We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights here as part of a Caravan tour. The property is gorgeous. Beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers. Lots of birds and animals. Every room is an individual rustic type bungalow with magnificent views of the volcano. Each room has a table and chairs outside in the front, back porch with seating and a refrigerator. The bathroom is enormous. The pool area is very nice. Food is buffet style. The wifi is sketchy at best. Hair blowers are at the front desk. If you have laundry, you can give it to the in the morning and have it back later that day. Lighting on the paths to the rooms at night is minimal so a small flashlight is good to have.

My only complaint is significant. Let me preface it by saying the cabins are rustic and made of wood and the doors are not flush. The first night we noticed some ants in the bathroom and on the desk. There were also some tiny flea like insects. The second night I must have killed 20 of these flying insects in 5 minutes that were gravitating to my bed. There were no other available rooms so they sent housekeeping in to completely change the bedding. This seemed to resolve the problem. We think that housekeeping may have left a bathroom window open that didn't have screens and that may have contributed to the problem.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit up hill and have steps to get to the front door. Some are further into the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a Caravan Tour, and we were very happy with our experience! Saw a howler monkey running across a field as we arrived, then saw some toucans in a tree! Very restful area. Indoor/outdoor restaurant with a large delicious buffet. Will always remember lingering over our coffee in the morning, watching the hummingbirds fly from tree to tree, with the volcano in the background!

Room Tip: If you have any problem walking, try to get a cottage near the office/restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A friend from college and I spent a week in Costa Rica to celebrate our recent birthdays. Everything about Hotel del Volcano was as good as it gets. The rooms were clean, everything in good condition, hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating, included breakfast buffet was unbelievable, lunch and dinner in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced, cottages look out on the volcano, beautiful flowers, landscape, birds, pool. Heavenly. $5.00 cab ride into the "city". I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return if ever back in CR.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage at the very back of the property. I think it's 507. I obstructed vier of vol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We really wanted to love this place, but it has some rough edges. Location is great -- just far enough off the main road to be secluded, wonderful views of the volcano. Rooms/cabins create a great environment. However, there were some minor flaws that encroached on our enjoyment. My impression is that the hotel cuts corners where it believes it can without people noticing. No screens on windows, so forced to keep the windows closed at night and utilize the (loud) air conditioner. Uncomfortable beds, and very noisy. Bad pillows, and few of them. Safe was small. Only gave us one tiny bar of soap. We asked for a hair dryer and when we checked out they demanded that we bring it back to the front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Daniel.

Thank you so much for your visit.
We really regret that your stay at our lodge had some negative experiences, and specially that you never told us while you stayed here and this way we could help you moving you to another room or giving you more pillows. We normally provide extra pillows if our guests ask for more but in your case we never got any request.
About the soap, we provide liquid soap in all the showers and sinks with a proper dispenser, the soap bars are decorative more than for washing your hands or face and in case our guests decide to use them, every day with the cleaning the maid puts more soap.

We hope the next time when you come to Costa Rica, come to our lodge and this way you can see our service is more different than this bad impression you had this first visit.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at Lomas del Volcan for three nights during our three weeks in Costa Rica. The little Costa Rican huts (rooms) were very nice and made even more special by the tropical grounds and fantastic views of the volcano. The location of the resort made it an easy hike to town in La Fortuna where we could walk to grocery store, bars, and many nice sodas with great affordable typical food. We ate at the hotel each breakfast and found at that you need to get there early as this hotel seems to fill it rooms with buses full of tourists that come in late and leave early. When we got down to breakfast the buffet was almost empty and it didn't seem like the kitchen was restocking. At in the restaurant one evening and thought the food was good and reasonably priced. Once again the bus had just got in and restaurant was packed…..not a bad thing, but you may want to work around the bus crowds.

Biggest complaint was at check in when we were given a room with two beds. I booked this hotel four months in advance with a very special note that it was our 35th anniversary trip and a king was a must. At check in they told us they had king beds but one was not available. They showed no record of my request……..yet I had a hard copy of my booking.com notation of this request and that didn't seem to make any difference. Didn't even really get an apology or anything….just an excuse of no king bed. Out of six hotels in CR this was the only one that our booking.com request was not noted or granted. Kind of spoiled the stay here. We made due.

This is why only three stars. Also had an ant problem in the room….big ones in the shower and little ones on the sink. Notified the front desk at check out.

Room Tip: Don't bring any food into the rooms…..brings ants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Paul.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this impression about your stay in our lodge.
I was the attendant of the front desk at the momment you and your wife checked in that day and certainly we had no clue about your request. We must to let you know all the reservations coming through bookin.com come first to another travel agency here in Costa Rica. We do not deal directly with the people of Booking.com, and if this people do mistakes while taking special notes it does not mean that we are the guilty for those mistake. We were very clear in letting you know that we had no notes or reports that you were coming in celebrating your anniversary otherwise we would be ready with your special request. Just think this is our business and the way we make the way we live, we take every single detail and request seriously and we would like for the next time yu send us directly to our email address your demands instead of sending them to another ones.
Now, about the crowds at certain times in the restaurant that happens at any other places and is due you travelled in a very high season here in Costra Rica.
Finally, we are three stars under international standars this thanks to many other items under evaluation in our hotel: Number of departments, number of rooms, parking areas, access roads, apereance of our facilities such as paint, cleanliness, amenities in the rooms, rooms cloth look, handicap people accesibility, laws and regulations accomplishment and others including personalized service.
We regret that eventuality but unfortunately we were fully boked that night and it was impossible to satisfied your request that night when we knew about it.

Warm regards and please, next time send us an email at info@lomasdelvolcan.com, it will be a pleasure for us fullfill your spectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Lomas del Volcan had the nicest grounds of the hotels we stayed at while in Costa Rica. Each room is really a cottage with plenty of space between your neighbors. High ceilings, a big bathroom, a nice patio with a table and chairs are among the amenities. Along with the fabulous view, we had a large flowering bush next to our patio that attracted hummingbirds throughout the day. There was a howler monkey in the area which we heard each day but didn't see.

The hotel has a nice pool and hot tub. We ate most of our meals at the hotel's open air restaurant. The resident Coati was fun to watch as we ate. The food and service was great and the view of the volcano was awesome although it was mostly covered by clouds during our stay.

The biggest attraction in the area is the Arenal Volcano which looms large near the hotel. We took side trips to the hot springs, went zip lining and took a volcano hike. These can be booked at the hotel desk.

All in all, Lomas del Volcan is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Unless you have a car, getting to the cottages requires an uphill climb along a cobblestone road. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvsdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi.
Thank you very much for this positive review.
We are glad that you have liked our resort and that you were really satisfied with our service and facilities.
We hope this be the first time you come to visit us but not the last.

Regards and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 3 days at Lomas del Volcan.
The individual cabins were very nice and we all slept very well.
The porches were a real plus.
The grounds were beautiful and plush with ample wildlife, especially birds.
Our family enjoyed the buffet breakfast and this was our favorite gallo pinto.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DwnfromMtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi.
Thanks so much for this review about your stay in our facilities.
It is nice to read that you were comfortable at our lodge and you liked the gallo pinto, which is the tipical way for breakfast in Costa Rica.
Please come back soon, remember here you have your friends in Lomas del Volcan, we are here for serving you.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £54 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing