We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Cabins in the Shadow of the Volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Superior Cabins in the Shadow of the Volcano”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent our second night in La Fortuna at the Hotel Lomas del Volcan. The rooms are "rustic" cabins constructed of beautiful hardwoods. The room was spacious and clean, though a bit dark with only a couple single light bulbs in the main room. There was a patio out back where we could view the forest and animals (birds and coati) in seemingly complete privacy even though we were literally steps away from the pool. The property grounds are stunningly beautiful. The cabins are as close to the volcano as one can be. There is a swimming pool with waterfall and covered hot tub. The restaurant was obviously situated to get a full view of the volcano. We enjoyed our breakfast right beside a grassy garden area where my 5 year old son could run around after he finished his meal. It was cloudy during most of our stay, but luckily the mountain showed herself from top to bottom on our way out. I would highly recommend this property for families with children and others wanting a unique and stunning view of the volcano, just a minute or two outside Fortuna.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are up a steeper hillside. We had cabin 400, which was on a flat drive near the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guests.

We apreciate very much this positive review which is a great contribution to our hotel.
We are glad knowing that your son was very happy running across our beautiful gardens and that you have enjoyed your stay here. We tell you thank you for this time taken to write your thoughts about your experience in our facilities.
Next time, we hope that you consider us in your plans to stay as long as possible and this way you see the volcano much more time.

Warm regards and thank you again for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    384
    64
    7
    16
See reviews for
322
795
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We chose this hotel based upon it's location, individual bungalows and the high ratings on Trip Advisor. We spent 3 nights and had room 506 which we were very happy with. We had an excellent view of the volcano and were off to the side of the grounds away from the higher traffic areas. The attached covered porch is a real treat at all times of the day. The room was very clean with plenty of space.
Low Points; breakfast buffet was edible, just not that good. Other than the egg station the food was mediocre. Truck and bus back up warning signal/noise early in the morning. This happened nearly every morning waking me up.
High Points: Location and grounds are wonderful. Maid and front desk service were top notch. Walking trail at end of property. Dinner meals off the menu were much better than the buffet breakfast.
The good reviews for this property are accurate. I would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the volcano. Some of the rooms in the middle of the grounds appear to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NegrilSalute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear people.

Thank you very much for your feedback.
First, we really appreciate your pros on this review and we worried about what you mention related to the breakfast and the bus. The two main issues have a solution, for breakfast we will speak to our staff of the kitchen to improve quality and variety, about the bus making that noise we will restrict the parking of buses near the rerstaurant and rooms area.
We hope this is not the last time you visit us and we wait to see you back soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the second leg of our Costa Rican honeymoon tour. The hotel was picked by the company we booked through but what a find it turned out to be! We literally sat on our private porch (the hotel consists of individual villas), sipped drinks, and viewed the volcano up close and personal. As with all our Costa Rican experiences so far, the staff is friendly and the food amazing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hi.

It is good to read from you on Trip Advisor.

We feel really glad to find out that you have enjoyed of our facilities and that you left of our mountain lodge having a very positive thought with you. We hope the next time you come to Costa Rica, take a couple days of your time and come to see us again. For now we just wish you the best in your new life, plenty of good things and let you know we will be here by the time necessary waiting for you to come back.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

You couldn't ask for a more picturesque location. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful, and the volcano is literally in the background everywhere you go on site. Our bungalow was spacious and clean, and it was nice to have our own separate oasis. The back patio has a nice table and chairs for relaxing and enjoying the view. The view from pool and the restaurant was amazing. The clouds tend to move fast in La Fortuna, and we were lucky enough to have clear views of the volcano for most of our stay. The breakfast that was included with our stay was more than adequate, and always included fresh juice and fruit as well as an omelet bar. The service was always friendly.
We did walk into town one day and took a cab back because the driveway is about a kilometre long and uphill. Though the walk was doable, I would recommend taking a cab both ways. It's only $3 each way, and it will save you about 40 minutes.
We did the 1.5 nature trail around the property one day, and I wouldn't really recommend it. Since you are on your own, there is no one to point out anything and it really just amounts to a scary walk in the woods where you don't know when you might encounter a snake:)
While staying at the hotel, we were able to see many small exotic birds, as well as a couple of toucans, a coati, and a pheasant like bird.
My only complaint would be that the beds weren't that comfy and squeaked a lot every time you moved.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 479Karenb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hi people.

Thank you so much for this review on Trip Advisor, With your feedback you are contributing to maintenance our high standard of quality and service. We really appreciate about all those good things you mention about our facilities.
Regarding the trail in the woods, we have to clarify to all that at the entrance of the trail we have put an advertisement telling to the people that they enter the forest on their own risk, this due some of the snakes and vipers who live in the tropical rain forest. The trail is self guided, with some esential and very basic signs and we do not see the need to hire a guide to take people to this place, otherwise we would have to charge this walk as an organized tour and is the the original object of the project. We wish to offer to our guests something free and agradable in our property without going out to other locations and spending extra money.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This property is well maintained with beautiful plantings which attract birds by the hundreds. The toucans were a special treat to see in the wild. Our room was a small building set apart from the others and connected by paths and roadways. The rooms were large with bathrooms to match. The building was graced by a small front porch with seating and a rear porch with a table for four. The incline to the various buildings was quite steep and that may be a drawback for some. No shuttle service to the main building was offered. The included breakfast was more than adequate and included something for everyone. One needs to watch the exchange rate at the main desk as it heavily favors the house.

Room Tip: Rooms way from the main building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsmith7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear people.

Thank you very much for your observations about our mountain lodge. You are right, we do not have a shuttle in our facilities because our property is not a huge resort. What we have to say about our exchange rate is that we make the charge of all credit cards in colones, despite our prices are in US dollars when we make the charge we convert dollars into colones due this way the our accounting is more easy. Remember in Costa Rica the exchange rate is held by the sale and the buy and these could vary many times the same day
We really appreciate your good impression regarding the good quality of our breakfast and we hope to have your visit very soon again.

Thank you again for the time taken to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we loved the experience here , we could see the volcano mountain everyday at breakfast . it is a well kept facility and the rooms are maintained very clean . we were able to see the volcano from our window too . just beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minchu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello dear people.

As we say here, you went right to the point and right to the point we tell you thank you so much , first for coming and make us part of your vacation in Costa Rica, and second for the time you have taken to write these few lines about our facilities.

We hope in the future you decide to come back and visit us again, we will be here in the same place waiting for you with our arms wide open.

Your friends of Lomas del Volcan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, VA.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

OMG! OMG! OMG! Fabulous! This hotel is located on the "green" side of Arenal volcano, which means that when the volcano was active, the lava flowed on the other side and didn't affect the vegetation. So while when the volcano was active you might not have had as good of a view, I actually prefer this side now because it is quieter and less touristy and closer to the town of La Fortuna. The rooms are little bungalows, but not in the sense of being shabby. They were so elegant! Local woods were used throughout, they were large, elegantly decorated, air-conditioned, comfortable beds, clean, but best of all they have a patio, and if you get one that has a view of the volcano like ours did, the view is to die for. You could just sit out on that patio all day and never tire of the view. Not to mention the birds that you can watch while relaxing in your chair. The restaurant has good food, is never crowded, and the pool is delightful with a huge hot tub that we thoroughly enjoyed….again, with a fabulous view of the volcano. The only drawback is that the wi-fi was spotty in the room, so we had to go to the restaurant, bar, or lobby to use wi-fi. Which didn't bother me at all. I would definitely recommend this property over the big fancy hotels on the other side of the volcano that are much more touristy and some of them I thought even looked glitzy-tacky.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that has a view of the volcano from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Beth.

We really tell you thank you for this appreciation about our mountain hotel. We let you know that we are working to improve the wifi conection from the rooms, this way our future guests including you, won´t have to go to the front desk or restaurant to get conection. Anyway, we do not charge for the service and for the moment this is what we can offer to our guests but very soon all of our visitors will enjoy internet from every single corner of our property.

One more time, thank you for your visit and for placing your comments here on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing