We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing getaway, private but close to La Fortuna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway, private but close to La Fortuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Individual cabins that are on the edge of the Mt. Arenal Volcano. Room was spacious and clean, with a table and chairs on the back deck. Beautiful views! We heard all sorts of wildlife at the hotel, but didn't see any during our stay. Breakfast was good - made to order omelets or eggs. Fresh fruit, yum...We didn't have dinner at the hotel. Pool was nice, could use more seating but I think most days guests are out exploring the area. Staff at the front desk was fairly helpful w/ typical traveller questions, but sometimes the desk was unattended. It was an easy drive to La Fortuna or you can get a taxi to take you.

Room Tip: We were in 405; very secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Joan.

Thank you for your review.

About your stay with us we can see the only issue it seems to be related to our front desk e would like to know names or the one who was at the moment you were fairly attended. That is a very important thing due this way we can speak with the clerk and rectify for the next time this part of the staff be more helpful and attendant. Please get in contact at roberto@lomasdelvolcan.com

Warm regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    364
    62
    7
    16
See reviews for
293
730
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Beautifully set cottages away from yet close to La Fortuna. Very attentive staff, good breakfast and practical restaurant. We enjoyed our stay very much, in particular the howler monkeys that visited the trees behind our cottage one day. The kids enjoyed the pool as well as the beautiful setting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Nick.
.Thank you for coming with your family and for sharing with us. It´s great to read every thing was ok for you and about the howler monkey, we have many around the hotel and sometimes they are hard to see due these kind of apes are very shy. You were very lucky! We are not sure if you went to our walking trail but if you did not, next time please take a couple hours during your stay here and go to that walking trail, you may find great surprises there.

For now we just wait until you back again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed two nights booking through Gate 1 travel at C level... This hotel far exceeded our expectations. Beautiful grounds, great rooms, wonderful food, and friendly people who worked there. I hated to leave! Don't let short dirt road daunt you... It is Costa Rica after all...Would go back again and again... Easy to get to La Fortuna and easy to get to area attractions...Pool and hot tub are lovely!

Room Tip: Individual cabinas - all well set on property... Handicapped acccessibility for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleveillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi people.
Thank you very much for these review lines here. We are very happy to know that your expectations were exceeded in all. Please, do not forget to tell to your friends about our lodge and of your wonderful stay with us, let them have the same experience that you had in our mountain lodge.
We wish that you come again, we will try to have in much better conditions the acces road towards to our lodge, it´s a promise!

Warm regards from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed three nights here. The hotel is gorgeous, and away from the hustle and bustle of the typical tourist trap. The volcano is right there and we got some great pictures. A short walk, we consider short less than 3 miles, and you're in La Fortuna. The restaurant has everything you need and the staff is very accommodating. I would recommend that if you stay here try to make it the last few nights, because it will be hard to beat this place!!!

Room Tip: Walk the 1.5 km trail on the property. Every room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Danny.

Good appreciation and great comment here. It is nice to know that your stay was very pleasant and your point of view about our staff is really kind from you. At Lomas del Volcan we make a huge effort to assure you the best experience of your trip and we would wish that every one coming, would spend more than two or three nights with us, we would like for the people to stay a full week with us!

Hugs and we hope to see you coming again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in early April and couldn't find a single fault. The staff is outstanding....along with the location, the suite, the grounds, the amenities, and the location. It was a highlight of our trip to CR.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Steve.
Great review. Thank you so much and we hope that the next time nothing's gonna change this positive perception you have now about our facilities and service.

Please, do not forget to come and visit us again if you return to Costa Rica.

Hugs

Lomas del Volcán Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heers, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spend two nights in this hotel on our way to Cano Negro. The rooms are clean, big with two beds. There was WIFI in the room. The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices. In the evening you can choose between the buffet or from the menu card.
The garden is very big and very well maintained with lots of flowers and plants. There is no feeder for the birds but there are many birds around in the garden.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Robert.

Thank you so much for taking a couple minutes of your time to write this review. We would wish that the score you have given us could be higher but this is your point of view and your personal opinion. We appreciate anyway your valuable visit and we hope to have it again in the future.
Remember we will be here with our arms wide open waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Let me first start by saying that La Fortunata is an extremely small city. In fact it's so small that there are no street names. The locals have the city mapped with buildings by colors. We drove into the city to find a hotel the same day. We were very glad to see the trip advisor signs in the concierge area confirming that this would be a legitimate hotel.

The hotel property itself is gigantic. It sits at the base of the volcano. The rooms are all bungalows which provide a lot of privacy. The bathrooms and bedrooms or absolutely immaculately clean. In addition, they are extremely spacious and have both front and back porches which are very cozy. There is Wi-Fi in every bungalow which has actually pretty good reception.

The hotel itself is centrally located in town. It has short trails that go behind the property that are fun to walk, breakfast inclusive (which by the way is a full service breakfast), pool, jacuzzi and media area. In my opinion this would be a great place for large groups and families and even a destination wedding.

I'd like to add that the people working at the front desk are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that I know is visiting La Fortuna.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank neversayneverFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi.
Thank you so much for recommending us to others. Your comment is very clear and precise, and we are very happy that you found us using the advice of this website. The same way you found us now you are helping a lot of people to take a decision. We will not change and we´ll keep the same standars of quality and service and this way satisfy more people coming.

Thanks dear friends and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing