We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$499
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$554
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$177
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,718)
Filter reviews
1,718 results
Traveller rating
1,159
455
71
11
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,159
455
71
11
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porcharenal volcanocosta ricaindividual cabinshot tubhuge bathroomfront porchthe cottagesprivate bungalowunobstructed viewamazing viewsomelette stationexotic birdsclose to la fortunahowler monkeysclose to townbeautiful grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
873 - 878 of 1,718 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spent 3 nights at Lomas del Volcan and loved every minute of it. The cabin was spotless and very comfortable. The grounds were beautifully kept and so lush! Everything was just as I expected. We loved that we were not right in town but yet close enough to everything. It was just a short $7 cab ride to town. The breakfast that was included with our stay was fantastic everyday. I can't wait to plan another visit to Lomas del Volcan!!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 205. The cabin was across from the office with just a short walk on the sidewalk in between the cabins. The back deck did face the Volcano but it also faced the backs of the other row of cabins. The higher number on the cabin put you on the upper area closer to the volcano. However then you would have to walk up hill a little further from the main area.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmcvicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi people.

Thank you for taking a time of your daily life to express here your sensation of being at Lomas del Volcán. We will be really happy to to have your visit again.
For your next visit to our facilities please let us know in advance that you are coming, it will be a real pleasure to attend you one more time.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent 3 nights the middle of March. From the moment we arrive we were treated as valued guests. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They explained everything the resort has to offer. The cabins are very clean an spacious. We had #514 and our back veranda had a stunning view of the volcano. The grounds of the property are absolutely beautiful. We had a problem with the lock on the door to the cabin and the staff dealt with it immediately. We booked a birding tour one morning through the hotel with Jacamar Tours. When we were dropped off my wife dropped her wallet in the van. When we noticed 20 minutes later we called the front desk and they called the tour company. We had to wait several hours but the front desk called and told us the driver(Carlos) from the tour company had found the wallet. He came back to the hotel later that day and dropped off the wallet with all the money(380.00). The front desk staff had to be commended for all their assistance. We went by the tour office later and left a reward for Carlos. We can't say enough about this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: A room in the 500's will give you a great volcano view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redfishvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi people.

Certainly we remember you and the lost wallet. For us was a pleasure all the help and the efforts to recover your wallet, there was no other way to act. In lomas del Volcán we assure to all our guests full assistance in many ways and in all the complications they may get involved, always if there is a solution.
For us was a true pleasure to have you here and we hope you don´t forget about us.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is really beautiful. I note some folks negative reviews and can't help but believe they think camping is when there is not a complimentary massage included. The little villas are separate and set in a somewhat natural setting. I found the 6:30 am wake up call from the howler monkeys in the trees next to my cabin to be very engaging. I know there are some who wish that the birds would shut up so they could enjoy nature, but I came there to see it, not be annoyed by it. We were lucky, we had beautiful clear views of the volcano. And, I hadn't seen fireflies in years. Very enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Tim.

Certainly you get right to the point with this review. We are glad when the people understands the concept of mountain lodge which means deal with bugs, sounds, animals and in our case with the rain. Some people wish to have all this but with no interaction.
Thank you for express your feelings about being here in our facilities and we hope to have your prescence again.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

the staff at this resort, exceded expectations at every step. Robert at the desk was incredibly helpful and creative in his solutions to event planning challenges. he helped me select some great attractions and arrange accomodation and travel. the wait staff were prompt and food excellent. this is an incredible value for immacculate luxury. when i return to costa rica i will definitely include a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A hidden gem! Nestled at the bottom of the volcano with spectacular views of the volcano! The grounds are very welled manicured and the cabins are very clean and so cozy! We stayed only 2 nights but if I had known in advance of thus gem, we would have sprayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews