it only took us 5/7 minutes to drive there and most of the drive is to get off the hotel property and on the main road. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and we would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: room 507 was very close to the volcano and there were no other rooms blocking your view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Allison.

Thank you for your visit to our mountain lodge. We hope you had a wonderful time staying with us in Lomas del Volcan. We would like to see you back some day and remember this is your second home here in Arenal.
Please, tell your friends and family about how wonderful your stay was at Lomas and remember here we are, now your friends, and try to come back some day.

Warm regards.

The Lomas del Volcan staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    399
    65
    8
    16
See reviews for
347
817
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed there for a night and had the chance to use the pool and jacuzzi! You can see the volcano from the pool and your back window or terrace!! The bungalows are very comfortable, extremely clean, the staff are helpful and the breakfast is complete: Fruit, cheese, omelettes, yoghurt, cereals, toasts, marmelade, and typical food. We got to see some birds and local fauna during breakfast. The only drawback we didn t mind, but some people may, is the fact that some bungalows are up the steep paths and it s not comfortable. All in all we loved the place! very well kept and nice looking gardens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceci1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Ceci1967.

Thank you very much for coming to our mountain lodge.
To all our guest coming to our resort, please understand that as we are located at the foot hill of Arenal our ground is not flat, it is very irregular but not steep. Despite the special topography we have, our restaurant, swimming pool, jacuzzy and great part of our gardens are flat but as you go closer to the hills the topography turns irregular too.
We hope this little issue of grounds not be a true problem for a next trip to Arenal and in case you come back you stay with us again.

It will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night in December to see the Arenal area. We absolutely loved the hotel!

The hotel is very clean and nicely laid out. The food at the restaurant is reasonably priced and has beautiful views of the volcano.

We really enjoyed the bungalow style rooms for privacy.

We used the hotel to book the canopy tour for us and loved the experience. The tour picked us up at the hotel and brought us back.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello.

Thank you so much for this good comment.
What we notice is that you have marked the quality of your rest with a low score...is there some thing wrong with this topic? If some thing was not ok please let us know to make the proper correction. About the rest of the review we can see you enjoyed your stay very much, some thing we really appreciate and we consider one of the most important things once our guest have checked in at our lodge.

Please get in contact with us if you need to say something else about your stay with us or if something was not right with our service.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west hills, ca
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

we had a lot of rain so no view of anything. however the grounds are lovely, the food just adequate. not a fan of the toilet situation, but the bathroom was large as was the shower. Bedding was hard. I would consider this rustic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear jfd.

Thank you for your visit.
We can see a very low score in all the topics under evaluation. It seems your stay was not pleasant at all and that really worry us. If the guilty of all was the rain, please understan that we can not manage nature and ask her not to send rain as to our convinience. We understand when the people blame us for a bad service or some issues related to our facilities but we are inmerse in a rain forest and rain is the main actress in this case. We really regret that during your stay it was raining all the time and we advice you the driest month of the year is april in case you decide to come back and stay with us again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed there for a night and had the chance to use the pool and jacuzzi! The bungalows are very comfortable, extremely clean, the staff are helpful and the breakfast is complete: Fruit, cheese, omelettes, yoghurt, cereals, toasts, marmelade, and typical food. The only drawback we didn t mind, but some people may, is the fact that some bungalows are up the steep paths and it s not comfortable. All in all we loved the place! very well kept and nice looking gardens. Good price value as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceci1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear people.

Thank you so much for this review about your experience in our mountain lodge.
Yes, the grounds of our property are a little irregular biut not impossible to walk, a very good example is the hundreds and hundreds of elder tourists that one of our most important commercial partner bring us every two days and no complaints at all sin 9 years ago. Well, we respect your point of view and we just can tell the people we are not setting on a flat ground, that we are located on a system of small hills at the foot of the Arenal volcano and most of the surroundings are the same way, so we are not the only hotel with this condition.

Warm regards and we hope to see you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed six days in the cottages and found them to be ideal. They were extremely clean and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful! You could almost imagine that a landscaper appeared daily to care for them. We were amazed by the beautiful plants and the opportunity to view the volcano from our cottage.

The food was excellent with many choices available.

The best thing about staying here is the personnel. We found everyone to be friendly, helpful and generous with their time.

We hope to return and take family members with us!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dove692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hello dear people.

Thank you so much for this feedback so positive.
Please come back and bring all your family, we are sure they deserve to experience the same as you did.
By the time you decide to be back at our lodge we hope to have they same personnel and this way you can feel the same hospitality and familiar treatment.

Salut to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved every minute of it! Our cottage was very comfortable and clean. We had a beautiful view of the volcano from our back sitting area. The grounds are beautifully manicured. They even have a private hiking trail behind the property where we saw howler monkeys and an anteater. The hotel staff was very friendly and help us book several tours. They have a free breakfast that has many options including fresh pineapple and papaya. We found the hotel's restaurant to be very good and the prices were reasonable.

The hotel is less than a 10 minute taxi ride to town and cost us normally about $3-4.

The hotel is located on the side of the volcano, so getting to some of the cottages requires walking up steep drives. This was not a problem for us, but I can see it being a challenge for other people. They do have cottages that are closer to the main building and don't require walking up steep drives, I would just request that they give you one of these rooms if you have trouble walking up steep slopes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Osusnwbrder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hi.

Great appreciation for this great review.
People, thank you for your choice on Lomas del Volcan on your vacations, for us it is very important to know your point of view related to our service, facilities and treatment. Most of the time, when we see people coming we try to offer the best views from our rooms and the best location of them. It is true that sometimes some people prefer not to walk many steps to get to the room and in this case we really appreciate to know in advance some special phisical conditions in order to assign the most appropiate room location, in the high season if we don't have any previous notification it become really impossible to choose where to allocate the people and this kind of issues originate with no inmediate solutuion.

Anyway, here we are and it will be a pleasure for us comply with all your requests.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,851 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing