We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Imagine, a country cabin in the foothills of a volcano. Beatifully manicured landscape, tropical climate, picture postcard views in all directions. This is paradise or the closest thing to it. The cabins are gorgeous, superbly appointed and simply outstanding comfort. The grounds are imaculate. Birds, flowers, trees and the sounds of nature all in the shadow of a magnificent volcano. Excellent food and drink in the restaurant, a beautiful pool and a friendly staff that caters to all your needs. It is easy to see why this location gets so many rave reviews on Tripadvisor. It is truly a Costa Rican jewel that must be experienced. It is truly a place which is very hard to leave.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room on the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Howdel.

It is nice to read from you here.
Thank you for your visit and for your good comments about our mountain lodge.
We hope to see you again and the next time you come to Costa Rica, you take a couple days for visiting us.

We will be here waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had lodge 507 and had a wonderful view of the volcano all the time we were there. The lodge was lovely and we especially enjoyed the private balcony where we sat and watched the birds, also watched the resident coati! Up its own long driveway Lomas is well away from any traffic noise so it was lovely and quiet. The grounds are well kept, staff polite and friendly, food is plentiful. I would recommend the hotel to everyone.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnneD5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi!

Thank you very much for your contribution to this site regarding your stay at our hotel.
Why the low score if we can read that everything was perfect for you at our facilities?
If something was not good at all please get in contac at info@lomasdelvolcan.com and this way we may change the direction the way we are doing the things here.
Now, what makes us really happy is to read that our staff was friendly and polite and that the grounds were of your choice, this is part of our service and we hope to be better day by day.
The next trip to Costa Rica, please come and stay with us, we will make a huge effort to rise up that score.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The grounds at Lomas del Volcan are very beautiful. We had a cabin at the very end which was a 5 to 10 minute steep uphill walk from reception and the restaurant. The cabin was very nice with a balcony and a large bathroom. The only drawback to the hotel is the distance from town. If you don't have a car you need to take a taxi to get anywhere (about $6 to town). We walked once and it took about 45 minutes along a dusty road.
We walked along the wildlife trail but only saw a small frog. We saw a coati, parakeets, toucans and other birds in the hotel grounds. We were stumped by a chirping sound from our roof whenever we were in our cabin and then learned that it was geckos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi.

Thank for you time and for this feedback about your experience in our mountain lodge.
Since we are a rain forest lodge we are far apart from the noisy town of La Fortuna and from the road that run to the Arenal Volcano. The acces road to our hotel is far as 1,5Km from the main one and part of it is gravel and part is made of concrete bricks, getting to our hotel without a car is a hard task but not impossible, and as you mentioned,there is a taxi service running all day long from and to the town and getting a taxi is very easy. We really appreciate your effort to come and stay with us considering that you did not have a transportation mean and despite of this you decided to come and share with us. For the next time you know already the conditions to get to Lomas and this way you can get ready renting a car, this way you can move around easily and come and go without spending extra money.

Warm regards and see you the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent our second night in La Fortuna at the Hotel Lomas del Volcan. The rooms are "rustic" cabins constructed of beautiful hardwoods. The room was spacious and clean, though a bit dark with only a couple single light bulbs in the main room. There was a patio out back where we could view the forest and animals (birds and coati) in seemingly complete privacy even though we were literally steps away from the pool. The property grounds are stunningly beautiful. The cabins are as close to the volcano as one can be. There is a swimming pool with waterfall and covered hot tub. The restaurant was obviously situated to get a full view of the volcano. We enjoyed our breakfast right beside a grassy garden area where my 5 year old son could run around after he finished his meal. It was cloudy during most of our stay, but luckily the mountain showed herself from top to bottom on our way out. I would highly recommend this property for families with children and others wanting a unique and stunning view of the volcano, just a minute or two outside Fortuna.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are up a steeper hillside. We had cabin 400, which was on a flat drive near the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear guests.

We apreciate very much this positive review which is a great contribution to our hotel.
We are glad knowing that your son was very happy running across our beautiful gardens and that you have enjoyed your stay here. We tell you thank you for this time taken to write your thoughts about your experience in our facilities.
Next time, we hope that you consider us in your plans to stay as long as possible and this way you see the volcano much more time.

Warm regards and thank you again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We chose this hotel based upon it's location, individual bungalows and the high ratings on Trip Advisor. We spent 3 nights and had room 506 which we were very happy with. We had an excellent view of the volcano and were off to the side of the grounds away from the higher traffic areas. The attached covered porch is a real treat at all times of the day. The room was very clean with plenty of space.
Low Points; breakfast buffet was edible, just not that good. Other than the egg station the food was mediocre. Truck and bus back up warning signal/noise early in the morning. This happened nearly every morning waking me up.
High Points: Location and grounds are wonderful. Maid and front desk service were top notch. Walking trail at end of property. Dinner meals off the menu were much better than the buffet breakfast.
The good reviews for this property are accurate. I would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the volcano. Some of the rooms in the middle of the grounds appear to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NegrilSalute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear people.

Thank you very much for your feedback.
First, we really appreciate your pros on this review and we worried about what you mention related to the breakfast and the bus. The two main issues have a solution, for breakfast we will speak to our staff of the kitchen to improve quality and variety, about the bus making that noise we will restrict the parking of buses near the rerstaurant and rooms area.
We hope this is not the last time you visit us and we wait to see you back soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the second leg of our Costa Rican honeymoon tour. The hotel was picked by the company we booked through but what a find it turned out to be! We literally sat on our private porch (the hotel consists of individual villas), sipped drinks, and viewed the volcano up close and personal. As with all our Costa Rican experiences so far, the staff is friendly and the food amazing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi.

It is good to read from you on Trip Advisor.

We feel really glad to find out that you have enjoyed of our facilities and that you left of our mountain lodge having a very positive thought with you. We hope the next time you come to Costa Rica, take a couple days of your time and come to see us again. For now we just wish you the best in your new life, plenty of good things and let you know we will be here by the time necessary waiting for you to come back.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

You couldn't ask for a more picturesque location. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful, and the volcano is literally in the background everywhere you go on site. Our bungalow was spacious and clean, and it was nice to have our own separate oasis. The back patio has a nice table and chairs for relaxing and enjoying the view. The view from pool and the restaurant was amazing. The clouds tend to move fast in La Fortuna, and we were lucky enough to have clear views of the volcano for most of our stay. The breakfast that was included with our stay was more than adequate, and always included fresh juice and fruit as well as an omelet bar. The service was always friendly.
We did walk into town one day and took a cab back because the driveway is about a kilometre long and uphill. Though the walk was doable, I would recommend taking a cab both ways. It's only $3 each way, and it will save you about 40 minutes.
We did the 1.5 nature trail around the property one day, and I wouldn't really recommend it. Since you are on your own, there is no one to point out anything and it really just amounts to a scary walk in the woods where you don't know when you might encounter a snake:)
While staying at the hotel, we were able to see many small exotic birds, as well as a couple of toucans, a coati, and a pheasant like bird.
My only complaint would be that the beds weren't that comfy and squeaked a lot every time you moved.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 479Karenb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi people.

Thank you so much for this review on Trip Advisor, With your feedback you are contributing to maintenance our high standard of quality and service. We really appreciate about all those good things you mention about our facilities.
Regarding the trail in the woods, we have to clarify to all that at the entrance of the trail we have put an advertisement telling to the people that they enter the forest on their own risk, this due some of the snakes and vipers who live in the tropical rain forest. The trail is self guided, with some esential and very basic signs and we do not see the need to hire a guide to take people to this place, otherwise we would have to charge this walk as an organized tour and is the the original object of the project. We wish to offer to our guests something free and agradable in our property without going out to other locations and spending extra money.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,151 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,950 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,951 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £65 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing