We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Staff, Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Nice Staff, Great Food”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Went 2 weeks ago and stayed for 2 nights... the rooms are clean and spacious... like little houses and you get a great view of the volcano. The staff was really nice, the breakfast was included and delicious... For the price it was a great deal and close to town (5 minute cab ride)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi LB.

Thank you for your cooperation on this website commenting regarding your stay in Lomas dek Volcan.
For us it is always a great pleasure to attend our guests the best way as possible.
Remember we are here and if you come again do not hesitate in stay with us one more time.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    403
    65
    8
    17
See reviews for
353
824
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

so butifull. great view from the room of arenal. amazing!
very peacefull. animals all around you.
the staff was very helpfull with everything' allways with a smile!
only good things to say.
near fortuna' but not to near (a short drive from the main road).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Ronen.

It is nice to read comments of people from Israel. That is a little far away from Lomas! We really appreciate that people who live far on the other side of the world, come to our country to see the natural wonders we have in Costa Rica.
We would like to see you back again and we hope that the next time you visit Costa Rica remember that we are here waiting for you.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiowa, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spent 3 nights at Lomas del Volcan and loved every minute of it. The cabin was spotless and very comfortable. The grounds were beautifully kept and so lush! Everything was just as I expected. We loved that we were not right in town but yet close enough to everything. It was just a short $7 cab ride to town. The breakfast that was included with our stay was fantastic everyday. I can't wait to plan another visit to Lomas del Volcan!!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 205. The cabin was across from the office with just a short walk on the sidewalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcvicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi people.

Thank you for taking a time of your daily life to express here your sensation of being at Lomas del Volcán. We will be really happy to to have your visit again.
For your next visit to our facilities please let us know in advance that you are coming, it will be a real pleasure to attend you one more time.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent 3 nights the middle of March. From the moment we arrive we were treated as valued guests. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They explained everything the resort has to offer. The cabins are very clean an spacious. We had #514 and our back veranda had a stunning view of the volcano. The grounds of the property are absolutely beautiful. We had a problem with the lock on the door to the cabin and the staff dealt with it immediately. We booked a birding tour one morning through the hotel with Jacamar Tours. When we were dropped off my wife dropped her wallet in the van. When we noticed 20 minutes later we called the front desk and they called the tour company. We had to wait several hours but the front desk called and told us the driver(Carlos) from the tour company had found the wallet. He came back to the hotel later that day and dropped off the wallet with all the money(380.00). The front desk staff had to be commended for all their assistance. We went by the tour office later and left a reward for Carlos. We can't say enough about this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: A room in the 500's will give you a great volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redfishvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi people.

Certainly we remember you and the lost wallet. For us was a pleasure all the help and the efforts to recover your wallet, there was no other way to act. In lomas del Volcán we assure to all our guests full assistance in many ways and in all the complications they may get involved, always if there is a solution.
For us was a true pleasure to have you here and we hope you don´t forget about us.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green River, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This place is really beautiful. I note some folks negative reviews and can't help but believe they think camping is when there is not a complimentary massage included. The little villas are separate and set in a somewhat natural setting. I found the 6:30 am wake up call from the howler monkeys in the trees next to my cabin to be very engaging. I know there are some who wish that the birds would shut up so they could enjoy nature, but I came there to see it, not be annoyed by it. We were lucky, we had beautiful clear views of the volcano. And, I hadn't seen fireflies in years. Very enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Tim.

Certainly you get right to the point with this review. We are glad when the people understands the concept of mountain lodge which means deal with bugs, sounds, animals and in our case with the rain. Some people wish to have all this but with no interaction.
Thank you for express your feelings about being here in our facilities and we hope to have your prescence again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

the staff at this resort, exceded expectations at every step. Robert at the desk was incredibly helpful and creative in his solutions to event planning challenges. he helped me select some great attractions and arrange accomodation and travel. the wait staff were prompt and food excellent. this is an incredible value for immacculate luxury. when i return to costa rica i will definitely include a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A hidden gem! Nestled at the bottom of the volcano with spectacular views of the volcano! The grounds are very welled manicured and the cabins are very clean and so cozy! We stayed only 2 nights but if I had known in advance of thus gem, we would have sprayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing