We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveller rating
1,281
495
75
12
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,281
495
75
12
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch arenal volcano costa rica individual cabins hot tub huge bathroom front porch caravan tour the cottages private bungalow unobstructed view amazing views omelette station exotic birds close to la fortuna howler monkeys beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
990 - 995 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had lodge 507 and had a wonderful view of the volcano all the time we were there. The lodge was lovely and we especially enjoyed the private balcony where we sat and watched the birds, also watched the resident coati! Up its own long driveway Lomas is well away from any traffic noise so it was lovely and quiet. The grounds are well kept, staff polite and friendly, food is plentiful. I would recommend the hotel to everyone.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnneD5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi!

Thank you very much for your contribution to this site regarding your stay at our hotel.
Why the low score if we can read that everything was perfect for you at our facilities?
If something was not good at all please get in contac at info@lomasdelvolcan.com and this way we may change the direction the way we are doing the things here.
Now, what makes us really happy is to read that our staff was friendly and polite and that the grounds were of your choice, this is part of our service and we hope to be better day by day.
The next trip to Costa Rica, please come and stay with us, we will make a huge effort to rise up that score.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The grounds at Lomas del Volcan are very beautiful. We had a cabin at the very end which was a 5 to 10 minute steep uphill walk from reception and the restaurant. The cabin was very nice with a balcony and a large bathroom. The only drawback to the hotel is the distance from town. If you don't have a car you need to take a taxi to get anywhere (about $6 to town). We walked once and it took about 45 minutes along a dusty road.
We walked along the wildlife trail but only saw a small frog. We saw a coati, parakeets, toucans and other birds in the hotel grounds. We were stumped by a chirping sound from our roof whenever we were in our cabin and then learned that it was geckos.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi.

Thank for you time and for this feedback about your experience in our mountain lodge.
Since we are a rain forest lodge we are far apart from the noisy town of La Fortuna and from the road that run to the Arenal Volcano. The acces road to our hotel is far as 1,5Km from the main one and part of it is gravel and part is made of concrete bricks, getting to our hotel without a car is a hard task but not impossible, and as you mentioned,there is a taxi service running all day long from and to the town and getting a taxi is very easy. We really appreciate your effort to come and stay with us considering that you did not have a transportation mean and despite of this you decided to come and share with us. For the next time you know already the conditions to get to Lomas and this way you can get ready renting a car, this way you can move around easily and come and go without spending extra money.

Warm regards and see you the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent our second night in La Fortuna at the Hotel Lomas del Volcan. The rooms are "rustic" cabins constructed of beautiful hardwoods. The room was spacious and clean, though a bit dark with only a couple single light bulbs in the main room. There was a patio out back where we could view the forest and animals (birds and coati) in seemingly complete privacy even though we were literally steps away from the pool. The property grounds are stunningly beautiful. The cabins are as close to the volcano as one can be. There is a swimming pool with waterfall and covered hot tub. The restaurant was obviously situated to get a full view of the volcano. We enjoyed our breakfast right beside a grassy garden area where my 5 year old son could run around after he finished his meal. It was cloudy during most of our stay, but luckily the mountain showed herself from top to bottom on our way out. I would highly recommend this property for families with children and others wanting a unique and stunning view of the volcano, just a minute or two outside Fortuna.

Room tip: Some of the cabins are up a steeper hillside. We had cabin 400, which was on a flat drive near the pool, office, and restaurant.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear guests.

We apreciate very much this positive review which is a great contribution to our hotel.
We are glad knowing that your son was very happy running across our beautiful gardens and that you have enjoyed your stay here. We tell you thank you for this time taken to write your thoughts about your experience in our facilities.
Next time, we hope that you consider us in your plans to stay as long as possible and this way you see the volcano much more time.

Warm regards and thank you again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We chose this hotel based upon it's location, individual bungalows and the high ratings on Trip Advisor. We spent 3 nights and had room 506 which we were very happy with. We had an excellent view of the volcano and were off to the side of the grounds away from the higher traffic areas. The attached covered porch is a real treat at all times of the day. The room was very clean with plenty of space.
Low Points; breakfast buffet was edible, just not that good. Other than the egg station the food was mediocre. Truck and bus back up warning signal/noise early in the morning. This happened nearly every morning waking me up.
High Points: Location and grounds are wonderful. Maid and front desk service were top notch. Walking trail at end of property. Dinner meals off the menu were much better than the buffet breakfast.
The good reviews for this property are accurate. I would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room tip: Try to get a room closer to the volcano. Some of the rooms in the middle of the grounds appear to not have as good a view and will have more traffic around them.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NegrilSalute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear people.

Thank you very much for your feedback.
First, we really appreciate your pros on this review and we worried about what you mention related to the breakfast and the bus. The two main issues have a solution, for breakfast we will speak to our staff of the kitchen to improve quality and variety, about the bus making that noise we will restrict the parking of buses near the rerstaurant and rooms area.
We hope this is not the last time you visit us and we wait to see you back soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the second leg of our Costa Rican honeymoon tour. The hotel was picked by the company we booked through but what a find it turned out to be! We literally sat on our private porch (the hotel consists of individual villas), sipped drinks, and viewed the volcano up close and personal. As with all our Costa Rican experiences so far, the staff is friendly and the food amazing.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas Del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi.

It is good to read from you on Trip Advisor.

We feel really glad to find out that you have enjoyed of our facilities and that you left of our mountain lodge having a very positive thought with you. We hope the next time you come to Costa Rica, take a couple days of your time and come to see us again. For now we just wish you the best in your new life, plenty of good things and let you know we will be here by the time necessary waiting for you to come back.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews